We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Bellwether

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel packages
Hotel website
1 Bellwether Way, Bellingham, WA 98225
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Bellwether
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Bellwether
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    79
    24
    15
    23
See reviews for
45
146
6
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (279)
  • Mar-May only
    (75)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (82)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (66)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (56)
All months
There are newer reviews for Hotel Bellwether
See the most recent reviews
Amarillo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We only stayed one night here Aug. 14th, 2011. It's in an upscale shopping/dining area outside away from downtown. If feels like it's own section of town. We loved this hotel. It was clean, comfortable and upscale. It has an old luxury feel to it. Staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel bar was a great place to unwind. Bartenders... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

The Sunset suite was nice was nice, but there were a couple odd little things wrong: The minibar was empty except for two water bottles despite the website and in-room literature claiming that it was stocked with drinks and snacks. Oh, and the minibar had old, leftover pizza from whomever had stayed here last. That sure was cool. As an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Britton B, Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review

First, thank you for your comments. It is with our guest feedback that we can continue to grow and improve what we offer to our guests. I understand that your recent stay with us was not entirely a positive one, and that is certainly not the experience we want for our guests. We have recently eliminated the mini-bar service in... More 

Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

I really loved this hotel. Very luxurious! Great staff! Beautiful location on the water. Fabulous restaurants close by. Love to go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dupont, Washington
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

The view doesn't make up for the terrible service. My husband, son and I along with my parents traveled to Bellingham for Memorial Day weekend and made reservations for two rooms at Hotel Bellweather. We made reservations for a room with a seperate sleeping area for our son and even called ahead the day of check in to make sure... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Britton B, Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review

First, thank you for your comments. It is with our guest feedback that we can continue to grow and improve what we offer to our guests. I understand that your recent stay with us was a negative one, and that is certainly not the experience we want for our guests. I do regret that the room available for you upon... More 

Washington, USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

This is a delightful hotel. We had a lovely Premier suite, with balcony overlooking Bellingham Bay, very quiet room, a very comfortable bed, and the staff was very accommodating from the moment we walked in until we left. It was a special anniversary and we wanted to go somewhere new to us. The Hotel Bellweather filled our expectations and more.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
canada
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Bellwether for 2 nights in March and were not overly impressed. We have done many getaway's together, and stayed in many different hotels, and for the approx $220/night that we paid per night, it didn't give us the service quality or luxury that we've found at $140/night hotel. Rooms/Restaurant: very clean, but the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Britton B, Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review

First, thank you for your comments. It is with our guest feedback that we can continue to grow and improve what we offer to our guests. I understand that your recent stay with us was a negative one, and that is certainly not the experience we want for our guests. We recently have had some changes within our management team... More 

Richmond
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

The Bellwether is old and tired. The staff are friendly and the hotel is clean but dated. Everything could use updating. The room was $243 per night - way over-priced for the quality and location of the hotel. The lounge and dining room - while having excellent staff - are dingey and dreary.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Britton B, Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review

First, thank you for your comments. It is with our guest feedback that we can continue to grow and improve what we offer to our guests. We recently have had some changes within our management team which has included my promotion as the new Hotel Manager. I am personally inspecting each and every guest room and noting any updates which... More 

Bonsall, California
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
98 hotel reviews
482 helpful votes 482 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

This lovely hotel is located right on the water overlooking a marina. There are several upscale restaurants immediately adjacent to the hotel, but most of the shops in the new buildings in front of it are empty. We arrived a couple hours before check-in and had to wait for our room. That is understandable, but why do hotels always offer... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

Very comfortable and roomy, excellent service and great location on the harbour.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rancho Mirage, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

I am an airline pilot and travel for a living. This hotel is a real gem. It is beautifully located on a marina. The rooms are very large with a fireplace in them and full bath. The lounge area is very comfortable - dark wood, fireplace and a piano playing in the background - a perfect place to hang out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

193 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (134)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (29)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (59)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (7)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question