We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hilltop Inn

2.5 of 5 928 NW Olsen Street, Pullman, WA 99163 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites)
Hotel website
Offers & Announcements
Call for Best Rate!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilltop Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hilltop Inn
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
12
3
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (23)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
Vancouver, Washington, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised with our stay over dad's weekend. We've traditionally stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Pullman and will no longer. Hilltop Inn had a great room, excellent bar and restaurant, a local feel and nice staff. The view of the University and the sunrise on Saturday morning was beautiful. Breakfast was better than HI with more... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barb W, General Manager at Hilltop Inn, responded to this review

All of our staff here at the Hilltop Inn wants to thank you for you AWESOME words on our behalf. We have a wonderful hometown team that enjoys meeting and working with guests such as you. Your pleasure is our pleasure. We look forward to your next visit. Barb W. General Manager More

Bothell, Washington
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

We stayed here for a baseball tournament. It was a decent, clean hotel. The restaurant and bar were great. We had a lot of fun in Pullman that weekend and were happy we stayed at this location. Also---- Great group rates!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barb W, Manager at Hilltop Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel we appreciate your comments. Our staff works hard to provide our guests with the best service and Hometown Hospitality. We hope to see you again next year for another great summer of baseball. Thank You Barb W. Hilltop General Manager More

Spokane, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014 via mobile

The high point: they had rooms when no one else did. We went on a super busy football weekend, and were the only hotel I could find without a 2 night minimum. The low point: when the people directly above us got up at 5 am and I could hear their every move. Besides that, it was a pretty basic... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barb W, Manager at Hilltop Inn, responded to this review

Thank You for your feedback on your stay. Football season is a very busy and bustling time for the Hilltop and Pullman, we are happy that we were able to accommodate you for your stay. The staff at the Hilltop would like to apologize for your experience and would like to welcome you back in the future travels to Pullman.... More

Idaho
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We stayed at this hotel while visiting family in the area. While the exterior and breakfast area have been recently remodeled, the lobby, hallways, elevator and guest rooms need a lot of help. The hallways and elevator were dirty and old. The "full" breakfast was really bad. Fruit was old and hot items were absolutely terrible. OK if you just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barb W, General Manager at Hilltop Inn, responded to this review

We want to thank you for your interesting review. It is obvious to us that people have labeled us remodeled. You mentioned we look old. We are so disappointed because everything is new including the bedding in the rooms. I especially noted your comment about "nothing on the walls". We are in the process of hanging our new Pullman pictures... More

Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Stayed in a spacious 2-queen room for one night during a busy WSU weekend. Hotel foyer is inviting, with complimentary ice water, coffee and tea very welcome after a long drive. Staff is pleasant, very helpful. Housekeeping was a little behind this particular day, but desk clerk diligently found a ready room for me. Furnishings in my room were a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clarkston, Washington
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We had a great view from a clean and comfortable room. The location is quiet and as the name suggests, on top of a hill. It is very close to restaurants and the like. The staff was friendly and professional. The breakfast offered was standard and sufficient.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vernon, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The staff are very efficient and friendly and the hotel looks great. The location is tremendous and all aspects at first glance look very promising. Unfortunately the comfort of our king size bed and pillows were quite poor. The complimentary breakfast was also mediocre at best which was a surprise because the hotel has a full kitchen. The pool was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seattle, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed here as part of a baseball tournament group. Generally we stay at the Holiday Inn Express when we're in Pullman but the rest of the team was at the Hilltop so it made sense. And the website advertised a new remodel and the photos looked good. We apparently didn't have a remodeled room, or at least didn't have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barb W, General Manager at Hilltop Inn, responded to this review

We here at the Hilltop Inn are so disappointed in your comments. Our desk staff is here 24 hours around the clock so that you could have requested fresh hot water for tea at a moments notice. We are family owned and operated and since we just completed a new building and remodeling the older rooms we are now working... More

White Salmon, Washington
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
61 hotel reviews
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I had a wonderful night at the Hilltop Inn in Pullman. The newly remodeled property is centrally located and perched upon a hilltop with majestic views overlooking Pullman. My room was fantastic. I really appreciated the open floor plan, large room size, and the mini fridge too. The bed was very large and comfortable. My room was near the road... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Barb W, General Manager at Hilltop Inn, responded to this review

Our entire staff here at the Hilltop thank you for your kind words. We look forward to your return visits so we may share more "hometown hospitality" with you. More

Tacoma, Washington, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My stay wasn't the greatest. The pillow cases were not fresh and the room needed dusting. The front desk people were wonderful, though. I hate to say it, but the coffee was terrible, too. I guess they've upgraded, but you still need to brew it strong... don't use the full pot of water. Anyway, sorry Hilltop, I was not impressed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barb W, General Manager at Hilltop Inn, responded to this review

Our entire staff is disappointed that we were unable to meet your expectations. We are very proud of our new hotel and the Front Desk is prepared to handle any requests for your comfort. However, after checking our daily log we did not receive any calls from your room about your direct needs. Perhaps a return visit would benefit both... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hilltop Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop Inn

Address: 928 NW Olsen Street, Pullman, WA 99163 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Pullman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hilltop Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, T4B, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hilltop Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilltop Hotel Pullman
Hilltop Hotel Magnuson

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay