We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel packages
136 East Francis Street, Williamsburg, VA 23815
Special Offer
Stay & Enjoy Free Tickets
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

224 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2016

This was our first time staying in one of the old colonial houses and we really enjoyed it. Moody's kitchen was very cute with a queen sized canopy bed, a couple chairs to sit in, wood burning fireplace and a bathroom. If you keep in mind that these are refurbished (and mildly updated) houses from over a hundred years ago... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank WEGL185
LNoble1964, Manager at Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg, responded to this review

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying in the Moody Kitchen. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts on your visit with us. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit. Leslie S. Noble House Manager Williamsburg Inn and Colonial Houses-Historic Lodging More 

Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016

Rooms are very nice in a colonial period way. Enjoyable to have a wood burning fireplace to enjoy. Be warned that most of these units only have full or "double" beds due to the size of the buildings. If this is a concern make sure to ask specifically at booking for a queen sized bed. The website only offers the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank David G
Loganville, Georgia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2015

My wife and I stayed two nights in the Chiswell-Bucktrout Kitchen, a historical house in the historic section of Colonial Williamsburg, a block behind Shields Tavern. This is a standalone structure next to the main house. We parked the car not far from the Kitchen for the duration of our stay and walked everywhere. The room was furnished with Colonial... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ed0379
LNoble1964, Manager at Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your visit to the Chiswell-Bucktrout Kitchen. I am so pleased that you enjoyed it. It is one of my favorites. We hope that we have the chance to welcome you back again some day. Happy New Year. Leslie S. Noble House Manager Williamsburg Inn and Colonial Houses-Historic Lodging More 

Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2015

My seventh great-parents owned the Market Square Tavern in colonial times and when I found out that it was still operated as an inn, I had to spend some time there. The building and rooms are in great condition and my Queen room on the second floor was spacious, clean and comfortable. This was the third place that I stayed... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank bfitworld
LNoble1964, Manager at Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing the story of your visit to Market Square Tavern. What a wonderful history you had with us before you ever arrived. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit. I hope that you have a chance to visit with us again some day. Leslie S. Noble House Manager Williamsburg Inn and Colonial Houses-Historic... More 

Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015

We truly enjoy the colonial houses, and would prefer to stay in one of them with every visit. But they are not for everyone, and are generally fairly expensive, potentially making a disappointing stay really bothersome. If you enjoy it and don't want to leave the atmosphere of the colonial area, it's an experience that is, to us, impossible to... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank PJPaxton
LNoble1964, Manager at Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing so many details of your recent visit with us. It was so nice to be able see the experience through your eyes. I am pleased that you had such a nice experience with us. I hope that you will visit with us again soon. Happy Holidays. Leslie S. Noble House Manager Williamsburg Inn and... More 

Virginia Beach, VA, USA
Level Contributor
230 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2015

We've stayed in one of these before, but stairs weren't such an issue at that time. We were in the Brick House Tavern right on DOG St. We were upstairs so had stairs to climb to the front door as well as to our bedroom (my fault for not checking which floor we were on) and the sitting area downstairs.The... More 

Helpful?
Thank likebeach
LNoble1964, Manager at Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your most recent visit to the Colonial Houses. I apologize that the second floor room was not ideal for you, however I am pleased that you did enjoy your visit with us. We hope to see you again soon. Leslie S. Noble House Manager Williamsburg Inn and Colonial Houses-Historic Lodging More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015

When we told our grandchildren we going to Colonial Williamsburg for Thanksgiving and staying in a laundry, we got some peculiar looks. "Stay in a laundry!?" Well, we loved it. My husband & I had the first floor with a king-sized bed and a lovely sitting room, complete with fireplace. The staff at the Williamsburg Inn was more than happy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
LNoble1964, Manager at Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg, responded to this review

I am so glad that you and your family had a nice Thanksgiving with us. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts on your visit. We hope to have a chance to welcome you back again. Leslie S. Noble House Manager Williamsburg Inn and Colonial Houses-Historic Lodging More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2015

In early October of 2015, my wife & I stayed at Colonial Williamsburg Chiswell-Bucktrout Colonial House #3038 for 3 nights, paying over $280 per night. We were both somewhat displeased with the property for multiple reasons - but the main one was that the mattress was completely worn out with a huge divot in the center, prohibiting sleep. On October... More 

Helpful?
Thank Russ B
LNoble1964, Manager at Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg, responded to this review

I am so sorry to hear that your visit with us was not at all up to our standards. I am sorry that we did not reach out to you sooner to discuss the issues that you experienced. Please feel free to contact me by phone or email, as I would very much like the opportunity to discuss your visit... More 

Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2015

My husband and I have always enjoyed staying in the colonial houses when we visit Williamsburg. Our recent visit was no exception. We spent two delightful, quiet nights in Peter Hay's Kitchen, which is centrally located in the historic district (just off Duke of Gloucester and Queen), facing a private courtyard with our own parking space just a short walk... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank AnotherHappyTraveler
Belle Glade, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2015

We have previously stayed at Williamsburg Inn and Lodge before and thought it would be neat to stay at one of the Colonial Houses. They are charming but old. Not what you would really expect for the money. Our part of the Orrell House Room 3017 seemed to lack basic supplies such as washcloths, kleenex and extra linens. I requested... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank RachelLutz330
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

197 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (181)
Viewed
Room/suite (81)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 78 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 438 reviews
0.2 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg
5.1 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
0.8 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay