We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
1807 Water St., Port Townsend, WA 98368
Hotel website
Click for phone number
Hotel amenities
Tides Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Tides Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
  • Mar-May only
  • Jun-Aug only
  • Sep-Nov only
  • Dec-Feb only
All months
There are newer reviews for Tides Inn
See the most recent reviews
Lynnwood, Washington
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed here because we were going on a whale cruise. I was looking for an inexpensive hotel and this fit the bill. The room we stayed in was older and clean but not new. The windows had broken seals. The bath was not great. It just felt old and in need of renovation. We will not stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The Tides Inn in Port Townsend is an older hotel and the room was a bit small. However, it was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the staff was very helpful. It is one of the least expensive hostels in town, the view is great and it's just over 1/4 mile to the Whidbey Island ferry terminal. The breakfast was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Walnutport, Pennsylvania
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised with our room after reading some of the prior reviews. Although, a bit outdated, the room was well mantained and clean. In regards to the town, the Tides Inn location is unbeatable. The staff was super friendly and offered fabulous dinner recommendations (we chose the Public House Grill - which was great). The jet bathtub (aka... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
21 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Looking for a hotel with a gorgeous view? this is the place, but if you want a hotel above the quality of a Motel 6, this is NOT the place - at least Room 16 - the hot tub suite. I've never been to a hotel with no AC, who would have thought to ask in advance if the hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed at this Inn for 2 nights , went before hand to look at rooms as reviews were not alway good , but rooms 28-29 etc we checked out were clean, we ended up in #31 it was smaller but great view off deck and clean, we only slept there as in town for a rally. Breakfast was bagels,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is a place that had its heyday back when an "Officer and a Gentleman" was filmed in Port Townsend and popular. In fact you can stay in the room that was used in the filming. I'll admit that is why I looked it up as I am married to an Officer (retired) and a gentleman and I LOVED the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stay in Port Townsend, WA once a year and we have always stayed at one motel. We decided to give The Tides a try. They have an old section and a new section. We stayed in the old section. My room was fine. The bathroom was tiny, but I was alone and everything was adequate. There was a refrigerator... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Beaverton, Oregon
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Bottom line-don't waste your time or money here. Awful, dirty, moldy, uncomfortable bedding - and you get all that for paying way too much. Their resting on laurels that they are one of only a couple waterfront accommodations. They give Port Townsend a very bad name - we almost didn't want to return to the town because this so called... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
tidesinnpt, General Manager at Tides Inn, responded to this review

Wow, I'm sorry to hear about your stay. Would you contact us to let us know which room you have stayed? We would like to make sure everything you have pointed out to us is taken care of. We want to make sure we didn't miss anything. We will make it right by you. Thank you. More

Kirkland, WA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Okay, not a 5 star hotel, but a fun spot to stay! We had room 105, right on the water, with a jacuzzi tub and gas fireplace. The staff were all very nice and helpful. Room was clean, nice toiletries. Room also had a coffee maker, small fridge and a microwave. Small deck, the kids had fun tossing crackers to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

This was our second stay at Tides Inn. We stay here for two reasons - the waterfront view, and its near town location. The office receptionist was friendly and helpful. We didn't like the first room she assigned (#21). Because of the placement of the windows, it is dark, with only a partial view of the bay. But the second... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Tides Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tides Inn

Address: 1807 Water St., Port Townsend, WA 98368
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Tides Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tides Hotel Port Townsend
Tides Motel Port Townsend

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

All traveler photos (43)
Dining (1)
Hotel & grounds (4)
Room/suite (16)
View from room (10)
Pool/beach area (1)
Bathroom (1)
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All management photos (3)
Room/suite (1)
Hotel & grounds (1)
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay