We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 78 Williamsburg hotels

The Historic Powhatan Resort

3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3601 Ironbound Road, Williamsburg, VA 23188
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 30%
Save Saved
You added The Historic Powhatan Resort to your Saves list
The Historic Powhatan Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
60%
Ranked #37 of 78 Hotels in Williamsburg
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
VTWINBMX
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    432
    260
    139
    116
See reviews for
682
240
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Nice quiet resort when visiting area. Pools where clean kids loved both indoor and outdoor pool. When you check in they will try and get you to do orientation to sell you a slot in the time share. Just tell them you busy and they will not bother you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
NYC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at this resort for a week in late August. The resort has all you need for a great family vacation. Close to all the attractions. 3 outdoor pools, 1 indoor. Activities for the kids. Friendly staff. All that was great. Now, the accommodations review - our hotel unit was clean, and well kept, however, I CHALLENGE THE MANAGEMENT... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My overall impression of this resort can be summarized in one word, "tired". I am a DR owner and used a "free" trip from a points purchase on this trip. Stayed in building 26, unit 78B. DR recently purchased this property and it has not yet been "diamonized" so, perhaps in a few years things will be different. This was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greenville, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We were impressed with the fast check in and this resort, even though we came in late (arriving past ten p.m.) we were greeted with professionalism and kindness. The accommodations were spacious, having a fully stocked kitchen, living room/dining room combo area and breakfast bar. It looked like they were in the middle of re-doing a room in the back... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Jersey
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited this resort with my teenage daughter on a weeklong journey in Virginia. We spent three nights on this property. Arriving at the property, we were suitably impressed by the friendly gate guard, and lovely grounds. As we got to check in, we were also happy with the speed of the process, but then were referred to a 'concierge' for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Diamond R, Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

We apologize that your recent visit to The Historic Powhatan Resort failed to completely meet and exceed your expectations. While it appears you had a pleasurable time at our resort, and found our team’s hospitality and manicured grounds to be noteworthy, it would seem our accommodations and facility left you with something to be desired. We regret you feel this... More

Stafford, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Looking for posh don't stay. Looking for cozy and peaceful this is lovely. Our family of Four Age 1-13 have stayed here TWICE, Summer 2013 AND 2014 TWO Bedroom Condo ~ It's perfect for that Home away from home feeling. Fully stocked Kitchen, dining room and Living room. Outside view picture perfect, Beautiful nature, and it's kept clean. Close to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This Resort had everything for 15 adults and 2 kids. Outdoor Pool with Movies at nite. A road to walk with DUCKS all around. The Units we stayed in had 2 bedrooms with a living room, dining room & Kitchen. We enjoyed the rooms but also the closeness to Williamsburg and all it's attractions. We feel close but not too... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our family of 4 (kids ages 7 and 9) stayed in a two bedroom condo over labor day weekend. We found the place decent enough and suited our purposes well, but it is important to have the right expectations. The location is convenient for Busch Gardens and Williamsburg; the condos are spacious; the services are proficient and the price is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nottingham, New Hampshire, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We are RCI owners and use timeshares around the country. It's what we expected and liked the proximity to all the places we wanted to see, and eating establishment we wanted to try. We weren't disappointed. They do a great job here. We were basically here to sleep and didn't use any of the amenities. The pool looked busy during... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Diamond R, Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your most recent stay with us here at The Historic Powhatan Resort. We were truly honored and thrilled after reading your review, to see how great of a stay you had. The tips you have provided for our readers who are interested in staying here, as well as, for the Williamsburg area and... More

Xiamen, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Poolside is nice and drinks are good. Timeshare is tired, and they removed the hot tub without any kind of break on maintenance. The drum and fife corps were perfunctory. There is untainted trim on many of the buildings.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Diamond R, Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our relaxing pool area and enticing drinks. This being said, we regret that you did not agree with the majority who chose to remove the hot tubs. We will certainly look into your feedback, and we wish you all the best on your future travels. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Historic Powhatan Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Historic Powhatan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Powhatan Resort

Address: 3601 Ironbound Road, Williamsburg, VA 23188
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Powhatan Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Otel, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Historic Powhatan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Historic Powhatan Hotel Williamsburg
Historic Powhatan Hotel
Sunterra Powhatan Plantation
Powhatan Plantation Williamsburg Va

543 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (539)
Viewed
Room/suite (204)
Viewed
Bathroom (41)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (57)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
View from room (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Other (180)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Williamsburg with
any amenities