We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hilltop Inn

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
928 NW Olsen Street, Pullman, WA 99163 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites)
Offers & Announcements
Call Direct for Best Rate
Hilltop Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Pullman
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Smokechaser1 Logan, Utah
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    5
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
14
4
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (27)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Logan, Utah
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here while on a college visit. Very clean and updated hotel, love the location (close to the action, but not right in it), gorgeous view off the deck. Staff is very friendly and helpful; prices are reasonable. Breakfast is adequate; not great. My main concerns are: the beds are average - not UNcomfortable but not the best night's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ford, Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

I've bit my tongue long enough. The owner and staff are good people that I enjoy visiting with every time I'm here. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and the new wing (east end) is very quiet. The full service bar is very professional and the drinks are tasty. The restaurant? In all honesty? It's a joke. If the head cook... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barb W, Owner at Hilltop Inn, responded to this review

We are so sorry about your experience while dining in the restaurant. We are very excited as we are currently improving our breakfast and dining area, and will have a brand new menu within the next month. Also, we are very lucky to have a great staff but unfortunately, we did not live up to expectations on your visit. Our... More 

Wenatchee, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

Property was very comfortable and we will definitely stay again if we are in the area. Very nice room with very helpful staff. The breakfast was a slight upgrade from basic continental but was hot and fresh. Other reviews had said that this hotel was a little run down but appeared as though it had just been renovated. We found... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barb W, Owner at Hilltop Inn, responded to this review

All of our staff here at The Hilltop- Pullman would like to thank you for your AWESOME review on our behalf. We have a wonderful hometown hospitality team that enjoys meeting and working with guests such as you. We are continuously working on improvements to our hotel, and we appreciate your comments! We look forward to your next visit! Barb... More 

Richland, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014 via mobile

We came to Pullman to see the Messiah performance, which was wonderful. The hotel was very clean and the room was great. Appreciated all the memorabilia on the walls. Our group were the only customers the bar man had, and yet he was more than willing to stay as long as we wanted to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barb W, General Manager at Hilltop Inn, responded to this review

The staff at the Hilltop Inn was delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and the performance. We work hard to provide each guest with the best Hometown Hospitality. We look forward to your visit again, Happy Holidays to you and yours. Barb W. General Manager More 

Vancouver, Washington, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised with our stay over dad's weekend. We've traditionally stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Pullman and will no longer. Hilltop Inn had a great room, excellent bar and restaurant, a local feel and nice staff. The view of the University and the sunrise on Saturday morning was beautiful. Breakfast was better than HI with more... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barb W, General Manager at Hilltop Inn, responded to this review

All of our staff here at the Hilltop Inn wants to thank you for you AWESOME words on our behalf. We have a wonderful hometown team that enjoys meeting and working with guests such as you. Your pleasure is our pleasure. We look forward to your next visit. Barb W. General Manager More 

Bothell, Washington
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

We stayed here for a baseball tournament. It was a decent, clean hotel. The restaurant and bar were great. We had a lot of fun in Pullman that weekend and were happy we stayed at this location. Also---- Great group rates!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barb W, Manager at Hilltop Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel we appreciate your comments. Our staff works hard to provide our guests with the best service and Hometown Hospitality. We hope to see you again next year for another great summer of baseball. Thank You Barb W. Hilltop General Manager More 

Spokane, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014 via mobile

The high point: they had rooms when no one else did. We went on a super busy football weekend, and were the only hotel I could find without a 2 night minimum. The low point: when the people directly above us got up at 5 am and I could hear their every move. Besides that, it was a pretty basic... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barb W, Manager at Hilltop Inn, responded to this review

Thank You for your feedback on your stay. Football season is a very busy and bustling time for the Hilltop and Pullman, we are happy that we were able to accommodate you for your stay. The staff at the Hilltop would like to apologize for your experience and would like to welcome you back in the future travels to Pullman.... More 

Idaho
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We stayed at this hotel while visiting family in the area. While the exterior and breakfast area have been recently remodeled, the lobby, hallways, elevator and guest rooms need a lot of help. The hallways and elevator were dirty and old. The "full" breakfast was really bad. Fruit was old and hot items were absolutely terrible. OK if you just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barb W, General Manager at Hilltop Inn, responded to this review

We want to thank you for your interesting review. It is obvious to us that people have labeled us remodeled. You mentioned we look old. We are so disappointed because everything is new including the bedding in the rooms. I especially noted your comment about "nothing on the walls". We are in the process of hanging our new Pullman pictures... More 

Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Stayed in a spacious 2-queen room for one night during a busy WSU weekend. Hotel foyer is inviting, with complimentary ice water, coffee and tea very welcome after a long drive. Staff is pleasant, very helpful. Housekeeping was a little behind this particular day, but desk clerk diligently found a ready room for me. Furnishings in my room were a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clarkston, Washington
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We had a great view from a clean and comfortable room. The location is quiet and as the name suggests, on top of a hill. It is very close to restaurants and the like. The staff was friendly and professional. The breakfast offered was standard and sufficient.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question