We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 80 Williamsburg hotels

Fort Magruder Hotel

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6945 Pocahontas Trail, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Williamsburg)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Fort Magruder Hotel to your Saves list
Fort Magruder Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
47%
Ranked #58 of 80 hotels in Williamsburg
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Kim B Rochester, New York
Write a Review

438 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    126
    88
    83
    70
See reviews for
174
92
8
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This was not a planned in advance stay. We were on a road trip and found the lead from hotels.com. Hotels.com had double rooms listed for $89. Check this website before asking front desk for price- Hotels.com was cheaper than the walk on rate the hotel gave us but they did adjust it when asked. That said- on this night... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lynchburg, Virginia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Lobby is nice, room was bigger than I thought it would be. Bed was comfortable. The letdown came as my wife and I were attempting to sleep in(night without the kids) on a lazy Sunday morning and here comes the bang, bang on the door from housekeeping at 9AM. I guess they were checking to see if we had left... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice comments about our sleeping rooms. We just completed a $1.5 million dollar refreshing of all our guestrooms! I apologize with the noise outside your guestroom and this matter will be discussed with our housekeeping staff. We do hope that you will give us another opportunity to come be our guest and enjoy a restful weekend. More

Springfield, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I read the reviews and still decided to go here. Huge mistake! The front desk staff needs customer service training. This hotel needs new management. We waited for the manager who never showed up. We were told the GM absolutely cannot be reached. This is after the family we were traveling with was told that their family of four were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. We have emailed you and asked you to contact our general manager. We are interested with your concerns in the hotel and with Priceline. We value you as a guest. More

suneflgirl
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My family found the staff and hotel to be a pleasant surprise. The location was perfect for everything we wanted to do in town. Everyone was friendly and very helpful. Every time we had a question or needed anything - there was always someone there to help us or guide us in the right direction. There seems to be an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful comments on our hotel. Our staff strives to make sure all our guests receive great service. We look forward to having you back soon! More

Virginia Beach
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We attended a marriage retreat here. I was skeptical about going to this location because of the reviews I read beforehand. Well let me just say that my skepticism was unwarranted. The front desk staff is helpful and friendly. We stayed in one of the renovated rooms and it was great. Very clean and comfortable. We didn't have a single... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the wonderful comments on your recent stay! We are fortunate to have helpful and friendly staff that strive to make our guests comfortable. We hope that you will come back and visit when you have more time to visit Williamsburg and enjoy our amenities! More

Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently returned from a stay at the Fort Magruder hotel. I would say without a doubt that I would not return and the front desk staff was among the rudest I’ve ever encountered at a hotel. We arrived late night (Wednesday, April 2nd) from a tour to find our room had no towels. Oversights happen, so no big deal…just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments on your stay with us here in Williamsburg. We apologize for the issues you experienced with your student travelers. More

Dover, Delaware
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We walked inside the dated 60's interior and were not enlightened by the front desk staff's absolutely despicable behavior. We stood waiting for at least 10 minutes while she talked on the phone, and when we we finally did get to talk to her we were greeted by a very welcoming, and I quote "What do you want?". I could... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments on your stay and apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. I hope that you will give us another opportunity to show you our wonderful hospitality. More

Mifflintown
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Every half hour or so a train comes rumbling through and they aren't quiet. I had requested a room toward the back of the hotel (a month ago) but when I checked in they said they would not honor my request. The place seems a bit dirtier and more shabby than what I remember from before.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. Williamsburg was voted recently as one of the 10 best small towns in America and unfortunately, we have a train that runs through the entire town, as most small towns do. We are in the process of completing a $1.5 million dollar refreshing of all our of guestrooms so... More

Gloucester, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I expected so much more than I received due to the reviews on trip advisor. They are normally more accurate. The first room I received had an awful smell to it almost like a musty odor mixed with fresh paint odor. Our second room did not smell as bad, however it only had thick curtains that made the room very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate the opportunity to host your stay with us in Williamsburg recently. We are in the process of completing a $1.5 million dollar refreshing of all of our guestrooms and we are so pleased on the outcome with many positive responses from our recent guests. Please give us another chance to host your stay. More

Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Stayed in one of the new renovated rooms stayed here a few months ago rooms where kinda old out dated.I Stay at a hotel alot with my wife they said I am the first person in the rooms since the renovations. 2-6-14 When I walked into the hotel we did see a bunch of housekeepers on the floor not realizing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful comment on our "refreshing" with our guestrooms. We are very excited about the changes and hope that many guests will enjoy our hard work! Please return to stay with us soon and continue to enjoy our amenities. More

Been to Fort Magruder Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Magruder Hotel

Also Known As:
Williamsburg Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Williamsburg
Address: 6945 Pocahontas Trail, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Williamsburg)
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 80 hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Magruder Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Fort Magruder Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Magruder Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.