We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Charleston Plaza Hotel

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1010 Washington Street East, Charleston, WV 25301
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
BEST WESTERN Charleston Plaza Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
856garyd
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    88
    75
    42
    32
See reviews for
107
65
22
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (300)
  • Mar-May only
    (77)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (113)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (58)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (52)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel is close enough to the center of downtown to walk - saving the need to drive and find parking. The staff were professional and courteous. The room was very comfortable (thermostat temperature control versus those at the window units) - and was clean and nicely spacious.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Collierville, Tennessee
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have family in Charleston and stopped on our way back from seeing our grandchildren. We needed a place to stay close to Charleston Area Medical Center and wanted rates that fit our "retired" budget. Best Western fit our needs perfectly. The room was nice and clean. We were on the 2nd floor and could take the stairs to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Huntingtown, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stays here every trip to Charlestown. Downtown area accessible to college, Amtrak, shopping, Rooms are comfortable in size for 3 -4 adults, clean, bathroom a little small but very clean, beds comfortable for my family, somewhat comfortable for me w/bad back, good breakfast daily, limited parking shared/parking next door monitored by employees.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. Our goal is to provide a clean comfortable room with breakfast. Yes, parking can be tuff at the Best Western but do have additional parking at our sister hotel. Again thank you for staying with us!!! More 

Clinton Twp., United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Frankly, I had forgotten about this place and made a reservation again. What a mistake. No elevator, not clean, no place to curb your pet. Staff very lackadaisical. Breakfast average it's like eating plastic food!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris R, Owner at BEST WESTERN Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. I'm very sorry we did not meet your expectations. We are in the process of start renovations that will be completed in the coming months. Hopefully you will give another chance to satisfy your needs. Again I apologize for our lack of service!! More 

Travelers are raving about these Charleston hotels

Detroit, Michigan, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Chose to stay here because we are familiar with Best Western, glad we did. Staff was all friendly & helpful. We discussed local dining options, they gave us several options. Glad we took suggestion of Pies & Pints, it was excellent.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. Charleston has very good locally owned restaurants., I'm glad you enjoyed Pies and Pints. On your next stop in Charleston you will have to try a different restaurant. Thank you again for staying. More 

Creve Coeur, Mo., United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I felt as if I were sleeping in a bar in Paris. Please eliminate the smoking floor/rooms. Other then having to sleep with the window open and the a/c on the hotel was fine. The staff couldn't help because they were booked full. I have stayed with Best Western previously and have always had a pleasant experience.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. I have great news, we are eliminating our smoking floor in the very near future. We certainly appreciate your business and look forward to serving you on your next trip to Charleston. More 

KENT
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had to stop in Charleston and this hotel was exactly where we needed it, but normally we prefer a less "downtown" location. All was very good, with very comfy bed and very good standard BW breakfast with lovely breakfast lady! The check in and out staff were very nice too!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. We are very proud of our staff and they take great pride in taking care of our guest.Our breakfast is second to none in the Charleston area. Our location makes a very attractive hotel for traveler's,as we are located by the hospital, The Clay Center and the State Capitol. Thank you again for staying with... More 

Craig, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This whole property is very dated. The room floor lights in the elevator don't work, half the outlets in my room didn't work. I had hair in the drain screen in the tub telling me the tub had not been cleaned and all the carpet is very dated. The location is close to some good restaurants, breakfast was quite good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Chris R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. We are currently putting together a renovation plan to address many of the problems you have described. We should have many of theses addressed in the coming months. More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stopped by for a one night stay while we were passing through. Hotel is in a questionable area of town especially arriving after dark with young children. After we checked in, the police helicopter circled the area 3 times in half an hour. Hotel staff was friendly and quick at checking us in. Stayed only long enough to get some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Chris R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. I would personally like to apologize for the spots on the carpet. The downtown area is improving and the city is working to clean up all the undesirable buildings in the area. Charleston is a very lovely city with many thing to see and do. More 

Norfolk, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We travel with our dog so welcome those hotels who accept pets. The cost was high for the quality of the site. There was very limited grassy areas for our dog. This hotel is very close to the interstate which is a bonus. We ate at SOHO's nearby which was delish.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. Yes we are in a great location downtown right off the interstate. We do have some very good locally owned restaurants in the area. Being a downtown hotel our area is limited for pets. We do have a very nice dog park in the city that we have directions to. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities