We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 23 Charleston hotels

Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Second Avenue SW, Charleston, WV 25303
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West to your Saves list
80%
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Matthew L
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    59
    25
    10
    7
See reviews for
72
30
7
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (221)
  • Mar-May only
    (53)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (87)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (44)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed one night on our way to Myrtle beach. The lobby was beautiful. The bar and restaurant looked to have good food. Our room was small, dated, smelly and dumpy. It looked like the SWAT team successfully rammed our door down. They spent all their money on the lobby. Luckily the toilet worked well, my wife and I got the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HolidayInnSuitesC, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review

Dear Matthew L, I was very sorry to read that during your stop over at our hotel you were not feeling well. Traveling when sick is not fun. We appreciate your observations and only hope maybe on your way back from the beach you would give us another chance to show you our true hotel experience. Thanks and hope you... More

Galloway, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We use to live in South Charleston for 28 years this past weekend we had to stay at your place due to parents having bad health problems. Plus we have a little dog with us. The staff was wonderful, rooms were clean and beds were so... comfortable. When we come back which is often, this is where we will stay.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HolidayInnSuitesC, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review

Dear Debbie S, Your comments are appreciated and very thoughtful to mention the staff, they do make the experience what it is. Looking forward to you coming back home for your next visit,. S. Arnold, GM More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

During my recent stay at this property Kim and Marissa at the front desk went out of their way, on multiple occasions to make my stay more enjoyable ! The hotel is very nice, however the efforts of Kim and Marissa made this property a place I will save in my contacts and visit every time I am in Charleston.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HolidayInnSuitesC, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review

Dear William B, Kim and Marissa are just a few of the starts we have, and glad they were able to make the visit memorable. We love the comments and thank you again for making special mention of these two great associates. S. Arnold, GM More

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This facility appears to be recently renovated. The lobby is lovely and the front desk staff is very friendly. Upon arrival they give a great first impression, but the moment you declare you are traveling with a pet you are relegated to a "pet-friendly" room on the second floor with all the other pet owners. This isn't necessarily bad, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HolidayInnSuitesC, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review

Dear Regina W, Thank you for the complements on our restaurant and hotel staff, as well as the appearance of our hotel. We do try to keep pets to the first two floors as hotel policy, but the condition of the room you are describing is not acceptable to me. We will make sure it is taken care of immediately... More

Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family stayed here for several days and were actually disappointed to leave! The rooms were fantastic and the staff was beyond accomodating and always friendly. The pool is the nicest one we have seen in a hotel, which was great for entertaining our 3 young children. The beds were super comfy, which left me feeling well-rested every morning, (untypical... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HolidayInnSuitesC, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review

Beth C, That is an awesome thing to hear! How many people would say they didn't want to leave the hotel? Thanks so much for the compliments about our hard working, friendly staff and I'm very glad that you all got to meet our friendly parrot, Mosa. All the kids seem to really like her and she's greatly loved by... More

Charleston, West Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary so that we could go to the Comedy Club and have a night alone. The accommodations were extremely nice. The room was clean and updated. The beds were extremely comfortable. We had a blast at the Comedy Club. My only issue was that the drinks were way overpriced. $18 for a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HolidayInnSuitesC, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review

Dear Samantha K, So glad you thought of us for a night away. And our Comedy Zone show certainly will cheer you up. Sorry you felt the beers are overpriced but they are in line with most lounges in our area. We hope your positive experience will lead you back here soon. Thanks, S. Arnold, GM More

Morgantown, WV
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Was here for work so did not have a choice of hotels, but had I had the choice, I would have chosen a Wyndam next door. Decor is very retro w/ orange and 70's. Elevator had odor. Hallways had no a/c. TV kept losing picture like when you have satellite and the signal is lost. Curtains in room would not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HolidayInnSuitesC, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review

Dear B_Fisher, I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with our Hotel. We strive to make every guests experience top notch, but we failed in that for you. I'm very sorry about the maintenance issues you experienced during your stay and we are working to fix those. I'm glad you found Mosa, our parrot entertaining and I'm sorry you... More

Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Hotel was very clean and well kept. Pool was beautiful. Mosa the parrot was an added attraction. Staff was very knowlegable of the area and helpful with any requests. It is in an unique area beside a church and across from a school, Exit I-64 at exit 56, get in the right lane and follow the road to the sign.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HolidayInnSuitesC, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review

Dear Diane W, Being next to a school and church actually keeps the area quiet for our guests. Thank you for the positive comments and sure glad you had a chance to try our Comedy Zone show. Sorry you were not a fan of our dinner menu, we always accept suggestions on new items. Come again soon, S. Arnold, GM More

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Had a wonderful stay.Comfortable rooms.4th flr hallway smelt a little like pets due to the pet accommodations.Great drinks,great buffet.Ask for Gwen @ the restaurant.She'll take great care of you.Mike,Kimberly & Marissa were awesome @ the front deck.Greetings from them were consistent & genuine.I have a son attending UC and it's good to know I have a pleasant place to stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HolidayInnSuitesC, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review

Dear Tracey C, Well then we want to be sure that you continue to visit your son at UC. Thanks for recognizing the staff. They all work hard to be sure you have a pleasant visit when at the Holiday Inn in South Charleston. S. Arnold, GM More

ONTARIO
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

The only big complaint which really bothered me was at check-in. I booked a king suite non smoking and at check-in I was told I had a reservation for 2 double beds. I had my reservation email which clearly stated the KING bed. I had to argue a bit but the front desk staff changed it I guess. Not sure... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HolidayInnSuitesC, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review

Dear CNDTRVLR, Thank you for the review and your comments. I am sorry for the housekeeping issues you had with your room and I do apologize for the confusion at check-in. I will address them with Housekeeping and Front Desk so that in the future this doesn't happen. I will also inform our Maintenance about the issues that they need... More

Do you own or manage Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West

Address: 400 Second Avenue SW, Charleston, WV 25303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Charleston Hotel Charleston
Charleston Ramada

109 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (65)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
1:26
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (45)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West

Enlarge Map