We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA

Hotel website
Hotel deals
991 Millwood Pike, I-81 at Millwood Pike, exit #313/313-A, Winchester, VA 22602
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    50
    43
    24
    28
See reviews for
48
57
30
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (176)
  • Mar-May only
    (45)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (48)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (43)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (40)
All months
There are newer reviews for Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA
See the most recent reviews
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

I stopped in here for rest during my trip north last week. Hotel is clean, room was ok but the bed was a bit old and not real comfortable. The noise level was louder then I prefer and it seemed that some of the guest might be living there longer term. There was nowhere to plug in a laptop or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Montreal
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Staff at reception were attentive and polite. Room was clean and bathroom was spacious. Like all hotels carpet should be replaced by tiles for easier upkeap. Restaurants are close by as well as easy acces to interstate.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kingston, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel several times on our trip to and from the southern USA. This motel has upgraded their rooms , and have elevated their standards of cleanliness. Our superior room on our last stay, was well equipped and clean. The breakfast was adequate and had several choices, including fresh fruit. Very good value. The new management are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Judy T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA, responded to this review

Thank you for the excellent review of our Red Roof Inn in Winchester VA. Thank you for the nice comments about our management team. We are glad that you enjoyed staying in our superior king room. Our housekeeping staff will be delighted to hear your comments as well. Very high praise which we genuinely appreciate and we will continue to... More 

Hinesville, Ga
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The room was decent. I read that the rooms had been redone recently. However, they either didn't spend money on new beds or kept the old ones. The room was clean and nice, but after a couple of nights on that mattress my back was killing me. The room is nice but small. For one person or a couple it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Judy T, Manager at Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the honest review regarding your stay at our hotel. As you mentioned we are in the process of updating our mattresses. We appreciate the comments on the cleanliness of our rooms. Your review will be shared with the rest of our team. In terms of restaurants, many chain restaurants are located about a mile into... More 

Danby, Vermont
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Great traveler's rest. It is located in a busy area right of I-81 so be prepared. the place is spotless and comfortable and the staff hard working and helpful. I highly recommend this hotel for an overnight or a short visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Judy T, Manager at Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA, responded to this review

There are few things that brighten my mornings more than hearing a review such as yours.Rarely do we have the opportunity to hear this kind of positive feedback from our efforts, and to say that it warms our hearts would be an understatement. We take pride in what we do and feedback like yours fills our heart with joy. We... More 

pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We've been staying at the Red Roof in Winchester for years and have never had a terrible experience, so I'm surprised at the negative reviews. The price is reasonable, and as with most Red Roofs, the rooms are big and clean, wifi is free and works well, and bed is firm and comfortable. This location also has a better breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Judy T, Manager at Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA, responded to this review

Thank you from the bottom of my heart for your continued admiration and loyalty to our facility and team. .As always we will welcome you back as if you had never left, and hope that your time in between your stays are safe and joyful. More 

USA
Top Contributor
358 reviews 358 reviews
46 hotel reviews
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed here 3 times in the past year, and all three times we were awaken at night by noisy customers or noisy staircases. Each time I tried staying at different locations on the property without any success. We continued to stay here because it is pet friendly and it is in a convenient spot for us to stop. But... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Judy T, Manager at Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA, responded to this review

Thanks very much for the feedback about your stay. We are very sorry to hear about the noise problem during each of your stay. We value your opinion and appreciate you giving us the opportunity 3 times last year. Usually, whenever we have any noise issues, we try to take care of it right away to make sure our guests... More 

Jeannette
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The check in was easy and the price was fair. The room was clean and seemed newly painted. Beds were small and hard and the pillows weren't fluffy like most hotels are. But the worst part was running out of hot water in the morning halfway through the shower. The breakfast only had mini muffins, waffles and really small coffee... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Not a bad place when you need a quick place to stay. Room was clean and comfortable and the price was really very inexpensive. Even without a coupon book we only paid $57.00. There was even a continental breakfast in the morning. One of the better roadside motels I've stayed in.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norcross, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed Christmas night after driving 9 hours, beds were full size so, not to roomy. Heater made noise but for 50 bucks we were warm. Breakfast was minimal with cereal, frozen waffles and the tiny muffins.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question