We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Historic Powhatan Resort

3.0 of 5 3601 Ironbound Road, Williamsburg, VA 23188
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Price
Save up to 30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Historic Powhatan Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Historic Powhatan Resort
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    467
    274
    148
    124
See reviews for
718
259
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1287)
  • Mar-May only
    (303)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (495)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (327)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (162)
All months
Montclair, VA
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

From reading all the reviews, it looks like room/unit quality varies quite a bit. In our case, it was very nice. We visited Williamsburg with our extended family and stayed in a three-story, three bedroom, two bathroom townhouse unit with an extra sleeper sofa in a loft that overlooked the living area. It also had a deck as well an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed one night at the Historic Powhatan Resort. They were accommodating letting us check in early. However, one lamp shade was off the lamp with no working bulb. One room had a bulb out in one of two of its lamps. The master bath vent fan cover was off and laying on the back of the toilet. The room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Diamond R, Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at The Historic Powhatan Resort. We are glad to hear that we were able to accommodate an early check-in for you and that you found our staff friendly, however we are disheartened to hear about your experiences. We do have a maintenance staff on call 24 hours a day and encourage... More 

Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The staff here, from maintenance to house keeping to waitstaff are excellent, very kind. The room is comfortable and clean and lots of fun for kids because its a condo. However, it's not upscale if that's what you are expecting. The primary issues, however are these: (1) This is essentially a time-share selling outfit. I received a call at home... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My family traveled here for a quick getaway and were not disappointed. The resort was as I expected and I even arrived to find out that I had been upgraded for free. Every call I made to the front desk and concierge was answered adequately and professional. I was so appreciative of the fact that the technology team assisted us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in a two bedroom unit which they said was recently remodeled. Furniture was mismatched and well worn. Carpet was worn out. Kitchen is a one person kitchen,very small. Master bathroom had an old not working jacuzzi tub with a shower. You had to step up about 29 inches to get in to use the shower and there was mold... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Diamond R, General Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

It is with deep regret to read that your stay here at The Historic Powhatan Resort did not meet your expectations. We always strive to deliver exceptional hospitality and offer quality accommodations to each guest that stays with us, and it is very concerning to us that we did not meet these expectations. Your concerns will definitely be addressed by... More 

St. John's, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A nice Diamond International resort. The area is very quiet(making it very easy to hear the crickets/cicadas!) We loved the screened in balcony that allowed us to enjoy the warm nights. We had the 2 bedroom suite which provided lots of living space for 4 people. The resort has its own restaurant and pool area, which is nice since if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Greensboro,
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our accommodations were not what was on our reservation confirmation. . The bed in what they call the master bedroom was only a full size bed, not a queen as on our confirmation. There was no TV in what was obviously the master bedroom as our confirmation stated. The bathrooms are not up to most timeshare standards. We called and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Diamond R, Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay at The Historic Powhatan Resort. We are sorry to hear that the confirmation you received from whichever 3rd party website you booked through did not have accurate information as to the room type they actually reserved for you and are disheartened to hear that our front desk was not able to... More 

Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked this resort on groupon to travel to Williamsburg from Baltimore to enjoy Christmastown at Busch Gardens. Myself, my husband, our daughter and my aunt traveled December 20-22nd. We booked a 2 bedroom and my sister in law who also booked called ahead to make sure our units were close to eachother. We arrived and check in was quick.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed here several times, however, our last experience was not good. There is major sidewalk renovations needed. We booked a 3 bedroom unit, unfortunately, the third bedroom was in the dormers with no windows. Not very safety conscience. No pressure on sales talk. Food at the on-site restaurant was delicious. The ghost tour on Saturday is not to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Columbia, MD
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A lot of space for the price (two bedrooms/baths on two floors and efficiency kitchen with washer/dryer for under $100 per night). We went in late fall for one night only, but they have a ton of great amenities for families if you want to stay for longer. We did get to go to the indoor pool for a it.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Historic Powhatan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Powhatan Resort

Address: 3601 Ironbound Road, Williamsburg, VA 23188
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Powhatan Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 845
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Groupon, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Historic Powhatan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Historic Powhatan Hotel Williamsburg
Historic Powhatan Hotel
Sunterra Powhatan Plantation
Powhatan Plantation Williamsburg Va
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg

842 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (572)
Viewed
Bathroom (47)
Viewed
Room/suite (218)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (69)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
View from room (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Other (180)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (261)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Children's Pool (2)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (1)
Viewed
Pool (4)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (11)
Viewed
The Hotel (65)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Condo (148)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay