We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bellingham GuestHouse Inn

Hotel website
Hotel packages
805 Lakeway Drive, Bellingham, WA 98229 (Formerly Val-U Inn Motel)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bellingham GuestHouse Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bellingham GuestHouse Inn
Add Photo Write a Review

161 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    48
    66
    34
    10
    3
See reviews for
48
42
29
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (161)
  • Mar-May only
    (52)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (42)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
There are newer reviews for Bellingham GuestHouse Inn
See the most recent reviews
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

January 2012 stay. The price was moderate, the room was quite attractive, and the staff was friendly though the desk clerk had a terrible cold. The room was about 50 degrees when we opened it and the heater had only a hot cold rotating knob rather than a thermostat which would control the temperature so you were either too hot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bellinghammgmt, Director of Sales at Bellingham GuestHouse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. Our first priority is Customer Service so thank you for all of your input. I sincerely apologize for your room being too cold for you upon arrival. To conserve energy we don't leave the heaters on in the rooms. We are in the process of upgrading... More 

Nanaimo, BC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We stayed one night in January 2012. The room was freezing cold when we arrived, so we turned up the heat and went out for a few hours. On our return, the room was full of a horrible sickly-sweet smell. It was late so we toughed it out, but we won't stay there again. Also, the hair dryer didn't work.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bellinghammgmt, Director of Sales at Bellingham GuestHouse Inn, responded to this review

First I would like to apologize for any inconvenience that you may have had at our Hotel, GuestHouse Inn. To be energy efficient we don't keep the heaters running in our rooms, only in our Lobby and common areas. I'm not quite sure what the "horrible sickly-sweet smell" was that you had upon arrival back into your room as we... More 

Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

In December of 2011 my husband and I stayed one night at the GuestHouse Inn. We were specifically looking for a hotel that offered the Stay & Fly option as we were flying out of Bellingham airport the next morning for a 4 day Vegas trip. On this plan, we stayed the night, enjoyed a great breakfast with lots of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
bellinghammgmt, Director of Sales at Bellingham GuestHouse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for our Hotel. We appreciate you choosing GuestHouse Inn for your lodging needs and we look forward to your next arrival. Take care until next time. Corissa Sprague, AGM/DOS More 

Bellingham
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

I have used this hotel for our company business many times. It is a very good budget hotel. Staff are great. Breakfast is nice. TV has cable service. The drawbacks: you cannot download attachments to emails (which makes no sense).

Was this review helpful? Yes
bellinghammgmt, Director of Sales at Bellingham GuestHouse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. =] I am so thrilled that you chose GuestHouse Inn to serve your lodging needs. We look forward to your next arrival. ~Corissa Sprague, AGM/DOS More 

Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Stayed in Bellingham in order to go to Mt. Baker for a weekend (Bellingham is roughly 1 hr and 20 minutes to Mt. Baker). Picked the Guesthouse Inn based on reviews on Trip Advisor and everything people said about this place was accurate. The rooms were clean and spacious. Plenty of room to fit all our bags and snowboarding gear.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bellinghammgmt, Director of Sales at Bellingham GuestHouse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. =] I am so thrilled that you chose GuestHouse Inn to serve your lodging needs. We look forward to your next arrival. ~Corissa Sprague, AGM/DOS More 

British Columbia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Stayed here before a flight out of Bellingham Airport. The rates were cheap, the room was clean, included breakfast and only 10 minutes from the airport.

Was this review helpful? Yes
bellinghammgmt, Director of Sales at Bellingham GuestHouse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. =] I am so thrilled that you chose GuestHouse Inn to serve your lodging needs. We look forward to your next arrival. ~Corissa Sprague, AGM/DOS More 

Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

friendly hosts, nice rooms, clean and comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
bellinghammgmt, Director of Sales at Bellingham GuestHouse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. =] I am so thrilled that you chose GuestHouse Inn to serve your lodging needs. We look forward to your next arrival. ~Corissa Sprague, AGM/DOS More 

Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

I was looking at this place because of its excellent location. Then I got a great price using kayak.com. Based on other reviews, I requested an upper floor, on the east side. That is what they gave me. Everything was clean and efficient. Breakfast was good. It was a great stay at a great price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
bellinghammgmt, Director of Sales at Bellingham GuestHouse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. =] I am so thrilled that you chose GuestHouse Inn to serve your lodging needs. We look forward to your next arrival. ~Corissa Sprague, AGM/DOS More 

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

I enjoyed a great stay at this motel. The staff was courteous, the rooms were clean and well furnished, and the breakfast was very nice. The lady at the front desk was kind enough to upgrade me to a king-sized room at no additional charge. I will definately be staying here again when in Bellingham.

Was this review helpful? Yes
bellinghammgmt, Director of Sales at Bellingham GuestHouse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. =] We thank you for choosing GuestHouse Inn to serve your lodging needs and we look forward to your next arrival. ~Corissa Sprague, AGM/DOS More 

Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We booked a couple nights here while uploading our son in college at nearby Western Washington University. The place was just perfect. The room was clean and comfortable, the staff were kind and helpful, the free breakfast was actually a full meal and not a few stale muffins and a coffee machine and the location was a perfect base for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bellinghammgmt, Director of Sales at Bellingham GuestHouse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for joining us and giving GuestHouse Inn the pleasure of handling your lodging needs. We look forward to your next arrival! :) More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn Grand Suites
Quality Inn Grand Suites
#15 of 26 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
3.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Bellingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham
2.5 mi away
Fairhaven Village Inn
Fairhaven Village Inn
#5 of 26 in Bellingham
4.5 of 5 stars 345 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn
#11 of 26 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 stars 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay