We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Pullman hotels

Hilltop Inn

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   928 NW Olsen Street, Pullman, WA 99163 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hilltop Inn to your Saves list
Hilltop Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
30%
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Pullman
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
JSWKingsfield Seattle, Washington
  • Overview
  • Reviews (20)
  • Photos (24)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (4)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    2
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
10
3
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Idaho
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this hotel while visiting family in the area. While the exterior and breakfast area have been recently remodeled, the lobby, hallways, elevator and guest rooms need a lot of help. The hallways and elevator were dirty and old. The "full" breakfast was really bad. Fruit was old and hot items were absolutely terrible. OK if you just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed in a spacious 2-queen room for one night during a busy WSU weekend. Hotel foyer is inviting, with complimentary ice water, coffee and tea very welcome after a long drive. Staff is pleasant, very helpful. Housekeeping was a little behind this particular day, but desk clerk diligently found a ready room for me. Furnishings in my room were a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clarkston, Washington
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a great view from a clean and comfortable room. The location is quiet and as the name suggests, on top of a hill. It is very close to restaurants and the like. The staff was friendly and professional. The breakfast offered was standard and sufficient.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vernon, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The staff are very efficient and friendly and the hotel looks great. The location is tremendous and all aspects at first glance look very promising. Unfortunately the comfort of our king size bed and pillows were quite poor. The complimentary breakfast was also mediocre at best which was a surprise because the hotel has a full kitchen. The pool was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seattle, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed here as part of a baseball tournament group. Generally we stay at the Holiday Inn Express when we're in Pullman but the rest of the team was at the Hilltop so it made sense. And the website advertised a new remodel and the photos looked good. We apparently didn't have a remodeled room, or at least didn't have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
White Salmon, Washington
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
62 hotel reviews
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I had a wonderful night at the Hilltop Inn in Pullman. The newly remodeled property is centrally located and perched upon a hilltop with majestic views overlooking Pullman. My room was fantastic. I really appreciated the open floor plan, large room size, and the mini fridge too. The bed was very large and comfortable. My room was near the road... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Barb W, General Manager at Hilltop Inn, responded to this review

Our entire staff here at the Hilltop thank you for your kind words. We look forward to your return visits so we may share more "hometown hospitality" with you. More

Tacoma, Washington, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My stay wasn't the greatest. The pillow cases were not fresh and the room needed dusting. The front desk people were wonderful, though. I hate to say it, but the coffee was terrible, too. I guess they've upgraded, but you still need to brew it strong... don't use the full pot of water. Anyway, sorry Hilltop, I was not impressed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barb W, General Manager at Hilltop Inn, responded to this review

Our entire staff is disappointed that we were unable to meet your expectations. We are very proud of our new hotel and the Front Desk is prepared to handle any requests for your comfort. However, after checking our daily log we did not receive any calls from your room about your direct needs. Perhaps a return visit would benefit both... More

Bozeman, Montana
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff looking out for my interest. Large clean room well appointed. Drawback-- restaurant not open Sundays. Good hot breakfast other days I'm included. For those riding motorcycles the parking area is secure,

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Barb W, General Manager at Hilltop Inn, responded to this review

What a delightful surprise to see you nice review so soon after you stay. We hope we can host you again. P.S . Your motorcycle looked beautiful in our new parking lot. Thank You. Barb Wachter General Manager. More

Snohomish
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We have stayed here before, then stopped because it got so rundown. We decided to give it another try because it had been refurbished. Our mistake was staying in the old section, I guess, instead of the new section. Our room had new paint and carpeting but the bed was lumpy and the pillows were paper thin. The room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barb W, General Manager at Hilltop Inn, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide important feedback to us. We are sorry you were unhappy with your stay. Construction is always difficult. We hope you will consider us an option if you return to Pullman. Thank You. Barb Wachter General Manager. More

Monroe, Washington
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Check in could have been quicker. The new wing is the location you want.The rooms are clean and the beds are new.I stayed on the second floor didnt like lugging my bags up and down . I like a ground floor easy in easy out. There is a breakfast but not a great one. Not bad prices I slept well... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barb W, General Manager at Hilltop Inn, responded to this review

Thank you we are delighted that your experience at our new hotel was good. We appreciate your feedback. We hope we will be able to have you as a guest again. Thank You. Barb Wachter General Manager. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hilltop Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hilltop Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop Inn

Address: 928 NW Olsen Street, Pullman, WA 99163 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites)
Location: United States > Washington > Pullman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hilltop Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilltop Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilltop Hotel Pullman
Hilltop Hotel Magnuson

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Pullman with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
115

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hilltop Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer