We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Bellwether

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel packages
Hotel website
1 Bellwether Way, Bellingham, WA 98225
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Bellwether
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Bellwether
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    78
    23
    15
    23
See reviews for
43
144
6
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (275)
  • Mar-May only
    (71)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (82)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (66)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (56)
All months
There are newer reviews for Hotel Bellwether
See the most recent reviews
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

Thank you for not requiring a two night stay! Thanks for being a great experience with a view. The mini bar key didn't work so the staff brought us two big glasses of tonic with lime. The marina walk is long and pretty. Close by are many good hikes. The two we enjoyed with our dog are the Whatcom Falls... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hotelbellwether, Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your last stay! The Hotel Bellwether loves it's four legged friends, and we're glad that you and your pet enjoyed the Bellwether and Bellingham! We hope to see you again soon. Thank you! More 

Bellingham, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

Aug 13, 2010. 6:09pm. I travel a lot, so when I come home and want to have a special birthday dinner with my honey, overlooking the bay, I thought we would try the Bellwether hotel's restaurant. First, it was happy hour so we waited in the bar outside for our table. The bar was busy but we still sat there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotelbellwether, Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review

First, thank you for your comments. It is with our guests feedback that we can continue to grow as a hotel and restaurant. I understand that your last restaurant experience was a negative one, and that is not how we want our guests to feel when they are dining with us. I have forwarded your experience to the appropriate people... More 

Arizona
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

The rooms were beautiful and quite large. We had a room that faced the harbor with a balcony. It was a very nice view. In the morning we drank coffee and read the paper on the balcony and watched all the sailboats head out. Very pleasant stay. The only thing that needs improvement is their continental breakfast. It doesn't have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hotelbellwether, Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review

Thank you for the review! We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay! Your comments about the restaurant have been forwarded to the owners, and I'm pleased to let you know that in the near future, we will be making changes to our continental breakfast! We hope to see you at the Hotel Bellwether again soon! More 

Lake Oswego, Oregon
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

Our recent two night stay at Hotel Bellwether was better than I could have imagined. From start to finish, we were very pleased. Check in was easy, staff were polite and friendly in every interaction we had during our stay. They seemed to be genuine in their conversations with us and made it clear they were there for us if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hotelbellwether, Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review

First, we thank you for your comments! We love dogs here at the hotel and any chance we have to interact with our guests and their pets, we jump on it! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We do pride ourselves on having good customer service and I'm glad that came through during... More 

Seattle
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

We've stayed here twice now. The first time we left our Seattle home with no itinerary and ended up there (had never heard of it just walked in) at 6pm. We were given a great rate, on a suite and loved every minute of our stay. The view was great, we appreciated the boutique hotel vibe and walked to a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotelbellwether, Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We do often run specials for mid week and sometimes weekend stays on our website or if you call into our Reservations department. We look forward to having you and your family back to see us soon. More 

Western WA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

Too often review are written just for hotels where we have a difficult visit. This is NOT one of those. The Bellwether is a very comfortable hotel in a lovely marina setting. It's spotlessly clean indoors and the outdoors is well groomed. The staff was friendly, the rooms were roomy and well insulated, so, quiet. The bed was SO comfortable,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
hotelbellwether, Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments! We are so pleased that your stay with us was great. We strive to make every guests stay with us just that same way! And we look forward to having you back with us soon. More 

seattle, wa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

We went to Hotel Bellwether for one night to celebrate our 5 year wedding anniversary. We drove to Bellingham and just walked up to the counter making a reservation right then. They put us in a room we didn't like (facing the parking lot) so we went back down to the desk and asked to see the one remaining water... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotelbellwether, Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. First, happy anniversary and I'm glad that you ended up spending it with us! Glad to hear that our staff got you a room that you truly enjoyed. We hope that now you know about us, you come back to see us again soon. More 

Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

beautiful hotel, secure parking underneath. Gorgeous views of the harbor. When we first arrived, the air conditioning in our room didn't work, so we were promptly given another room. The restaurant in the hotel is classy and very good. This is an upscale hotel and pricey. I wouldn't think a family with small children would stay there. The rooms are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
hotelbellwether, Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review

Thank You for your review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and that we could take care of the air conditioning issue right away and get you set up in the perfect room! We look forward to accommodating you again soon! More 

Bellingham, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

We Stayed at the Bellwether on July 4th. What a deal, $277 and no hot water. We stayed there after the fire works so we could sit in the jacuzzi and relax. When we called the front desk they said they would look into it. An hour later we still didn't have enough hot water to fill 5" in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hotelbellwether, Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. As much as we wish every stay could be perfect, there are times that the unforeseen issues do arise. My apologies that your stay was less than perfect and I hope in the future you will allow us another opportunity to show you this is not what you should expect from the Hotel Bellwether. If... More 

Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

Large room with spa tub and nice view. Comfortable and quiet. Spa next door is wonderful. Breakfast was included but different than before. Was just continental this time, no hot choices unless you order, pay additional and then you still have to visit buffet for toast or juice. Staff was friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotelbellwether, Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review

Thank You for your comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to accommodating you again soon! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

191 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (132)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (59)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (7)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question