We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 78 Williamsburg hotels

Quality Inn Historic Area

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Click for phone number
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Quality Inn Historic Area
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Quality Inn Historic Area to your Saves list
62%
Ranked #51 of 78 Hotels in Williamsburg
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
GloGlo44 Augusta, Georgia
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    110
    71
    26
    17
See reviews for
108
74
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (261)
  • Mar-May only
    (51)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (138)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (55)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Let me start my review by stating that we are repeat customers and have stayed in this exact Quality inn 5 times since my last review of this property in 2009. My family and I visit Williamsburg every fall for shopping and a visit to Busch Gardens for Howl-o-scream....a yearly tradition if you will. We stay at this property every... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_VA392, General Manager at Quality Inn Historic Area, responded to this review

Good Morning, I have recieved and read over your review. I want to deeply apologize for any inconvienence during your recent stay here. I understand that you feel that the hotel has went down hill dramatically. We made improvements in all the rooms last year and are doing more this year to make the property more updated. I want to... More

Augusta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were extremely pleased with the value of this hotel. It was clean and quiet. Yes, it was not as posh as a Hilton, but we paid $45, not $119. The breakfast area was a large cafeteria with a large continental breakfast and waffle maker, unlike some hotels where they squish everyone into a corner of the lobby. The staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_VA392, General Manager at Quality Inn Historic Area, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I first want to thank you for taking the time and providing feedback on your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you did enjoy your stay and felt that it was a good value for you. I am glad that we provided you with a clean, quiet room. I am also pleased that the staff was... More

honolulu
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We decided to stay here this year during a trip to Busch Gardens over Spring Break. Our room was basic but clean except for the grout around the toilet base. There was no refrigerator or microwave to speak of, small bathroom and small pillows. There aren't many amenities but you do get a complimentary breakfast. The selection is pretty slim... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_VA392, General Manager at Quality Inn Historic Area, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I want to deeply apologize for any inconvienences that you had during your stay here during spring break. We strive to make sure all guests have a great stay and I apologize that you only had an okay stay. We are still in the process of upgrading the property. There are going to be some big changes coming... More

Kearny, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a trip to Busch Gardens with our 2 boys. We stayed from 8/11-8/15. Great location to get to all parks. Close to restaurants. Friendly staff. Hotel was pretty well kept and the rooms were clean. The only complaint I have is the pool didn't seem to be very clean. No filters on. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_VA392, General Manager at Quality Inn Historic Area, responded to this review

Good Morning, I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your overall stay with us during your recent trip to Williamsburg. I appreciate all the feedback and the time from all of our guests as it helps so much to make improvements where neccessary. I hope that you enjoyed your family vacation throughout Williamsburg and we hope to see you... More

Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

The reviews that I read on this hotel prior to staying here are pretty accurate. The place is a bit run down and could use some renovation. The room we stayed in was clean; the bathroom was rather small. The breakfast was pretty basic and not as good as other places I've stayed at that offer the same service. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_VA392, General Manager at Quality Inn Historic Area, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time and providing feedback on your recent stay here with us. I want to apologize for any inconvienences that you encountered with the smaller bathroom, parking and the ice machines. We strive to make sure all guests have an enjoyable stay and I apologize that there were inconvienences during your trip.... More

Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

booked this hotel through expedia for one night to visit my daughter at school. checked in at about 6 pm and when we entered the room my daughter said "it smells like smoke". and she wasn't kidding. I grew up with chain smokers and I know the difference between a room that has been smoked in occasionally and a room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GM_VA392, General Manager at Quality Inn Historic Area, responded to this review

Dear Daniel, I have read and reviewed your response and feedback. I understand that when you checked in your Non smoking 2 doubles on the 2nd floor smelt of smoke. I want to apologize that your room smelt like that because it was in fact a Non smoking room. All of our smoking rooms are actually on 4th floor so... More

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed here on our trip to Busch Gardens. It was fine for what we needed. The free breakfast is just ok. Not much variety. The only hot food they had was biscuits and gravy and waffles. The pool looked nice. The staff was friendly. The bathroom wasn't the greatest. Our toilet ran off and on all night. The room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
GM_VA392, General Manager at Quality Inn Historic Area, responded to this review

Hello, I want to thank you so much for letting us know about your recent stay. I want to apologize for the breakfast not having enough variety and the bathroom not being up to your standards. Choice is "revamping" the breakfast in Quality Inn and ee are in the process of getting more details so by early next year we... More

Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

This is a poor hotel. The wi-fi never worked and the best excuse I could get from the staff was, "My phone is connected." Well, that is no answer, sorry to tell you. The beds are very old, springy, and uncomfortable. Our headboard had someone's name carved in it, that's a first for us. Also, the room stunk like someone... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GM_VA392, General Manager at Quality Inn Historic Area, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I want to first take the time to thank you for letting us know about your recent experience with us. I want to deeply apologize for the disappointing stay and all of the inconvienences that you experienced. We are currently in the process of updating the property and we are trying to upgrade as much as possible and... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Visited this location recently.. The sheets were stained/dirty and towels had hair on them. The room smelled very old and dingy .. Within an hour we checked out of this horrific hotel. I will follow up with Choice Hotels on their standards. This place should not be a representative of their chain.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GM_VA392, General Manager at Quality Inn Historic Area, responded to this review

Hello, I want to deeply apologize for any inconvience during your recent trip here with the facilities at the hotel. I understand that when you checked you were not satisfied due to cleanliness and that the room felt old and dingy. I apologize that this hotel was not up to your standards. I will be addressing this with the housekeeping... More

Annandale, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel is okay. The room had double beds, which I did not notice when booking. My bad, not the hotel's. However, we discovered that the internet was not working, and the staff had no idea what to do. My husband found a phone number for the internet provider on the information in the room, and called them. They couldn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_VA392, General Manager at Quality Inn Historic Area, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, I have read and reviewed your review and want to deeply apologize for any mishap with the internet that you had during your stay. We have been adding and upgrading equipment to try to help with this because all guest need internet. We are almost finished with getting the equipment and getting everything in place and we have... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Quality Inn Historic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Historic Area

Address: 600 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Historic Area 2*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, AAA Travel Services, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn Historic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Historic Area Hotel Williamsburg
Historic Area Quality Inn
Williamsburg Quality Inn

62 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (58)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay