We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
400 2nd Ave, SW, Charleston, WV 25303
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

284 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    157
    77
    30
    12
    8
See reviews for
104
37
7
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (284)
  • Mar-May only
    (66)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (117)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (51)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (50)
All months
Mint Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stopped in for a night headed home on vacation. The room was clean, but the AC wasn't the best. We ate run service which was good, and not to overpriced (for room service). The highlight is the indoor pool and got tub. Nice and comfortable with a wading pool for the lurker ones to wear them out. A good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was traveling across the country to Virginia Beach and had to stop due to bad weather in Charleston. I did not have a reservation but was so happy when I went to the front desk and they offered me a room with a King size bed (non-smoking). This Holiday Inn is beautiful. I have not been to a lot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HolidayInnSuitesC, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review

Dear wordforeword, I do not usually wish for bad weather but so glad it brought you to our hotel. Our owners are very proud of this hotel and the recent renovations. Thank you for recognizing their commitment. Hope you have a chance to visit the area again without the bad weather. S Arnold, GM More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I were booked in for 2 days and ended up staying 4 days. Wonderful reception and other staff . Room very comfortable. King size bed with fridge and microwave on 4th floor.Non smoking room. Great indoor swimming pool and breakfast included in price. Motel is away from busy traffic. Only minutes away from highway and downtown. Great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HolidayInnSuitesC, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review

Dear Andrew B, Well, we are so excited that you ended up staying an extra few nights in South Charleston, WV. So much to do, not only in the hotel, but around the area. Maybe you could come back in the fall and stay even longer. We loved your comments and very much appreciate your business. S Arnold, GM More 

Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here a couple weeks ago for a wedding. Upon arrival at 4:00P, I was told there were no rooms available. Since check in is at 3:00 I was kind of amazed... After waiting about 15-20 min they were able to get us in a room. The room was pretty nice and clean, nothing amazing but not trash either.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HolidayInnSuitesC, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review

Dear WVMountie07, Well, so glad we could exceed your expectations. We do have a great hotel that we pride ourselves on being well maintained and clean. We are a full service property, so we do have catering events, an indoor heated salt pool, video lottery machines, free parking and free WIFI. Just to mention a few amenities, like complimentary breakfast... More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed once on our way from IL to VA and once a week later on our way home. We had two rooms to accommodate our whole family. The staff was impressively courteous, helpful, friendly and professional. Our rooms and baths were very clean. No complaints at all, and I am one of those compulsively nervous travelers who check for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HolidayInnSuitesC, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review

Dear 007FIZLA, Thank you for this glowing recommendation. We really appreciate the time you took to write it and that you would share your experience. Come back again soon. S Arnold, GM More 

Moundsville, West Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a large contingent stay here for a family wedding, The hotel is very nice, well maintained, with an excellent staff. Saturday morning, they were overwhelmed at breakfast - even out of coffee for a short period. I don't understand this, because the staff knew how many people were staying. Anyway, they receovered relatively quickly, and order was restored.Breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HolidayInnSuitesC, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review

Dear Hardware91, Well it sounds like everything went well for your wedding group. Although we may have some idea how many guests we never know when they will all arrive within the 4 hour time frame that we have our complimentary full breakfast buffet available. What is most important is that we recover quickly, which we did. So glad you... More 

Dublin, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this hotel because we needed a kitchen for a family reunion. When we arrived we learned that the suites had microwaves but not ovens. We panicked because we had planned to use the ovens all morning the next day. We were quickly accommodated by being allowed to use the hotel ovens. The chef, Bill, worked around our food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HolidayInnSuitesC, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review

Dear mom 116, Well, we are so grateful that you took the time to write this glowing review. Kudos to the staff for being able to assist you in making your stay successful , although know going forward we cannot have too many chef’s in our kitchen. Glad everything turned out and you were able to get your food prepared.... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We held our 50th Wedding Anniversary in the Centennial Ballroom here! Wow! I cannot say enough "thank yous" to Joyce Dery and the entire catering/banquet staff! They were so attentive and caring. The food was the BEST I have experienced for a catered event! Also the front desk was so kind--Joey helped assure our registered guests were booked in our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HolidayInnSuitesC, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review

Dear Rose M, We really appreciate those glowing comments and especially your endorsement for our Catering staff. We look forward to you 60th Wedding Anniversary being celebrated here with us. Thank YOU for taking the time to share your experience. S Arnold, GM More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Best pool I've ever seen for a value hotel! Clean rooms, comfy beds and pretty good free breakfast. Joe(?) at checkin was great! Even had 5 slot machines to play for adults. Shower was clean, no mold or stains at all. Would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HolidayInnSuitesC, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review

Dear BriTim22, Well, since you say you would definitely stay here again, when can we expect you? We thank you for the kind words. S Arnold, GM More 

Wentzville, Missouri
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel had it all. Clean rooms! Pool with a hot tub and a shallow kid section. They have a splash pad and grills. The food we ordered for dinner was delicious. All the staff were very polite and helpful. They have a few slot machines. The complimentary breakfast was good but not great. The sweet tea was great!

Was this review helpful? Yes
HolidayInnSuitesC, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review

Dear FYI Girl, You pretty much touched on everything. Thank you for the positive review. S Arnold, GM More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

222 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (106)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
1:26
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (116)
Viewed
Room/suite (39)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (34)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
3.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
3.0 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
6.0 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#2 of 24 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay