We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bellingham GuestHouse Inn

Hotel website
Hotel packages
805 Lakeway Drive, Bellingham, WA 98229 (Formerly Val-U Inn Motel)
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bellingham GuestHouse Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bellingham GuestHouse Inn
Add Photo Write a Review

159 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    48
    66
    32
    10
    3
See reviews for
48
41
29
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (159)
  • Mar-May only
    (52)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (40)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
There are newer reviews for Bellingham GuestHouse Inn
See the most recent reviews
Victoria BC
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Lousy service and dirty room!!! We were given only excuses for noisy music at midnight and cigarette smoke filling our room (non smoking) and slapdash cleaning, with no action taken. The breakfast was great the first morning, but the second morning they ran out of sausage, bacon and the eggs by 845 am with NO attempt by staff to restock... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bellinghammgmt, General Manager at Bellingham GuestHouse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about your experiences while staying with us. I apologize for the issues you had with our housekeeping, with the workers that were staying with us, and the fact you did not feel safe. We failed in delivering our promise of a clean and comfortable guest room delivered with outstanding guest... More 

Powell River, Canada
Level Contributor
296 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

The friendly helpful staff are the best thing about this hotel. The rooms are a little cramped but they are clean enough and the beds are comfy. Walking distance to downtown and the old town area is a plus. There are dog friendly rooms. The only bad thing is the derelict restaurant and parking area adjacent to the hotel that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bellinghammgmt, Director of Sales at Bellingham GuestHouse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. We appreciate your input and value your time. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Bellingham. Warmly, Corissa Sprague, AGM/DOS More 

Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Decent place, rooms are average and staff is friendly. A good value if you get a good rate on your room. Only complaint is that one night we returned to a smoky smelling room. We determined that the cigarette smoke/smell was coming from the vent in our bathroom (someone was smoking in their bathroom)? Not really sure if this is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bellinghammgmt, Director of Sales at Bellingham GuestHouse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about us. I would like to mention that we are a 100% smoke free hotel. We do have a fee that anyone who smokes in the room pays for. However, I do apologize again for your inconvenience. We are pleased to know that the rest of your stay... More 

Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

The accomodations were modest and clean. The staff were what made an average motel something more. If you needed/wanted something, all you had to do is ask and the staff (sincerely) responded. There was a problem with someone smoking in their room and the front desk staff dealt well with the situation. The smoke was lingering throughout the halls and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bellinghammgmt, Director of Sales at Bellingham GuestHouse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. We are so pleased that you chose us to accomodate your lodging needs. We hope to see you again next time you are in Bellingham. We certainly do appreciate all of you who take the time from your busy schedule to let not only others but... More 

Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

This hotel is probably the best value for your $ in Bellingham. very kind and helpful staff. Joanie at the front desk was especially kind and informative about the Bellingham area. well kept rooms and fairy good continental breakfast. Absolutely love the 12pm late checkout time . For parents with little kids this is great stress relief!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
bellinghammgmt, Director of Sales at Bellingham GuestHouse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. We are so pleased that you chose us to accomodate your lodging needs. We hope to see you again next time you are in Bellingham. We certainly do appreciate all of you who take the time from your busy schedule to let not only others but... More 

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

5 mins from downtown Bellingham. I was tired of staying in one of the multitude of motels by Bellis fair Mall and dealing with the noise and traffic. We like to walk so it was great be a able to walk somewhere interesting. Good restaurants in downtown Bellingham. Staff was very courteous. Rooms were very clean and comfortable and we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
bellinghammgmt, Director of Sales at Bellingham GuestHouse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. We are so happy that you will be returning and enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly look forward to your next arrival. Thank you for choosing GuestHouse Inn in Bellingham. Warmly, Corissa Sprague, AGM/DOS More 

Lakebay, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Rooms are clean and well kept. Staff is courteous and helpful. This was our second stay here and we always ask for a room on the east side of the hotel and an upper floor thereby avoiding the traffic noise from the I-5 freeway.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bellinghammgmt, Director of Sales at Bellingham GuestHouse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking time to write a review for us. We look forward to your next arrival. Thank you for choosing GuestHouse Inn to serve your lodging needs. Corissa Sprague, AGM/DOS More 

Sooke, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Just off I-5, plenty of free parking, friendly staff, fast check in and out, directions to a good restaurant, chocolate chip cookies on check in. Room has a queen bed with 4 pillows, TV with cable, micro wave, refrigerator, coffee maker, iron/board, hair dryer, clock radio, writing desk/ chair, and two over stuffed chairs, tub shower combo. There are snack/soda/ice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
bellinghammgmt, Director of Sales at Bellingham GuestHouse Inn, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review for our property. We appreciate it greatly and look forward to your next arrival. :) Corissa Sprague, AGM/DOS More 

Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

January 2012 stay. The price was moderate, the room was quite attractive, and the staff was friendly though the desk clerk had a terrible cold. The room was about 50 degrees when we opened it and the heater had only a hot cold rotating knob rather than a thermostat which would control the temperature so you were either too hot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bellinghammgmt, Director of Sales at Bellingham GuestHouse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. Our first priority is Customer Service so thank you for all of your input. I sincerely apologize for your room being too cold for you upon arrival. To conserve energy we don't leave the heaters on in the rooms. We are in the process of upgrading... More 

Nanaimo, BC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We stayed one night in January 2012. The room was freezing cold when we arrived, so we turned up the heat and went out for a few hours. On our return, the room was full of a horrible sickly-sweet smell. It was late so we toughed it out, but we won't stay there again. Also, the hair dryer didn't work.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bellinghammgmt, Director of Sales at Bellingham GuestHouse Inn, responded to this review

First I would like to apologize for any inconvenience that you may have had at our Hotel, GuestHouse Inn. To be energy efficient we don't keep the heaters running in our rooms, only in our Lobby and common areas. I'm not quite sure what the "horrible sickly-sweet smell" was that you had upon arrival back into your room as we... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay