We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Lion Hotel Olympia

Certificate of Excellence
2300 Evergreen Park Drive SW, Olympia, WA 98502 (Formerly WestCoast)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Olympia
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Red Lion Hotel Olympia
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    185
    96
    17
    15
See reviews for
110
132
16
153
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (472)
  • Mar-May only
    (93)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (139)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (157)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (83)
All months
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Clean, but dated. Relatively comfortable, but no climate controls. Bed was comfortable. Shortage of outlets for charging electronics. Nice view from the balcony, but they really need to clean the cobwebs and bird crap off the balconies. Service was friendly, location is convenient. STRONG smell of cleaning products in portions of the hallways. No problems, just not awesome.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff B, Director of Sales at Red Lion Hotel Olympia, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Make sure to check back once our renovations are complete. We will be rebranding this year to a new boutique Red Lion Hotel called Hotel RL. With all of the trees on our campus, we think the balconies will always be hard to keep clean, however! More 

Duncan, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We've stayed at the Red Lion Inn three or four times while traveling between Vancouver Island and the SF Bay Area. The attractions are very comfortable rooms, good beds, quite and effective air conditioners, and frequently very affordable rates. The grounds are lovely and the fitness facilities good. The only downside is that the cost of the room does not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff B, Director of Sales at Red Lion Hotel Olympia, responded to this review

Mark: Thank you for your thoughtful comments. We agree, our beds are pretty comfortable! More 

Duncan, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A very quiet place to stay, with a posh atmosphere, but it's reasonably priced if you go online with one of those sites that find the best deal. We ate there once, looking out at a nice view, and the food was okay but not stellar. The beds are great, and the air conditioning isn't overly loud.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reno, NV
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is a lovely hotel. It is impeccably clean, the staff are friendly, the room is fairly large, and guests are provided with ample good quality towels and comfortable bed and pillows. Moreover, the rooms are incredibly quiet. I never heard another guest or noise from the room: doors closing, hall chatter, cars starting, etc. I just wish they provided... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff B, Director of Sales at Red Lion Hotel Olympia, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about the hotel. Being the quietest hotel in which you've ever stayed is quite an honor! We look forward to your return visit! More 

Seattle, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I just got back from staying at this hotel for 3 nights last weekend for an event. I was surprised by how huge the hotel was when I first pulled up. The room was nice enough; there was a little bit of an odd odor in it (I stayed on a first floor room on the east wing of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff B, Director of Sales at Red Lion Hotel Olympia, responded to this review

Angela: Thank you for your thoughtful comments. We are so happy to hear that your items were returned! The pool is now open! Please come back soon. More 

Port Angeles, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have been to the Red Lion, Olympia twice for conference/workshops and was very impressed both times. Their conference room rates are very reasonable for the quality of the rooms and the overall quality of the hotel. This hotel is pet friendly and the pet rooms are just as nice as the non pet rooms. I would have given the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff B, Director of Sales at Red Lion Hotel Olympia, responded to this review

Cynthia: Thank you for your thoughtful review. We're so happy that your stay was a pleasant one. Red Lion Hotels have become recognized for being pet friendly, and we agree, we are ready for the next level. We will take your suggestions for pet treats very seriously! More 

San Isidro de El General, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My company booked a room here for me during a recent conference. I will say, it is a lovely setting and quiet most of the time. We were here four nights, and for the most part, it is fine. The wifi was free and fast. There were a few things which I will caution. DO NOT, stay on the west... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff B, Director of Sales at Red Lion Hotel Olympia, responded to this review

Greetings. Thank you for your feedback. We are embarrassed to hear of your experience with our food. It's frustrating to travel on business without good food to keep you going. We are sincerely sorry for that. We also apologize for the noise from the courthouse. We are not aware of that being a regular occurrence. We'd like the opportunity to... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After traveling the long way from California we especially chose this hotel for its swimming pool so we could relax there. It was a big disappointment to learn that on Memorial day the pool was colsed. That is one thing - the other thing was how the management dealt with it. The night we arrived the staff told us that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff B, Director of Sales at Red Lion Hotel Olympia, responded to this review

Greetings: Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry that you received inaccurate information. Your comments indicate that you are disappointed that the pool was closed on Memorial Day, yet Memorial Day actually falls on May 25, a week after you were here, so we're confused as to why a pool closure would be a surprise. It sounds like we could... More 

Lewes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed previous night at Red Lion in Port Angeles and was fearful of what this one would be like. Port Angeles is like a cheap motel from the past (see separate review). What a contrast this one is! Located just outside Olympia with nice grounds and great views from restaurant. Built as a proper hotel, large clean and comfortable rooms.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeff B, Director of Sales at Red Lion Hotel Olympia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy that your experience with the Red Lion Hotel in Olympia was positive. We are sorry to hear about your Port Angeles experience, and we will surely take a look at your review and respond appropriately. Thank you for trying our restaurant...view is good...food is better! More 

BC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice setting, and great value for the money. Reception staff were very helpful. I have stayed at this hotel before and it remains a favorite in the Olympia area. It is clean with big rooms and some rooms have a balcony to enjoy the great southern Washington weather.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff B, Director of Sales at Red Lion Hotel Olympia, responded to this review

Thank you for your thoughtful view! The balconies are definitely a great way to enjoy your time here in Olympia! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay