We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Roof Inn Williamsburg

824 Capitol Landing Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Royal Inn Williamsburg - Busch Gardens)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Williamsburg
Professional photosView all
Browse nearby
Red Roof Inn Williamsburg
Add Photo Write a Review

110 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    26
    30
    19
    11
    24
See reviews for
43
29
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (110)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (55)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was very hesitant about staying here after reading reviews on various websites. The room directly above ours was vacant so I'm unable to speak on the noise level from upstairs neighbors due to wood floors. Here is my fair and honest review. I didn't have high expectations when I arrived so I wasn't disappointed or let down. It was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I booked this hotel for a reasonably priced place to stay that also offered breakfast, wifi, refrigerator and microwave. The room was clean, but offered no toiletries and only two small towels. The clock did not work and there was nasty old coffee spewing out of the coffee machine. We overlooked that because it was clean, in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Otto
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location to go to the visitors center. Restaurant across the street was a delight to visit. The staff at the motel and the restaurant were very friendly and helpful. Will stay there again if in the area.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for 2 nights at the Red Roof. When we arrived, we noticed stains on the bed sheets and had to have them changed. The next morning, we and another family were asked to leave the (tiny) dining room at 9:33am despite still eating and not having finished our breakfast! We were told other guests might think the breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Springfield, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

My husband and I decided to go on a trip for memorial weekend in Williamsburg since it's not too far from our home. We've stayed in red roof inns in different cities and not had any problems with them. But this location just blew my mind (in a very negative way!) The bathroom in the room that we stayed in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

We stayed here while visiting Colonial Williamsburg and couldn't have been happier. The rooms were clean and modern, washer and dryer on site, 24 hr assistant at the front desk, and a nice outdoor pool. Close to everything in town including Busch gardens, Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown settlement, and William and Mary college. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Victor P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment and we are very fortunate to have some employees that care about our guests as they do. I am glad you enjoyed your vacation in Williamsburg,this is a great area to visit. At Red Roof Inn we always want our guests to enjoy a clean, comfortable room, friendly, helpful service at...best price. Thanks More 

taiwan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015

We came here based on good recent reviews here and weren't disappointed. No complaints about rooms. Very clean including bathrooms. We stayed 4 nights. Great value. I'd come back if visiting area again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Victor P, Front Office Manager at Red Roof Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review

Thanks for taking time out of your day to provide us with some feedback. I will be sure to pass along the nice comments to the staff. They work hard to make sure you are as happy as possible throughout your visit. We look forward to seeing you again. Thanks More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

We stayed here for 3 nights. After we got to our room I noticed we had 2 towels for a family of four. So I went to the front desk to get more towels. I got two more towels and I asked for 2 extra blankets. I was told they don't have extra blankets because if they did housekeeping would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

For the price and location not a bad 3 night stay. Visited Busch gardens and water park so basically just slept there. However our air condition did not work at first-- so maintenance had to change the filter. Then our cards to unlock the door stopped working both nights and we had to get new ones. The shower curtain was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Victor P, Manager at Red Roof Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Our housekeeping staff works hard on our hotel cleanliness and will be happy to hear your positive comments. Please let us know when you are in town again, we would love to have you stay with us Thanks More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015

This was a fine place to stay for simply spending the night. However, the amenities were lacking. The phone did not work. When I reported it, the manager asked if I wanted it fixed. It's the hotel's phone, right? The clock was stuck on L7:17 for time, which made me laugh as I wanted to sleep until L8:30. The biggest... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area
1.0 mi away
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#50 of 79 in Williamsburg
3.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay