We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel deals
Hotel website
640 East Jubal Early Drive, Winchester, VA 22601-5176
Offers & Announcements
Book now and save 15%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    88
    30
    14
    3
See reviews for
65
108
26
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (260)
  • Mar-May only
    (88)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (62)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (67)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (43)
All months
Waynesborp
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Had great hopes when the desk clerk told us we were in a newly remodel room. Well, the bed was comfortable and the room was a good size and smelled clean. But...1) first, the hall in from the hallway is too narrow even for someone 5ft like me. Guess they don't mind that their walls will soon be banged up;... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hollywood, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stopped on the way back to Florida and close to everything food and Walmart the front desk was very helpful and no dogs I have alleges .we are glade breafest is now from 6-10 we like to sleep thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greenwood, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel, staff and room were all excellent. The room was clean and quiet. Staff was friendly. I've never been partial to one hotel chain over another, but this hotel has changed my mind. I will definitely seek out Hamptons from now on. I hope the rest are as good as this one.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hardyville, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at one of the newly remodeled rooms. The room was spacious enough, clean and nicely appointed. The newly redone sliding shower door would not stay closed. Although in a busy area, the hotel was quiet. Breakfast was marginal, serving rubbery scrambled eggs with ham. They went way beyond expectations providing little amenities like bottled water, cookies, and mints... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tanya B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area, responded to this review

Dear Michael C. Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the Hampton Inn University/Mall area in Winchester, Va. I am so pleased that you enjoyed all the amenities we have to offer and the staff was warm and friendly. We think the new rooms are a wonderful upgrade too. We hope to see you again on... More 

Falmouth, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Easy to find Hampton In with great staff. Rooms have been recently renovated. New look for Hampton, but good improvements. I like the at-home feel. Great parking lot compared to some Hampton Inns. Breakfast area was comfortable. I was going to Summit Point Raceway, the this is very convenient.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tanya B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area, responded to this review

Stephen M O thank you for the wonderful review on Trip Advisor. We are so happy that you enjoyed our new Forever Young room. We think it is definitely a great improvement as well. I will share your feedback with the team and corporate and we look forward to your return to the area. Sincerely, Tanya Bly More 

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here one night as we have just visited the area. The hotel is clean, the staff is very friendly. Lot of nice emenities. Free bottled water and chips near the check in desk, USA today, warm cookies at 6, the breakfast was also very good, a great selection of many items. The room was nice & clean. Very pleased... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tanya B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area, responded to this review

Thank You Tom M. for a wonderful trip advisor review. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and letting the future travelers to the area know how enjoyable your stay was at the Hampton Inn University/Mall Area and that you would recommend us. I look forward to your return to the area. Warmest Regards, Tanya Bly More 

Allentown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Close to Shenandoah University. Walking distance to the school. Nice people at the desk. Modern facility. Complimentary breakfast was great, but dining area is a bit cramped. Good price overall. Entrance to parking lot confusing. Front is not clearly marked. Rooms are too small to add an additional cot for a child, but still a good choice for a family.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tanya B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area, responded to this review

Dear Dance Groupie, Please to read that you found the Hampton Inn Winchester, VA an overall great choice. I sincerely appreciate you sharing a review for our future travelers. We look forward to see you again on your travels to the area. Warmest Regards, Tanya Bly More 

Warren, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was very disappointed with this Hampton Inn, it was not what I have come to expect in Hampton. Staff at check in was not friendly at all, the room was very small and had a weird smell. It was a late check in and the hotel was very full so I did not complain as there was nowhere else... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tanya B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area, responded to this review

Dear Tom D, I appreciate the review of your recent stay at our hotel. I'm sorry that you received a poor level of service and encountered an unpleasant smell; I see that the room you were in was not a renovated room and this is not the Hampton norm as our goal is Satisfaction Guaranteed. I have addressed these issues... More 

Royersford, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I travel constantly in my work and I always stay at Hampton Inns whenever possible because I know they'll always be up to a certain standard of cleanliness and have great beds and pillows, which is really what a room is about right? But this particular Hampton Inn in Winchester-University, VA is by far the best overall Hampton I've ever... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tanya B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area, responded to this review

Thank you Jim F. for an outstanding Trip Advisor review. I love that we made your stay an enjoyable one and would recommend us. I have shared your comments with the staff and they were thrilled about the service they gave you. I do hope you stop back by if your travels bring you to the Winchester area. Sincerely, More 

Baldwinsville, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

In process of remodeling rooms to a new design which I would call Industrial Modern. i.e. sliding barn door type on bathroom. Step in shower, no tub. Room has lots of plugs and each double plug set has a usb port, so you don't need a transformer or adapter to charge your devices.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tanya B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area, responded to this review

Thank you Donald C. for the great review on Trip Advisor about our new Forever Young Rooms by Hampton. I am thrilled you liked the rooms and the new adaptors on all the tables. We appreciate your take on the new rooms. I do hope you visit us again while in the Winchester VA area. Sincerely, More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities