We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Governor Hotel

2.5 of 5 621 South Capitol Way, Olympia, WA 98501 (Formerly Ramada Inn Governor House)
Hotel website
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Governor Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Governor Hotel
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    20
    22
    12
    7
See reviews for
16
16
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (70)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (30)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
47 hotel reviews
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Smack in the middle of town, across from the civic park and town hall, this hotel is yes, dated in decor but not in amenities or charm. Clean, efficient and affordable, what's not to like and enjoy! Close to a good bar & grill, we hit it right for quiz night, parking out back....we were puzzled by such negative reviews.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ryan K, Manager at Governor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy that we could provide you with a great stay during your time in Olympia. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again on a return visit. More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived and were greeted professionally. When we went in to out room and pulled back the blankets, ewwww!!!!! They were dirty, really dirty. We called the desk and asked for clean linens. We then went down to the lobby and showed reception the picture of the bed. She was very apologetic and stated it was unacceptable to have sheets... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anissa M, General Manager at Governor Hotel, responded to this review

My deepest apologies for this experience. What has happened was indeed unacceptable and I have no excuse for it. What I can tell you is that I would appreciate the opportunity to address the issue with you one on one and find a resolution. Our ultimate goal is to give everyone a great experience and it is obvious that you... More

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

We stayed on October 18th for a special event which was arranged by our group. Found that this place is at best, in a state of change. Our quoted rate, was increased by $25, and the front desk people just shrugged when asked. Customer service was unfocused, at best. I heard numerous complaints from members of our group, regarding the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anissa M, General Manager at Governor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing this to my attention.  Feedback, good or bad is so valuable to myself and my team.  It is the best tool to learn and grow from. You mentioned a key part of your concern which was an increase in rate.  I would like to address this with you personally.  If you do not mind sending me... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

i had to come stay recently.... i was not pleased, the parking garage first off where is the entrance??? took me 5 mins to find it and push a small buzzer... once in the building it smelled like musty and like marjuana.... once in the elevator it was also a very musty smell and the sound... it sounded like it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anissa M, General Manager at Governor Hotel, responded to this review

Oh No! I am so sorry to hear of your experience.  While I can say that this is not a typical experience the fact of the matter is it happened to you and for that I am so sorry.  After researching a little with my front desk team we did not seem to have received any complaints, which is truly... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

The location of this hotel is fabulous! It is right in town, and right near the local raw food restaurant. The room was clean, bed was incredibly comfortable, and the staff was friendly. The view was amazing. My only complaint was that the water temperature fluctuated drastically while showering, but was tolerable. We would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryan K, General Manager at Governor Hotel, responded to this review

Kimmierat, Thank you very much for your glowing review. Our Governor Team is pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will look forward to serving you in the future. More

Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

I stayed at this hotel last year and I thought it started to look its age. In the last year it was taken over by Coast Hotels and I had noticed there were improvements. The main thing that is noticeable was that they had renovated the rooms, there is newer decor, beds, desks, and a flat screen television and also... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryan K, General Manager at Governor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We do have plans for our hotel to be entirely renovated by November 2014, which we are very excited to provide for our guests. I am glad to read you found our offerings to be a good value, overall. We hope to see you again on a future visit. More

Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

Not great. The rooms are nice and comfy, and the views are spectacular. Staff are ok--young, minds in the clouds, not really the "know how to run a hotel types".... Breakfast WAS AWFUL. Really bad. Stale cereal, expired yogurts, one milk offering, spongy eggs, crappy OJ but worst of all--HORRID COFFEE. If you stay here, try for a really good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryan K, General Manager at Governor Hotel, responded to this review

We apologize for your experience on this occasion. Though it is not the caliber of feedback we normally receive, we value your feedback and will share it with our team. More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

We reserved a block of rooms at the Governor Hotel for our daughter's August wedding and had a very positive experience while working with Ryan Kang and the rest of the staff. We found that Ryan was much more flexible with his terms than other hotels in Olympia, and the rates were more reasonable too. The location was perfect, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryan K, General Manager at Governor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic review, Carolyn! We enjoyed working with you, and are so happy to read that you had a positive experience with us for your daughter’s wedding - such a special occasion! We are honored you chose to celebrate at The Governor Hotel. Congratulations! More

Bandon, OR
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
34 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

I liked being downtown Olympia with a view of the Capitol and the lake. Beds were good. Breakfast was OK. Service was fine. Little things missing, like signs where you could get ice (only on the 8th floor I found out later). And the room had only one chair so my friend and I couldn't sit down at the same... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Once again, I ignored all the petty reviews on here and went to the Governor anyway, and I'm glad we did. It's right on the main drag (Capitol Way), has a nice lobby and friendly manager. The room was a good size, clean and efficient, with tv, fridge, microwave, etc., all the amenities you would expect. I can only assume... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Governor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor Hotel

Address: 621 South Capitol Way, Olympia, WA 98501 (Formerly Ramada Inn Governor House)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Olympia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Governor Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Governor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor Hotel Olympia

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
1:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay