We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel deals
Hotel website
640 East Jubal Early Drive, Winchester, VA 22601-5176
Offers & Announcements
Book now and save 15%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    87
    29
    12
    3
See reviews for
61
105
24
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (250)
  • Mar-May only
    (78)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (62)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (67)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (43)
All months
Staunton VA, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I just wish they would get rid of those instant eggs and use real ones. The location (driveway)is a little difficult find if you are not familiar with the area and the address road name had been changed.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tanya B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area, responded to this review

Thanks Timothy L. for the Trip Advisor review. I will relay your response about the eggs to Hampton Corporate. The address has changed due to the City of Winchester closing a road by the college and renaming our road. Instead of nearly perfect this time we hope to make your stay "Perfect" next time. I hope you come back by... More 

Halifax, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Provided everything you expect from a hotel. Clean, quiet and comfortable room. Very friendly and helpful staff. After a long and tiring drive we were made to feel very welcome. We both highly recommend and will stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tanya B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area, responded to this review

Eric H. Thank you for the wonderful review on Trip Advisor. I love that my staff made you feel welcomed after your long trip. We strive to make every guests stay a comfortable one. I hope you stay with us again if ever in the area. Sincerely, More 

Myrtle Beach, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The accommodation was very satisfactory for the family. We enjoyed the stay with the exception of a guest across the hall that was coughing all night without regard to fellow travelers. In the morning I asked a gentleman across the hall from me if he had a medical problem and he said it wasn't him coughing but his neighbor and... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tanya B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area, responded to this review

Thank You Arthur S. for the enjoyable stay Trip Advisor review. I am very sorry for the coughing guest near your room that kept you up. I do hope you come back and stay with us if you come to the Winchester, VA area again. Sincerely, More 

Syracuse, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Was placed in a newly renovated room. Unfortunately, the renovation was not finished. Some of the furniture was missing and there was no microwave. It would have been good to have been warned about this. The manager did not seem to care that this was a problem. Otherwise the renovations were very nice and made for a better room.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tanya B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area, responded to this review

Thank you John D for the Trip Advisor Review. I apologize that you were not informed that the sitting chairs have not came in yet and were not in the rooms. Unfortunately, we are at the mercy of the furniture vendor. As you can tell the rooms will be beautiful upon completion. I hope you stay with us again on... More 

Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The only thing I miss at the Hampton is a hot tub. The beds are always clean & comfortable as well as clean. They are situated close to the high ways & easy to find. And also good dining & shopping located near the hotel.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tanya B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area, responded to this review

Thank you Ian N. for your wonderful Trip Advisor review. As always we are consistent with the Brand in making sure our hotel is clean and comfortable for our guests and lots to do in the surrounding area. I hope you stop back by when traveling to Winchester, VA. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We always stop at this Hampton Inn on our way down to Florida and we are never disappointed. It is always clean and quiet. Very easy access to I81 off and on ramps. Highly recommend to all. They were in the middle of renovations when we were there 3/12/15 but this did not interfere with our stay. Anxious to stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tanya B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area, responded to this review

Thank you Donald M for the great review you gave the Hampton Inn-Winchester during your recent stay. We are striving to keep the hotel consistent with what our guests have come to love during this renovation I hope that you will come back and visit us after completion. Thanks! More 

Montreal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had spent 16 hours driving from Florida and we're looking forward to a good night's sleep. We presented a coupon obtained from the Virginia Welcome Center. The rather rude and insensitive Hampton employee refused to accept the coupon stating that they had only 4 rooms left...I only wanted one. We were turned away and stayed at the Fairfield Marriott... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tanya B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area, responded to this review

Dear critiMontreal, I appreciate the review of your recent encounter at our hotel. I'm sorry that you received a poor level of service; this is not the Hampton norm as our goal is Satisfaction Guaranteed. I have addressed these issues with our staff. The next time you are in the area we would love to have you come back and... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stay at Hampton Inns often because they are consistent in their service, cleanliness, amenities and friendliness. This Hotel did not disappoint. The front desk supervisor who checked us in on 3/28/15 at 5:30 whose name is Ron Sheftleman couldn't have been more helpful, efficient, friendly and had the most welcoming smile. We were lucky to get a newly appointed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tanya B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area, responded to this review

Thank you Gracie813 for the wonderful review on your recent stay in Winchester VA. I appreciate your giving my Front Desk Manager Ron Sheftleman a shout out for his outstanding customer service. I am pleased that you loved the new Forever Young Rooms by Hilton. We are striving to make our hotel an awesome place to stay. I will share... More 

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

This hotel is great accommodations for the price. The location is excellent, close to I81 and local restaurants. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The welcome snacks and cookies were a nice touch. The breakfast was excellent and a great way to start the day. Rooms are somewhat small, but not an issue for an overnight stopover.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tanya B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area, responded to this review

Thank you Racebddy24 for your wonderful on line review. I am thrilled that the staff was helpful and friendly and we made your stay enjoyable while visiting Winchester VA. I do hope you come back to see us on your nest trip down from Ottawa, Canada. More 

bath, on
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

the staff was helpful,, the room was clean and the bed was comfortable....good breakfast with some variety...I had trouble connecting to wi fi and the desk clerk was able to help and not make me feel like a ludite

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tanya B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area, responded to this review

Thank you Esther Q for the wonderful trip advisor review. I'm glad to know the staff was helpful with connecting to the internet and you enjoyed the Hot Breakfast Bar. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip through Winchester VA. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question