We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Bellwether

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel packages
Hotel website
1 Bellwether Way, Bellingham, WA 98225
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Preferred Hotels.. to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Bellwether
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Bellwether
Add Photo Write a Review

295 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    148
    82
    27
    15
    23
See reviews for
46
155
7
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (295)
  • Mar-May only
    (77)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (96)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (66)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (56)
All months
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband and I came here for a quick week-end getaway from work and this summer's heat. The hotel lobby was small, but check-in was quick. The room had the usual amenities: king size bed, balcony, fireplace (definitely not needed in ninety degree heat), and a jacuzzi tub and separate shower. The room was looking a bit worn, and there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I've stayed here several times on business and their rates are pretty competitive. Their location is near a nice part of town with plenty to eat. Nice jogging trail. Overall a good place to stay with good service as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eastsound, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

There are few if any Boutique Hotels to chose from North of Seattle, but this is surely one of the best! The location right on the water and the marina with west facing ocean view rooms makes for an experience unrivaled my some of the best we have stayed in in the world! imagine setting sunsets over the San Juan... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bothell
Level Contributor
99 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here mid-week and got a great rate from their website and it beat all the hotel sites (Sorry TA). The room was very nice, clean and nice sheets and towels. The reason it is not 5 stars is its starting to show its age and need a renovation to up the rooms just a bit. Beautiful water view... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sedro-woolley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in the Lighthouse and it was beautiful. The only things i would note are that the shower head is very small for a luxury hotel and that the view of the sun set from the top of the lighthouse is blocked by the actual hotel. The staff were very helpful and accommodating. Everything was just magical!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carlee S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review

Dear Circielynn, The Lighthouse Suite is truly a unique gem, and I am always so happy to see when our guests are able to experience staying in this room. Thank you for your feedback--I will be sharing your comments about the shower head to the appropriate departments. I am looking forward to welcoming you back for another magical stay soon!... More 

Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a great local hotel. Love the rooms, warm and inviting. Too bad I was here on business and didn't spend much time in my room but I did host a meeting onsite and the staff is great. The views are amazing. Their hotel restaurant has fresh local foods. Anything seafood was delicious.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Carlee S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review

Dear Teresa G, Thank you for your kind words! I am happy to see we were able to provide you with a great experience during your meetings and your stay here with us. I hope we are able to welcome you back soon either for business or leisure--hopefully the latter! Warmly, Carlee Sanders Front Office Manager More 

Newtown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overall, the hotel is nice as a place to spend the night. I was not very happy with the location of my room - given it was supposedly an "Executive Room with a water view" -it was on the absolute end of hotel on the first floor (127) - the view was limited and only of the marina. If you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carlee S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review

Dear DvrDawg, Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your most recent stay. I am happy to see you had an overall enjoyable visit. We happily note any requests for high floors, and try our best to accommodate, and I apologize you were not placed on your preferred floor. Our vending machine which offers snacks and sodas was out of... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely hotel, clean and beautiful room, great customer service, and TRAINS coming through all day and night repeatedly blaring their horns. The desk person offered us ear plugs, but we opted to have the windows closed (really disappointing because I prefer fresh air) and run the air conditioner all night. (Fortunately the blanket was warm) Maybe the waterfront side might... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carlee S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review

Dear Clean4Us, Thank you for your kind comments regarding the customer service you received and the quality of your room. I am sorry you were not able to enjoy a cool bay breeze due to train noise. Our goal is for every guest to enjoy a relaxing and luxurious getaway with us, and I apologize you didn't get to experience... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent hotel with professional, helpful and courteous staff, and amazing views. A jetted bath. Dog friendly. Walking distance to many restaurants and shops. A putting green right outside our door. I didn't bring my putter, but the staff lent me a couple.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Carlee S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review

Dear Joseph R, Thank you for sharing your kind words regarding your stay with us. We are dog friendly as you mentioned, and we even have our very own lobby greeter, Biscuit the dog! Our small putting green is a unique addition that helps our guests to enjoy the views of Squalicum Harbor, and also practice their short game! Please... More 

Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for 4 nights and loved it. Our suite was perfect. Plenty of space to stretch out and relax. It overlooked the Puget Sound and the boat basin. We even were able to see a seal each day as he popped in and out of the water. The food in the restaurant was first class. Heartfire Grill next... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carlee S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review

Dear Flgracie, Thank you so much for your review of your stay at the Hotel Bellwether; it was such a delight to see we were able to provide such a relaxing experience. Watching the wildlife from your guestroom balcony or patio is just one of the things that makes our property unique, and I'm glad you were able to spot... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

363 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (139)
Viewed
View from room (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (224)
Viewed
Room/suite (39)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (24)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (123)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay