We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Charleston Plaza Hotel

Hotel website
Hotel deals
1010 Washington Street East, Charleston, WV 25301
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Charleston Plaza Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Charleston Plaza Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

314 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    63
    92
    79
    46
    34
See reviews for
111
69
23
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (314)
  • Mar-May only
    (80)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (124)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (58)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (52)
All months
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

So my first mistake was booking through Hotels.com. I work in the Hotel Industry so I know that with booking through websites like these that they are usually the first reservations to be "bumped" to another hotel. But I got a great deal and bit the bullet and went for it. My boyfriend and I were traveling from Morgantown to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gilbert
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

we visited the best western downtown Charleston wv. recently, our daughter is in the army, stationed in el paso tx. she just had our only grandchild about 18 months ago, we get him for two months out of the summer, then the other gramps get him for two, Charleston is half way, so we met them there. we booked at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Traveling through stayed overnight. Walking distance to downtown restaurants. Room clean. Breakfast had pastries, toast, muffins, cold cereals, instant oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, juices, coffee and make your own waffle. We paid $89.00....not a bad deal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. We are working to update the hallways and guestrooms as we speak. Our breakfast is very plentiful and tasty. We continue to try and make the Best Western the best deal in town. Again thank you for you response. More 

Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were traveling to/from the Midwest and needed a hotel on the return visit that was inexpensive and took dogs. We had a poor experience with the hotel on the way TO the Midwest, so we wanted to try somewhere different on the way home. We ended up here. I was a little taken aback by the area. I know... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. I would personally like to apologize for your experience during your stay. We are currently working to upgrade our hallways and guest rooms. Our employees are very good. I'm very sorry to hear the fireworks from the stadium woke your husband, I thank him for his services. More 

Travelers are raving about these Charleston hotels

Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is older, and it shows. The staff was very friendly and check in is quick. The hotel really isn't near anything, so you have to drive to get something to eat, which isn't always what you want after traveling all day. But as long as you realize it ahead of time it is alright. I have stayed here... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your response, and for your return visit. The next time you visit, you will be able to see some of our renovation work that will be starting very shortly. We have several nice locally owned restaurants located with in walking distance. Again thank you for staying with us. More 

Lewisville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stopped in for the night with no reservations. Clean but in need of renovations. Got a queen bed even though we requested a king. Not bad other than kids running in the hallway (apparently there was a sporting event in town). Good free breakfast!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. The city of Charleston was host to the National Jr Olympics Boxing Tournament during you visit. I apologize for the noise during your stay. Our breakfast really is outstanding. Again thank you for staying with us. More 

Graham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked our room online. We were asked to give our credit card at check in, the clerk thought it was appropriate to correct us (she was incorrect) on what site we used to make our reservation. Anyway....we went out for a while and came back to a broken elevator which left us having to climb six flights of stairs.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. I would personally like to apologize to you for your experience you had with your stay. We are starting renovations very soon, and anew elevator is being installed. Again I would like to apologize for the issues you had. More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Place is clean. Rooms nice and comfortable. Breakfast decent. In walking distance of a good indoor mall. About 4 blocks. Same distance to the river. Parking spots are bit to narrow. Pool outside but have to go outside main entrance to access it.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. We are ideally located in downtown, close to the mall, civic center, clay center and the hospital. Our breakfast is very good. Again thank you for your response and your business, More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Disappointed with the whole stay from the price to the room. Doesn't meet the normal stays I have had at other Best Westerns. There was no Microwave in the room. Not enough linens in the bathroom. There was only one elevator for 6 floor and had very long waits anytime we needed to use it. Floors in the eating area... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. I would like to personally apologize for your experiences during your stay. It is unacceptable not to have enough linens and terry in your room. I have spoken to the staff about making sure every is stocked before they leave for the day. Again, please except my apologize for our lack of service during your... More 

Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is clean and comfortable. We arrived a little early, and the staff offered to get a room ready for us anyway. They gave us directions and photocopied a map for us. Breakfast service offers a good variety of foods. This hotel is two blocks' walk from downtown. The block it sits on is not especially pretty, and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. Our location is very well centered to visit many different attractions in Charleston. We are getting ready to do some property improvements in the hotel. The city of Charleston is working very hard to revitalize the area in and around the hotel. We look forward to your next visit to Charleston. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay