We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City

6305 MacCorkle Avenue Southeast, Charleston, WV 25304
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

264 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    87
    87
    47
    29
    14
See reviews for
75
59
45
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (264)
  • Mar-May only
    (73)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (104)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (53)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (34)
All months
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Room was clean and fine but just a few annoying noises such as the air-conditioning and noisy toilet. When mentioned to Valerie Booker at the front desk as we were checking out, she noted that for maintenance and discounted our room. That was quite a surprise - a good one! We travel with our dog and she was welcomed. Thank... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback. I, along with all the staff, are new at the property so we are in the process of fine-tuning everything. I'm sorry that there were some annoyances but I'm glad to hear that Valerie took care of you. Did you know furry friends stay free at... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Passing through Charleston I stayed in the Red Roof Inn and the attended Niya, had amazing customer service. The room was nice and clean, Oh! And the the pillows were soft. The Red Roof in Charleston was a nice stay. I would stay there again if I had to crash.

Was this review helpful? Yes
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. I'm pleased to hear that Niya provided amazing customer service. I will share this review with her. It is great to hear that you found the room clean and your stay was comfortable. We are working hard every day to make our Inn a preferred stop for travelers when passing... More 

Chesterfield, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was extremely clean and smelled clean. Non smoking rooms are new and pleasant. Refrigerator and microwave in room really useful. Well lighted parking area.. Dandrea Saunders was very pleasant at check out. Greeted by two very pleasant women upon arrival.. Loved the mountain view and the highway tucked inside the mountain out back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that the staff was friendly and welcoming. The mountains are always beautiful in the fall. You should plan a trip to enjoy the fall foliage! Dale Samples, GM More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have been trying to get in touch with the manager, Mr. Miller, for two weeks about an issue with our stay in August. I have called 4 times and have not once been able to speak with him. The room was comfortable and clean. I would not stay here again as I am disappointed with the lack of service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our inn. I'm very sorry that you had an issue while you were with us. Mr. Miller was the interim manager until I was able to takeover. Please contact me so I can make your stay right. Dale Samples, GM More 

Mount Pleasant, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very clean room. Very friendly service, and very helpful. Everything was in good working order.Read the reviews and didnt experience any of the negatives from other posts. Would I stay here again? DEFINITELY.

Was this review helpful? Yes
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I'm glad to hear that your staff was pleasant. We have been working hard to make sure our Inn meets the high standards held by Red Roof and our guests. Dale Samples, GM More 

Monroe, Michigan
Level Contributor
97 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family which included my husband my sister her son her 19-year-old daughter. We found the room to be big clean, cold fridge working microwave nice TV. We needed extra towels due to the girls long hair, even though we arrived after 1 AM the woman on duty still brought us towels and we were in the very back of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and noticing our hard work. I will share your comments with the staff. We have been putting in lots of hours in training to correct some of the issues other reviewers have noted. We look forward to seeing you again in the spring! Dale Samples, GM More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Don't do it! Scary neighborhood... scary customers... did I mention SCARY... I don't usually stay at RRI, but a friend had recommended RRI Allentown, and it was such a great experience, that I decided to try Charleston. My husband was suspicious, but I assured him that it would be fine. I had stayed in Allentown(which was great), and I had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and let us know where we can improve. I apologize you had such a negative experience with our hotel. We have had some issues in the past and are working diligently to correct. We keep a close eye on our guests and trouble makers are asked to leave. We do... More 

Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It's true. This location has a cleanliness problem. My "first" room had two different types of hair on the sheets. Gag! There was dust and hair along the floor edges. I complained and was upgraded to another room. The bed had clean sheets on it, but there was hair throughout the bathroom. They need new housekeeping and management inspections. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I apologize for the problems you experienced, especially with a broken arm I can imagine the frustration. I would like to make this right. You are welcome to contact me directly at 304.925-6953 or i0059@redroof.com. Dale Samples, GM More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stay in Red Roofs about twice a week in cities all over the country due to business travel. This particular time I had a few issues that left a bad taste in my mouth. The 1st was that my reservation was cancelled. I knew that I would be arriving late night (shortly after midnight) so I called the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I'm glad that you found our staff pleasant. I apologize for the problems you experienced with your reservation and some maintenance issues. We have a completely new staff so we are in the process of ironing out the wrinkles. If you will contact me directly, I would be more than... More 

University Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Red Roof Inn Charleston-Kanawha City is everything that should be expected from an upper-end economy hotel. The property is convenient, relatively clean and modern. It is also worth mentioning that the staff was extremely pleasant. Located just off of I-77, the hotel is roughly 10 minutes from the State Capital Building in West Virginia's largest city. Following the typical... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Good Morning Jason, Thank you for such a great review . Our goal daily is to provide five star service with a modern clean room. I'm delighted that your stay was pleasant. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you on your next visit. At your service, Desmond Miller General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

91 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (47)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (36)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
4.6 mi away
Charleston Capitol Hotel
Charleston Capitol Hotel
#17 of 24 in Charleston
3.5 of 5 stars 163 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#2 of 24 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
8.0 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
8.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay