We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town

Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
807 Willow Spring Drive, Charles Town, WV 25414 (Formerly Knights Inn - Charles Town)
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights - Save 20%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    7
    6
    36
See reviews for
4
25
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (58)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Maryland
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is not a nice hotel. We pulled up and a lot of the doors to the hotel rooms were open. Looked like people were living at the hotel with grilles on the front sidewalk.Very outdated !! Don't waste your money. Much nicer places nearby for the same price

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cherokee
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This dump should not be allowed to remain open. There are too many code violations to list. Please do not endanger yourself or your family by staying here. Dirty linens -Dirty walls - Dirty carpet - bugs - filthy room - mattress worn out - towels were like sand paper - TOILET PAPER LOOKED LIKE IT HAD BEEN RECYCLED! YOU... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place is the most disgusting place I have ever stayed. It also has no security and it is an unsafe building with columns knocked out of place and floors that are about to collapse. This place should be condemned!!! My advice.. Stay elsewhere!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

Unfortunately, tripadvisor won't allow me to edit an existing review, so I have to update with this one. In no way did the hotel address this issue when I first reported it. Rather, the health department confirmed the presence of bed bugs. The inspector said multiple insects scattered as soon as he lifted the mattress. Before that the manager claimed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Yorktown, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

I usually don't write reviews, but what a dump. would give it no stars. ripped and dirty sheets/covers, tub doesn't drain, had to use Febreze in order to stomach the stench. didn't want to touch the floor or furniture. seriously considered sleeping in the car instead but too cold - no refunds. we travel frequently. first time in over 11... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

He puts me in a "non smoking" room. I get into the room and it stinks. No placard on the door indicating non smoking, ashtray on the table in the room and no sign on the dresser indicating no smoking but this idiot thinks everyone is as stupid as he is cause he insisted it was a non smoking room.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hinsdale, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

The hotel was clean, but needed bad upgrading. For the price it served the purpose. Service was not the greatest and the bathrooms were very small. The smoking rooms smelled bad of smoke, so bring lots of room deorderizer!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KADLI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town, responded to this review

Dear Larry C, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am pleased to know that we were able to meet your expectations. We are doing some minor upgrades a little at a time such as adding new mattresses and bedding. We hope to see you again on your next stop! Regards, Shiris-GM Americas Best Value Inn-Charles Town, WV More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Room is FILTHY ... refrigerator didn't work. There were signs of bugs present . Didnt even stay . Guy was RUDE....Wouldnt give a refund . As soon as i return home to NC i am calling BBB and the local health department!!! This DUMP should be CLOSED

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
KADLI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town, responded to this review

Dear Valbo 1, Thank you for advising us of the lack of service you received during your visit in August. We do our best to provide clean and comfortable accommodations at reasonable prices. If you were not happy with your room, we would have gladly changed it for you. We have hired and trained new housekeepers in order to improve... More 

Baltimore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

If u stay here, bring yr own bed linens, towels, and a can of Lysol! The floors were filthy, a sheet and bath towel had brown stains on them, and the toilet was dirty. We were exhausted, so ended up spraying the beds and lying on top of sleeping bags. Used our own towels and pillows (luckily we had these... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KADLI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town, responded to this review

Dear Magrasser, Please allow me to apologize for the housekeeping issues you had mentioned in your review. We have recently hired and trained new housekeepers in an effort to improve the overall room cleanliness of our facilities. We hope that you stay with us again or at another one of our locations across the Country. Regards, Shiris-GM Americas Best Value... More 

Damascus, Maryland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

stayed at this place the other night very filthy hotel should be closed and renovated or at the least cleaned would help. Had to get key changed because it would not even work in my door do not recommend would rather stay in car than here again..

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
KADLI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town, responded to this review

Dear Michael B, I appreciate the fact that you shared a traveler review with us. I apologize for the issues you had with your room key and housekeeping. Since the keys are coded with a magnetic strip, similar to a credit card, they can become demagnetized if kept near a cell phone or other electrical devices. Also, we have recently... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question