We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fort Magruder Hotel

6945 Pocahontas Trail, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Williamsburg)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fort Magruder Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Fort Magruder Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    14
    35
    23
    21
    23
See reviews for
40
33
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (116)
  • Mar-May only
    (51)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Got this room on Priceline. We (family of 5) spent one night here en route to another vacation destination. For what we used it for (a place to sleep), it was adequate- but with some oddities. - Room had no drinking cups in it when we arrived. Odd given that there was both a coffee pot and an ice bucket... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We "won" this hotel through Priceline's name-your-own-price bid (where you can't see the hotel name, just star value, before you bid). It was the week before a 2 day, 2 night stay over Memorial Day Weekend 2105, so we were happy to get something for under $200 for Saturday and Sunday night, near Busch Gardens (our destination). 2-days before we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
brad_anderholm, General Manager at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with all your feedbacks in regards to your recent stay with us in Williamsburg. We sincerely apologize for the few things that weren't perfect you have experienced during your stay with us. We like to assure you this is not the norm and we will be sure... More 

Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Rooms need to be updated - bed very uncomfortable, very noisy could not sleep. soda machines did not work. room just not very fresh smelling. did not have room that was booked on line when we arrived.

Was this review helpful? Yes
brad_anderholm, General Manager at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, All of us from Fort Magruder Hotel and Conference Center is thankful to you for selecting us as part of your stay in Williamsburg, VA. We noted on your disappointment with the room and we sincerely apologize for all the inconvenience caused to you. We have looked into these comments mentioned by you seriously and we are pleased... More 

Travelers are raving about these Williamsburg hotels

Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Hotel very full so no need to get there early. Room clean and has everything. Complimentary breakfast ( depending on what rate you pick) is awesome. I have to mention the waitress Renata who is a most upbeat, caring person.

Was this review helpful? Yes
brad_anderholm, General Manager at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bailey, We thank you for staying with us recently in May and taking the time to write us a review on TripAdvisor. Your review is indeed very encouraging! Our staff especially Renata will be very excited to receive your compliments and will feel highly motivated too. Thank you for your kind acknowledgement. We are very glad to hear that... More 

Virginia
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

First room we were given, the refrigerator door was broken and as we looked a little bit closer to the floor, found out someone must had gotten sick and the remains of it were still there dried up. The staff was nice enough and gave us a different, cleaner room. The complementary buffet breakfast had few choices including COLD powdered... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
brad_anderholm, General Manager at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for writing to us and we are glad to know that our staff has managed to offer you a cleaner room during your stay. We apologize for inconvenience caused to you. As for the buffet breakfast, please be assured that all preparations are done on the day itself. However, your feedback is valuable to us and... More 

Richmond
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This was my third visit to hotel over a number of years. It is a very nice property with a number of desirable features. However, it could currently benefit from improved management and attention to detail. Upon checking in, I asked if the hot tub was working as it was only warm upon my last visit. They told me it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
brad_anderholm, General Manager at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for staying with us again and we really appreciate your continuous support towards Fort Magruder Hotel and Conference Center. Your feedbacks are valuable to us and our Maintenance Manager is currently looking into all the issues seriously. The hotel will be undergoing renovation end of this year and we wish to see you back... More 

United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here and walked into my room to find a few things: ABSOLUTELY DIRTY ROOM, very old decor, and extremely cheap a/c unit tacked into the corner. I also found moldy chalking around the tub. On top of all this, the hotel is obviously haunted! heard knocking on my door, looked through the peephole, to find nothing!! Service was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
brad_anderholm, General Manager at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all, we would like to thank you for your review on our property. I sincerely apologize for the issues that you had during your stay, but you have provided us with very important feedback to tackle these issues. I have personally contacted the departments involved and we are actively taking necessary steps to alleviate all the... More 

Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First, let me say that the staff were universally attentive and lovely people. I really appreciate that. The hotel, however, was less than impressive. It looked like it had not been redecorated since the 70s. The bathrooms were incredibly small, the carpet was ugly and frayed, and the room was not exactly clean. There were stains that appeared to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
brad_anderholm, General Manager at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Maggie, Thank you very much for choosing Fort Magruder Hotel and Conference Center and taking your precious time to write to us. We really love to hear from you that our staff goes above and beyond! They will definitely be so motivated and grateful to hear your lovely comments. It is our pleasure to inform you that we have... More 

Haddon Heights, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Liked the hotel and its amenities... The pool and fitness center were great. The staff was clueless about the area... Couldn't recommend authentic local restaurants beyond chain places. Getting on wifi here was like jumping through hoops. Had to call their IT help line because the front desk person didn't want to be bothered. Having said that, the rooms were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
brad_anderholm, General Manager at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Steve, First of all, thank you for choosing Fort Magruder Hotel and Conference Center as your hotel of choice during your recent trip to Williamsburg. Your reviews are greatly appreciated by all of us. We are pleased to hear that we have met your needs and exceeded all expectations with all the amenities from our room to our pool... More 

Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Where do I even start? First off, we checked in after 10pm. I booked a king sized bed. Well, the room had never been made (comforter was thrown off the bed, trashcan kicked over), the guy on duty said "they hadn't gotten to it yet". Hello, it's after 10 o'clock at night!!!! So they comp us with the hospitality suite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
brad_anderholm, General Manager at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for choosing us during your recent visit to Williamsburg. However, we are sincerely disappointed to find out that you were not given the King Size room you have booked earlier. We took all our guest comments seriously and glad that our Front Desk managed to do the least to upgrade you and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

61 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay