We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 80 Williamsburg hotels

The Historic Powhatan Resort

3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3601 Ironbound Road, Williamsburg, VA 23188
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 30%
Save Saved
You added The Historic Powhatan Resort to your Saves list
The Historic Powhatan Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
59%
Ranked #43 of 80 hotels in Williamsburg
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Petermac-red Buckhorn, Canada
Write a Review

1,078 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    231
    375
    232
    129
    111
See reviews for
598
220
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Buckhorn, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We've stayed at Powhatan several times in the past, the most recent before now with friends where we were in an older shabby unit, which left a bad taste. As owners we expected better. This time we had a very nice updated unit. Everything was done at a very high standard. There was only one wobble. when we came down... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We checked in to the Powhatan Resort only to find a very outdated room. Old Formica tiles in the entranced gouged with deep scratches. Same tile in the bathroom permanently stained yellow around the toilet and back wall. Holes in the fabric of the armchair. Blinds have broken slats and one fell off when my daughter tried to pull it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
diamondresorts, Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

We sincerely regret to hear of the unsatisfactory room quality you experienced. Rest assured the concerns you mentioned, while uncharacteristic of our resort, are completely unacceptable. Your feedback has been brought to our maintenance manager’s attention for review and coaching purposes. Going forward, we strongly advise you notify a team member of any issues that may arise during your stay,... More

The Villages, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I reserved a stay at this resort after reading the reviews. I understood that there would be a presentation. We visit Williamsburg to visit family so we are regular visitors to town. This time, we decided to try the Powhatan. It is a beautiful resort. Upon check-in, we were told to visit the concierge counter. We were signed up for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Wahington, DC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The fire place in no way in gas upon your initial view anyone can see that, there couldn't possibly be an elevator the place is a normal townhome, the beds are wonderful and not worn out we pulled the sheets back ad checked, the hot water will run out as would any home when there are several uses just wait... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
diamondresorts, Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay here at The Historic Powhatan Resort. It means a great deal to us, to read this review and see all the kind words you had for our team members, as well as, that our accommodations met you and your family’s expectations and needs. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated. We look... More

Apex, North Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I think I lived in a nicer apartment when I was a starving college student living with roommates in subsidized student housing. At check in everything looks nice, the check in process was smooth if very slow. But that's when the troubles start. Once you're finished with check in, you're immediately escorted to the "welcome desk" for your welcome gift...which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
diamondresorts, Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

We truly regret to read of your dissatisfaction with your recent experience at our resort. Our resort strives to provide a highly enjoyable getaway and it is always upsetting to know when we did not achieve our goal. Our management consistently evaluates guest feedback to ensure we are providing the best possible stays, and we appreciate your honest comments. We... More

Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I recently stayed at Powhatan Resort and they just finished remodeling buildings 76, 77, and 78. I noticed new furniture, appliances, hardwood, carpet, paint, landscaping and so much more!. I have been staying at Powhatan Resort in different buildings over the past 20 years. The remodel was greatly needed. It looks fantastic! Now, when you couple that with great service... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
diamondresorts, Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing you and your family’s thoughts about your most stay here at The Historic Powhatan Resort. Your continued business with us is greatly appreciated, and we were very excited to hear that you were able to experience one of the refurbished accommodations. Thank you so much for providing your feedback about our management and front desk teams.... More

Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have a four bedroom...which consists of 2 - 2br units...up and downstairs with a common entry. Both have granite counter tops and cuisinart coffee pots...white appliances. They were both reasonably clean. Cons: Both had some small maintenence issues that I made known to the front desk just so we wouldnt be charged...they were not problematic: drawer front in bathroom... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Charlottesville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at this property over the weekend. The arrival process was very smooth and professional. Upon arriving to the room the accommodations was very clean. The two bedroom accommodations are very spacious. The beds are horrible and hard. We were told the fireplace was gas burning. We called for assistance with the fireplace three times....they send two maintenance guys... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
diamondresorts, Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with us on tripadvisor. We’re thankful that you appreciated our accommodations and service and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next Williamsburg vacation. We are extremely concerned to note your dissatisfaction our premium Serta® pillow top mattress sets. Our mattresses were designed specifically with our guests comfort... More

Amherst, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have sold time share in the past, so I am familiar with this resort. I've known people that have stayed here and it always seemed pretty generic. Checking in was uncomfortable, after we got through the security gate. The building was loud and I couldn't understand what the grumpy giant earring guy was saying to me. I think they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Northern Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked a visit at this resort last fall and a few days prior to our stay we were hit with a major snow and ice storm. Due to last minute notice of our cancellation, we were unable to get a refund which was fine but we did ask for a credit so we could visit another time. We contacted... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
diamondresorts, Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

We apologize that you haven't heard from anyone regarding your concerns. The experience you describe is not at all an accurate reflection of our top priority, which is to provide unsurpassable customer service. Typically, non-refundable reservations would not get a credit to return because of it being non-refundable. However, our guests have an option of booking refundable reservations that if... More

Been to The Historic Powhatan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Powhatan Resort

Also Known As:
The Historic Powhatan Hotel Williamsburg
Powhatan Plantation
The Historic Powhatan Hotel
Historic Powhatan Hotel
Sunterra Powhatan Plantation
Powhatan Plantation Williamsburg Va
Address: 3601 Ironbound Road, Williamsburg, VA 23188
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Powhatan Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Little Piece of American HistoryVirginia is one of the best places to visit if you are a history buff and want to learn more about the birth of a nation and see relics from days gone by. Williamsburg is a 170-acre historic town that has been restored to its original English condition. The Historic Powhatan Resort offers guests a little piece of colonial history with the restored Manor House (circa 1735). Nestled among 256 acres of beautiful woodland, this resort is loaded with fun things to see and do, and learn a little bit of American history. Rest, Relaxation, and a Whole Lot MoreIf you are looking for a resort that has all kinds of things to do, then you need look no further than The Historic Powhatan Resort. Here you can enjoy both indoor and outdoor swimming pools, tennis courts, an outdoor pavilion, and even a playground for the kids. Each three-bedroom suite has a fully equipped kitchen with a two-burner stovetop, a private balcony and a loft for the ultimate in relaxing vacations.If you are looking for a great meal, you can find it at The Historic Powhatan Bar & Grille, where you will find a casual family dining atmosphere for both breakfast and dinner. Open seven days a week, The Historic Powhatan Bar &Grille has an outdoor patio where you can enjoy a nice, cold drink while watching the peaceful pond (weather permitting, of course). During the breakfast buffet, enjoy being entertained by the resort's very own "first lady", Martha Washington, who will regale guests of all ages with amusing and entertaining stories.Whether you are looking for rest and relaxation, or fun and excitement, you can have it all at The Historic Powhatan Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, getaroom.com, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Historic Powhatan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Historic Powhatan Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.