We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Historic Powhatan Resort

3.0 of 5 3601 Ironbound Road, Williamsburg, VA 23188
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Price
Save up to 30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Historic Powhatan Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Historic Powhatan Resort
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    458
    273
    144
    121
See reviews for
707
258
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1269)
  • Mar-May only
    (303)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (495)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (328)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (143)
All months
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This used to be one of my favorite places to stay in Williamsburg. Now, the Deluxe rooms have the stainless steel appliances, upgraded units and the Jacuzzi. Up until 2 years ago, all the ground-floor units had them. However, the vacation owners voted that only the deluxe units would have the Jacuzzis--and those rooms are only open to the owners.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chesapeake Bay, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We go to Williamsburg 3 or 4 times a year & this is the worst place we have ever stayed. Got it on Groupon & now will always be wary that all that advertise rooms on Groupon are inferior as well. Very small & worn out. Not clean either. Outside doesn't look bad but inside was very disappointing. The silverware... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Whenever we visit Williamsburg Powhatan is our go-to for a hotel. The property is beautiful and relaxing. Some of the older units still need to be redone, but this time we stayed in a unit to the right of the mansion. It was updated, comfy, and had everything we needed. It was extremely relaxing to come back from a cold,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Orleans, Louisiana, Usa
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Had never been to Williamsburg Virginia before and could not wait to get there. Decided to stay at this location and to be honest it was decent. I thought that some of the amenities could've been upgraded. And I also felt that some of the rooms in our hotel room were outdated. We decided not to stay the entire length... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wescosville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
333 reviews 333 reviews
37 hotel reviews
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The accommodations fit our needs perfectly. We rented a two bedroom suite with a kitchen, LR and DR. The shortcomings were that the place needed updating to take it out of the 70s and that the unit only contained 6 sets of silverware and dishes. The rooms were spacious and comfortable and clean. We were there in December and didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
High Point, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Has not been "diamonized" yet.....fit our needs well.....had the B unit.....very nice for two or three adults traveling together, or, parents with two children who can share a room upstairs in loft.....my sheets were very nice.....kitchen supplied well for a short visit or simple cooking.....the diamond timeshare was pushing hard the sale......

Was this review helpful? Yes
Diamond R, Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

We are always striving to better our resort. Thank you for your feedback. We will make sure to also pass your review to our sales management team. More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a two bedroom suite, with full kitchen, living room dining room, and laundry,2 baths, New HD television, felt like you were there. Indoor pool awesome. Activities for kids that we did were good but didn't do many as it was a house hunting week. Definitely will go back. Centrally located, easy to get around.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My mother and I stayed here the first weekend in December. We arrived after dinner to check in around 11:20, and waited in line for over 35 minutes to check in. There was one person working at the registration desk, a line of about 8 parties and 2 people working the concierge desk, who conveniently, could not assist this poor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The place was roomy, cheap, and conveniently located. Outdated interior and sheets that smell like they've been on the bed for awhile. The major downside was, as others have noted, the fact that they will harass you to buy a timeshare at the beginning of your stay, and during your stay. Even though I took the trip in the summer,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Diamond R, Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

We sincerely regret to read of your dissatisfaction. As our company does not share guests’ information outside of the company, we would be happy to look into your concerns. Please feel free to contact our corporate offices to be added to the Do Not Call List. That being said, we sincerely wish you all the best on your future travels. More 

Union Beach
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Plenty to do on site with 2 pools, tennis, indoor pool and crafts for kids. Bar by pool with food from resorts own restaurant. Close to colonial Williamsburg, one hour from beach and 30 minutes from Busch Gardens

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Historic Powhatan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Powhatan Resort

Address: 3601 Ironbound Road, Williamsburg, VA 23188
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Powhatan Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 845
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Historic Powhatan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Historic Powhatan Hotel Williamsburg
Historic Powhatan Hotel
Sunterra Powhatan Plantation
Powhatan Plantation Williamsburg Va
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg

836 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (567)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (69)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (217)
Viewed
Bathroom (45)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
View from room (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Other (178)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (261)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Children's Pool (2)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (1)
Viewed
Pool (4)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (11)
Viewed
The Hotel (65)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Condo (148)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay