We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Glady Fork Cabins

HC 68, Box 136 B, Bowden, WV 26254
Glady Fork Cabins
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    8
    2
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (12)
  • Mar-May only
    (1)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (2)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

Where to begin? The first thing that struck me was the terrible smell inside the cabin. The place looked like it hadn't been cleaned in years. The jacuzzi did not work. The hot tub smelled nasty. They don't tell you there is no LAN Phone, no cell service, no cable and no internet. This felt very unsafe to me. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glady C, Owner at Glady Fork Cabins, responded to this review

Where to start. The cabin was booked for 3 nights, which you stayed the entire time with a dog in your cabin. You didn't come up to the office to complain about anything in regards to the cabin. If you felt that it was not clean or smelled, I would assume that you would come up to the office and... More 

Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

We were looking for a mountain retreat with some kind of water to get away from the city and this fit the bill. Our cabin was the King Fisher. Nice cabin - kitchen fully equipped with everything you'd need, 2 bedrooms (we slept in one and threw our stuff in the other), clean updated bathroom. Eating breakfast outside at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

My family and I spent the weekend in the new cabin, and it was absolutely beautiful! Access to the river, fire pit, and a large hot tub on the back deck. Highly recommend these cabins if you want a relaxing vacation! We will definitely be staying there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014 via mobile

I was rented an unfinished cabin for full price and not told it didnt have a completed fireplace or even stair railing. When confronted about the blatant misrepresentation... They tacked on a smoking fee of $200!!!! There were construction supplies under all the beds, NO trim/baseboard , No register covers ,Not 1 DECORATION .Some rooms had NO LIGHTBULBS at all!!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Glady C, Owner at Glady Fork Cabins, responded to this review

We are smoke free company. Our state and county laws prohibit smoking in any type of lodging. These clients are from WV and know that smoking is not allowed in public area in WV. These clients were repeat clients, yet showed their total disregard for us and future clients. Our policies are clearly displayed in the cabin and at the... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

We had an amazing family get away!! We stayed in the Spruce Run Lodge and it was great! We explored and fished in the pond during the day and then relaxed in the hot tub or by a campfire at night! We plan on making this an annual trip! Such a beautiful area!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

We wanted to find a getaway-from-it-all fly fishing vacation and were glad we found this place. The rustic, yet full amenities, cabin was set on a isolated forest road near a pretty stream. The hot tub in the evening after chasing fish was just what we needed. We had a nice supply of firewood for the fireplace and a large... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
McConnellsburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

I almost cried when it was time to leave because I didn't want to go! I've stayed many places near the Monongahela National Forest in my life and I've NEVER had such a great experience. Often times when I rent a cabin, it is close to a main road, surrounded by other cabins, etc. NOT HERE. Our River Retreat cabin... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I stayed here with my wife and had the best time. The rivers around the property added a relaxing background music, along with the bubbly sound of the hottub!!! I got the champagne and roses package. A definite must. There are ALOT of trails and mountain roads to walk and drive on. We saw everything from deer to baby black... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed in the River Otter Cabin. Two bedrooms, one and a half bath, full kitchen (including coffee...), hot tub, and sat TV. The Cabin was actually bigger then what I expected, and the owners were very friendly. Everything was nice and clean, as well as pretty new. Our cabin wasn't 100% finished, but we didn't mind. Our cabin was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edgecomb, Maine
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Beautiful property with all the amenities you want. Super nice mattresses, great bathroom, fully equipped kitchen (dishwasher!), hot tub, flat screen tv. Much colder than we expected due to a spring storm-but Gary plowed the road and all was good. Pasture available for the horses made it perfect. 4 miles down the road to the trailhead for riding. Fishing on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowden
10.1 mi away
Isaac Jackson Hotel
Isaac Jackson Hotel
#1 of 8 in Elkins
4.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Elkins
Hampton Inn Elkins
#2 of 8 in Elkins
4.5 of 5 stars 334 reviews
9.1 mi away
Iron Road Inn
Iron Road Inn
#5 of 8 in Elkins
3.5 of 5 stars 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Canaan Valley Resort
9.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins
23.1 mi away
Harman's Luxury Log Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities