We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Freestone Inn

Certificate of Excellence
31 Early Winters Drive, Mazama, WA 98833
Hotel amenities
Freestone Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #2 of 3 Mazama B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Phronesis1 Mill Creek, Washington
Add Photo Write a Review

138 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    75
    41
    13
    7
    2
See reviews for
32
82
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (138)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (67)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (43)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Mill Creek, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed at the Freestone for three nights mid week late this July. Given the lovely location and unending things to do, we were surprised to be among just a handful of people at the lodge. We suggest rooms 7 & 8 at the lodge because of their unobstructed views of the pond. The lodge/resort sits among... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris M, General Manager at Freestone Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind words, and continued patronage. And yes, we agree that Jack's Hut needs to be open daily and are working towards accomplishing that goal! More 

Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Our first time here, very surprised by the cleanliness, service level and experience we had here. If you are looking for a quick get away this is the place. We also had dinner at the restaurant and I must say it was quite good. Breakfast was included as well, a little disappointing on the Breakfast selection that day, I think... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris M, Manager at Freestone Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, we look forward to your next visit! More 

orcas island, wa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We’ve been 5 times in last 4 years - we like for location and scenery - cabins are best for privacy; would be best if precise cabin that you ask for on making reservation could be confirmed but not their practice - also prices are way too high compared to comparable lodging at Mazama Inn - Erin in Jack’s Hut... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris M, General Manager at Freestone Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are now allowing people to request specific cabins or rooms now, so please ask when you make your reservation! More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We went end of June with a large family group, we rented three cabins and two suites. The hotel and cabins are gorgeous and the location is also beautiful. The service was not good. Apparently under new ownership but wait staff were terribly inexperienced and dinner took over two hours to get served to all and as one person was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris M, General Manager at Freestone Inn, responded to this review

Hi Andrea, Thank you for your review. Once again, I apologize for your dining experience. Although we comped your families entire meal, it is no excuse for a poor dining experience. As I explained, your server was only here for a week, and he learned a lot with your group. We trust that your next experience will be worthy of... More 

Bellevue, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Special place. Beautiful lodge, overlooking nice pond. Restaurant really surprised me. It was excellent. The prawns/pasta dish was incredible, as was one of the chocolate deserts. Stayed in the lodge 5 years ago and was great. This year stayed 3 nights in a cabin, as we brought our dog. Cabins are private (several along a beautiful creek), have nice fireplaces,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris M, General Manager at Freestone Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review! We look forward to your next visit! More 

Seattle, Washington
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had dinner at the inn two nights ago with friends. We all own cabins in the area. We were very pleased with changes that the new management has instituted: responsive informative, friendly, and professional wait staff, and a nice selection of reasonably priced menu optuins menu options. We loved the food and, as always, enjoyed the inn's ambience. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris M, Manager at Freestone Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, and your kind words! We have some great things coming up, including outdoor seating and a new happy hour program, please come back to see us again soon! More 

Santa Rosa, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed one night about 10 days ago. Absolutely beautiful in a gorgeous setting. However, my reason for the 3 star rating is entirely due to the front desk. When making our reservation 3 days ahead - by phone - we were not told that the restaurant would be closed that night due to a wedding (a Wednesday). On arrival... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris M, General Manager at Freestone Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am so sorry to hear that your stay was anything less than excellent, especially when it sounds like something that could be easily prevented. I will contact you privately for more details. More 

Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for two nights in the summer of 2014 and had a wonderful time. Our bed was very comfortable, we enjoyed the nice breakfast and overall the inn was very peaceful and quiet. The location is perfect if you are spending time hiking to the west or if you are heading east towards Winthrop and Twisp. After a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris M, General Manager at Freestone Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We hope we get to see you again this year! Sorry about the microwave, although we have them in the suites and cabins, we do not have them in the lodge rooms. Please let us know next time, and we will make one available to you. More 

washington dc
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent just one night at the Freestone Inn but it was the best stay of our two week trip. Situated in the foothills of the north Cascades, just east of Washington Pass, the setting is perfect. Our room looked on to a lake with mountain views. My son and I were fly fishing and caught several large trout in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris M, General Manager at Freestone Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review! So glad to hear you loved this beautiful place as much as we do! We look forward to your next, and longer, stay! More 

Seattle, Washington
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was a delightful stay at a time when the new general manager and his staff were just getting started. We were accommodated with smiles and laughter along with terrific food and service. We stayed in one of the cabins and were very pleased with the space and comfort. We will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris M, General Manager at Freestone Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words! It was a pleasure hosting you and the entire wedding. We look forward to seeing you all again! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

79 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mazama
14.6 mi away
Chewuch Inn and Cabins
Chewuch Inn and Cabins
#1 of 7 in Winthrop
5.0 of 5 stars 267 reviews
14.4 mi away
Hotel Rio Vista
Hotel Rio Vista
#3 of 7 in Winthrop
4.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
15.2 mi away
AbbyCreek Inn
AbbyCreek Inn
#5 of 7 in Winthrop
4.0 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
River's Edge Resort
River's Edge Resort
#2 of 12 in Winthrop
5.0 of 5 stars 169 reviews
21.5 mi away
Twisp River Suites
Twisp River Suites
#1 of 7 in Twisp
5.0 of 5 stars 315 reviews
14.9 mi away
Mt Gardner Inn
Mt Gardner Inn
#1 of 11 in Winthrop
5.0 of 5 stars 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay