We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel deals
Hotel website
640 East Jubal Early Drive, Winchester, VA 22601-5176
Offers & Announcements
Book now and save 15%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    85
    29
    12
    3
See reviews for
60
102
24
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (246)
  • Mar-May only
    (74)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (62)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (67)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (43)
All months
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The only thing I miss at the Hampton is a hot tub. The beds are always clean & comfortable as well as clean. They are situated close to the high ways & easy to find. And also good dining & shopping located near the hotel.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We always stop at this Hampton Inn on our way down to Florida and we are never disappointed. It is always clean and quiet. Very easy access to I81 off and on ramps. Highly recommend to all. They were in the middle of renovations when we were there 3/12/15 but this did not interfere with our stay. Anxious to stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tanya B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area, responded to this review

Thank you Donald M for the great review you gave the Hampton Inn-Winchester during your recent stay. We are striving to keep the hotel consistent with what our guests have come to love during this renovation I hope that you will come back and visit us after completion. Thanks! More 

Montreal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had spent 16 hours driving from Florida and we're looking forward to a good night's sleep. We presented a coupon obtained from the Virginia Welcome Center. The rather rude and insensitive Hampton employee refused to accept the coupon stating that they had only 4 rooms left...I only wanted one. We were turned away and stayed at the Fairfield Marriott... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tanya B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area, responded to this review

Dear critiMontreal, I appreciate the review of your recent encounter at our hotel. I'm sorry that you received a poor level of service; this is not the Hampton norm as our goal is Satisfaction Guaranteed. I have addressed these issues with our staff. The next time you are in the area we would love to have you come back and... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stay at Hampton Inns often because they are consistent in their service, cleanliness, amenities and friendliness. This Hotel did not disappoint. The front desk supervisor who checked us in on 3/28/15 at 5:30 whose name is Ron Sheftleman couldn't have been more helpful, efficient, friendly and had the most welcoming smile. We were lucky to get a newly appointed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tanya B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area, responded to this review

Thank you Gracie813 for the wonderful review on your recent stay in Winchester VA. I appreciate your giving my Front Desk Manager Ron Sheftleman a shout out for his outstanding customer service. I am pleased that you loved the new Forever Young Rooms by Hilton. We are striving to make our hotel an awesome place to stay. I will share... More 

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is great accommodations for the price. The location is excellent, close to I81 and local restaurants. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The welcome snacks and cookies were a nice touch. The breakfast was excellent and a great way to start the day. Rooms are somewhat small, but not an issue for an overnight stopover.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tanya B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area, responded to this review

Thank you Racebddy24 for your wonderful on line review. I am thrilled that the staff was helpful and friendly and we made your stay enjoyable while visiting Winchester VA. I do hope you come back to see us on your nest trip down from Ottawa, Canada. More 

bath, on
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

the staff was helpful,, the room was clean and the bed was comfortable....good breakfast with some variety...I had trouble connecting to wi fi and the desk clerk was able to help and not make me feel like a ludite

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tanya B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area, responded to this review

Thank you Esther Q for the wonderful trip advisor review. I'm glad to know the staff was helpful with connecting to the internet and you enjoyed the Hot Breakfast Bar. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip through Winchester VA. More 

Winchester, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

Location, price, quality of breakfast and most of all service. These are what set this hotel apart from others. The staff is friendly and go above and beyond. This hotel is under construction, remodeling the rooms but it has not affected what you would expect from a Hampton Inn.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tanya B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area, responded to this review

Thank You Ronald S. for the wonderful on line review regarding your stay in Winchester. I am pleased to learn the staff goes above and beyond the guests expectations. We will share your feedback with the entire team and hope to see you real soon. Warmest Regards, Tanya Bly, General Manager More 

Kingston, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

We used a hotel coupon from one of the books at the Welcome centre and as a result were given one of the poorer rooms! We were barely able to navigate the luggage cart into the room, as it was so narrow. When I sat at the desk, the chair was against the bed! It was your basic Hampton inn,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tanya B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent trip to Winchester. I sincerely apologize about the room size. We are in the process of renovating the entire hotel. Your comments have been shared with the entire team regarding your stay. I sincerely hope you will give us another chance if traveling back... More 

Gray, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

My husband and I always choose to stay in a Hampton Inn. From state to state and country to country, they are always consistent. The beds are great, amenities are plentiful, the free breakfast is convenient. They are almost always situated near restaurants for dinner or lunch as well. I wouldn't stay anywhere else!

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tanya B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area, responded to this review

Dear Kathleen G, Thanks you so much for the wonderful review on your recent stay to Winchester. I am pleased to learn we are consistent with all Hampton Inns. I am also glad to know you wouldn't stay anywhere else. I will share your review with my entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back real soon. More 

Winchester, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

I stayed here for one night. I could not ask for more. Room was clean, staff was friendly. Breakfast was great! I had forgotten some supplies but Hampton Inn staff was glad to give me what I needed. Thank you Hampton Inn staff!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tanya B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area, responded to this review

Dear Jon M. thank you so much for the wonderful review. We always appreciate it. Thank you for letting me know our breakfast and staff were GREAT! We hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to Winchester , VA. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question