We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 23 Charleston hotels

Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6305 MacCorkle Avenue Southeast, Charleston, WV 25304
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
69%
Ranked #9 of 23 hotels in Charleston
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
tony5969 Alexandria, VA
  • Overview
  • Reviews (177)
  • Photos (35)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (46)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

177 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    58
    33
    17
    11
See reviews for
45
40
34
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I arranged for my wife, our dog and I to stay here on the way back from a road trip to Kentucky. My wife, who is by no means a “hotel snob” felt a slightly uncomfortable vibe, remarking that she probably won’t stay here if she were a single female. While I would concede that the immediate area was downscale,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I don't usually use Red Roof's frequently, but they had the best rate in the area as we were traveling through town. The room was recently renovated and was great! Laminate flooring gave it a much cleaner feel than carpet! It was close to good food options as well. I was disappointed that there was no free breakfast, but they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boone, Iowa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This must be one of the best values around. It was full or close to it with lots of construction workers part of the group. Still it was quiet, clean and all that was advertised. The rooms are 100% non-smoking with a sizeable fine if caught so all the smokers stand outside and smoke. This place has two stories but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lapeer, Michigan, United States
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

right off the freeway good price! the area is Ok at best alot going on around there.... lots of resturants in the area room was clean price was decent would stay here again... hope this helps you out...

Was this review helpful? Yes
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

We appreciate you choosing Red Roof Inn for your travel needs. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you the next time you travel through Charleston. More

Chesapeake, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Clean, well stocked, nice Single King room. A/C worked..quietly! Stay was efficient and pleasant even as I was a walk-in at about midnight. I would stay again any time for a $75-under a night lodging.

Was this review helpful? Yes
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We always want to hear from our guest. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you the next time you travel to Charleston. More

Mentor, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. It was dirty, the remote control didn't have a back (it was all taped up) and the bathrooms are straight out of the 70's. We were afraid to even leave our room because the people staying there were so shady. I certainly didn't expect the Hilton for $60 a night... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

First thing let me apologize for you having such a bad experience. I'm confused by what happened during your stay and would ask if you could call the property so I can get some additional information. We are newly renovated and just upgraded our TV system with new remote controls in every room. This is why I'm confused. I went... More

Mount Horeb, Wisconsin
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Two of my motorcycle buddies and I stayed here for 2 nights in June during a 2,500 mile cycle trip. The staff was most helpful (especially Sherry) when one of our bikes had mechanical problems. We spent more time at the hotel than on the road during our stay because of a flat tire, and we were still able to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your travel. I'm glad Sherry was able to help in your time of need, she is a wonderful asset to our team. I look forward to seeing you the next time you are staying in the Charleston area. More

Kanawha city wv
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Tried two different superior kings and both had problems. First one sink was stopped up and the other one light over sink did not work. Stayed here with no issues in the past but they have many problems now. Front desk staff was very apologetic but that does not solve there problems. I spend about 200 days a year in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

First let me apologize again for the issues you had during your stay. I understand your frustration and we work very hard to resolve any such issues. I'm sorry we were unable to resolve it to your satisfaction. I deeply apologize again for any inconvenience this may have caused you. The issues have been resolved prior to your departure. I... More

ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great staff, polite and knowledgeable. Rooms were very clean and smelled nice. Appliances: 2dbl beds, vanity, tv, microwave, mini fridge, desk. There was NO blow dryer, no closet or extra blankets (but that was ok for me.) Adequate parking, quiet neighbors and Located close to 77south, many restaurants and gas stations. Great value but i recommend to make reservation. Overall... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking time out of your schedule to give us a review. I appreciate you choosing Red Roof Inn for your accommodations. TripAdvisor is a great source to use while booking rooms I use it when I travel as well. I hope to see you the next time you are in the Charleston area. More

Webster, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The rooms were very new and clean. Loved the hardwood floors instead of carpet. We usually stay in Bed and Breakfasts but this was very very nice. The staff especially Connie was WONDERFUL. We had a few issues with the Premium King gift/snack box. But after the 2nd night, they got it all worked out. The day that I asked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

First let me apologize for the issue you had with your snack box, I appreciate your understanding. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in Charleston. I hope to see you again the next time you pass through Charleston. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City

Address: 6305 MacCorkle Avenue Southeast, Charleston, WV 25304
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City Hotel Charleston
Charleston Red Roof Inn

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#2 Best Value Hotel in Charleston #5 Business Hotel in Charleston #7 Family Hotel in Charleston
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
109

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer