We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Governor Hotel, a Coast Hotel

621 Capitol Way South, Olympia, WA 98501 (Formerly Ramada Inn Governor House)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Governor Hotel, a Coast Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Governor Hotel, a Coast Hotel
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    31
    27
    16
    8
See reviews for
19
22
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (99)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (30)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Yakima
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was my first stay at The Governor Coast Hotel Olympia. The counter staff were helpful and accommodating. My room was very clean and appeared to be recently updated. I would definitely stay again.

Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryan K, General Manager at The Governor Hotel, a Coast Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your compliments to our staff, as we strive to provide the best service for our guests. We hope to see you again in the future. More 

Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Not fancy but clean. A little over priced for what it is but if you're staying for the Capitol city marathon it's so worth the location. Ask for rooms 09 or 11 if you want a room over looking the finish line. Staff very friendly.

Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryan K, General Manager at The Governor Hotel, a Coast Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 star review at The Governor, we are glad to know you enjoyed our location and staff. We invite you to stay with us again soon! More 

Mercer Island, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I always set the alarm clock in my room when traveling and I back it up with a wake up call. Fortunately, this is one of the hotels that had a great alarm clock. I requested a wake-up call at 7:45 and as of 9:10, I am still waiting for it. If you are a sound sleeper like me, make... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryan K, General Manager at The Governor Hotel, a Coast Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for calling attention to our timely response in addressing issues you encountered during your stay. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast, comfortable sleeping arrangements, and central location at The Governor. We would like to apologize for your missing wake-up call and will discuss it with our staff to ensure this will not happen in... More 

Bainbridge Island, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Governor is in downtown Olympia close to the State Capitol building and government offices. The room was very clean and well appointed and had a view of Capitol Lake and the surrounding park. Nearly anything in Olympia proper is within walking distance, including several restaurants. WiFi was available, but sluggish, which is about the only negative I can think... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryan K, General Manager at The Governor Hotel, a Coast Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review of your recent stay at The Governor. We appreciate your feedback about the WIFI. We are however happy to hear that your room was clean and our location convenient. More 

Sumter, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We went out for a girls night and decided this hotel was the closest to all the bar attraction. Dont blink when you find it because youll pass the enterance hole. Let's begin with the parking, there's a top level and a bottom level. The top you can view from the back rooms. But it's small and there is at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryan K, General Manager at The Governor Hotel, a Coast Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your in-depth review of your recent stay at The Governor for your girls night in Olympia. We want to thank you for your feedback about the temperature of the rooms and the shower, as well as the parking. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast, the view and the beds. We look forward to... More 

Yakima, Washington
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It's an older hotel with some interesting history and it did have some recent renovations that brought rooms more up to date and provide a comfortable experience. Comfortable beds, clean bathroom, no issues with road noise or neighbors - the TV didn't work all that well unless it was turned off/on by the power strip. There is still no real... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryan K, General Manager at The Governor Hotel, a Coast Hotel, responded to this review

While we are happy to hear that you appreciated the recent renovations of The Governor we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our breakfast. We appreciate your candidness however and we will work on improving the breakfast in the future. More 

Seattle
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From the unsanitary and unflushed urinals in the lobby restroom, to the scalding/freezing shower, to the various "out of service' signs throughout the hotel, to the old and musty smelling elevator and stairwell, this place may be the most consistently poor hotel I've ever stayed at. Seems like a wasted opportunity, given the central downtown location.

Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ryan K, General Manager at The Governor Hotel, a Coast Hotel, responded to this review

This is certainly not the kind of review that we hope to get and we do apologize that you had such a poor experience at The Governor. We would like the opportunity to further discuss this with you in more detail offline. More 

Portland, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Random chance and limited options led us to the Gov., and what a cool little shelter it provides. Nothing fancy but comfortable beds, decent sized room and great historic governor photos in the enclosed breezeway. All was topped off by a surprisingly hearty (Not just carb filled bagels/donuts/waffles- though those were pretty tasty too...) free breakfast. Awoke to a view... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryan K, General Manager at The Governor Hotel, a Coast Hotel, responded to this review

We are certainly pleased with your positive review of The Governor. We are glad that we were able to provide you with a comfortable stay while you were in Olympia. We hope that you will stay with us again if you are in the area. More 

Tracy, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room was remodeled recently (they were remodeling nearly every room surrounding us), clean, comfortable beds and pillows. Nice TV and amenities. Good location super close to the downtown, restaurants and shops. Balcony is not really a balcony. Free WiFi and parking. The AC worked great, and at times seemed to turn into a heater, the windows are old and when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryan K, General Manager at The Governor Hotel, a Coast Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that your stay at The Governor was less than satisfactory. We would like the opportunity to further discuss this with you in more detail offline. More 

Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We wanted to visit some pubs downtown and this hotel fit the bill. The room was clean and the double sheeting on the bed was great. The king bed was not independent coils and every time the other person turned you would notice. The pillows were nice and comfortable. The bathroom was old and the paint in the tub was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryan K, General Manager at The Governor Hotel, a Coast Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your candid review of your stay at The Governor. We do appreciate your feedback about our beds and bathrooms. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
1:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities