We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Historic Powhatan Resort

Hotel website
3601 Ironbound Road, Williamsburg, VA 23188
Special Price
Up to 40% off!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Historic Powhatan Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Historic Powhatan Resort
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    490
    287
    152
    128
See reviews for
750
278
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1352)
  • Mar-May only
    (366)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (495)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (327)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (164)
All months
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We booked at the last minute for my Birthday. We specifically searched for a pet friendly hotel and were surprised when we arrived to find this place is not. I understand the policy and was happy to rebook elsewhere but they would not refund for the TWO nights we had booked. So my wife and I and our 4 year... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pinckney, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The pools looked gorgeous, and the miniature golf course immaculate. Alas, I was in town for graduation and didn't have enough time to play on all the amenities. Staff was incredibly helpful with any questions I had. Lovely 2 bedroom/2 bath unit would have been perfect for a longer stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
berks pa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Last July my family stayed at the Historic Powhatan Resort during a trip to Busch Gardens and Colonial Williamsburg. We absolutely loved the grounds, the manor house is beautiful and helped to immerse us in the history of the area. My husband and the older children enjoyed the ghost tour of the original manor house and now are less skeptical... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Just came back from a 2 night stay in an upstairs 1 bedroom unit. Overall it was a very nice experience. The check in was probably the worst part. The line was long and slow, then unnecessary sales pitch, but not too pushy. The condo was clean and well maintained. I had noticed that microwave was from 1987, but still... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

This is the 2nd time we stayed at Powhatan. The first one was in 2008 when we had jacuzzi. The jacuzzi was the reason we stayed there. For Memorial Day weekend 2015 we stayed at Powhatan with our friends. When we were booking, we noticed there wasn't a jacuzzi anymore. Sad!!! But I can understand when they say maintenance cost... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Groveland, Florida
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
19 hotel reviews
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Having been an owner of a 3BR Townhouse unit at Powhatan Resort for over 12 years, I rarely stayed at this place unless I had friends or family in town. Prior to my moving out of the area, I decided to reserve a 3BR Townhouse unit for my wife and I to compare with other timeshare units we have visited.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Diamond R, Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay at The Historic Powhatan Resort. We apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced due to the bed. We use standard mattresses throughout the resort. The maintenance management team has been informed of your experience and will check all mattresses on property for proper functionality. Thank you for bringing this issue... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

This would have been 5 stars but we were put in area where they were building new condos. Construction started around 7:30 am til 10:30 pm. This was not conducive for a relaxing vacation. The sofa was very uncomfortable. Had a room for hot tub but it wasn't there. The grounds are very pretty. Mini golf, 3 pools, dvd rentals... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

we checked in and were upgraded to a 2 bd rm (supposed to be a 1 bdrm) they told us it was due to them having no 1 bdrms available. Staff was very nice. Said my pack n play that I requested was already there and it wasnt. I called and they brought it immediately. My only complaint is that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stafford, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice place, good value. Clean , roomy and a fun ghost tour. Here is the problem. I stayed there two nights in March. I left a $100 bill as a deposit as I did not have a credit card with me. I have called over 10 times, spoke to the office manager and no one seems to understand where my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Diamond R, Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

We are truly and sincerely sorry that you are having issues with getting your deposit back. We are very confident that our team will get to the bottom of this deposit situation and resolve the matter for all parties involved. More 

Forks,pa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were pleased with our unit, it was clean and nicely decorated. There was some wear but nothing that would say we wouldn't come back again. We had a small issue with someone taking our parking place and security handled rather quickly. The only draw back was the WiFi it was slow and kicked us out frequently. Something maybe the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

857 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (587)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (76)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (219)
Viewed
Bathroom (47)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
View from room (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Other (187)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (261)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Children's Pool (2)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (1)
Viewed
Pool (4)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (11)
Viewed
The Hotel (65)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Condo (148)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay