We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clarion Hotel Historic District

2.5 of 5 351 York Street, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton Williamsburg Historic District)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Historic District
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Clarion Hotel Historic District
Clarion Hotel Historic District
Clarion Hotel Historic District
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    54
    44
    47
    35
See reviews for
84
65
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (212)
  • Mar-May only
    (43)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (76)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (57)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
There are newer reviews for Clarion Hotel Historic District
See the most recent reviews
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

I booked a 2 bedroom and called a few days before my arrival to see if it came with fridge and microwave. The lady said mine didn't so i asked how much it would cost to upgrade and she said "a thank you and a smile"! Great service. when we arrived the receptionist in the lobby was very attentive, explained... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
nchalkley, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Historic District, responded to this review

We are know for our friendly service. You are correct we are older hotel but we make up for it with friendly service and a good clean room. The pool is heated during the winter - once the weather get cooler we maintain the pool at 88 degrees all winter long. We are looking forward to your next visit with... More 

Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We arrived for a one night stay after a long long drive from Washington at the start of Labour Day weekend. The staff were very friendly but couldn't find our booking eventually they found us a room which was at the rear of the hotel. It was in need of a makeover but worse of all was the fact there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
nchalkley, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Historic District, responded to this review

Sorry about the train - it normally run during day only so disturbance is limited. We are the closest hotel to the Colonial Williamsburg town. It is just a short walk and most people buy a ticket and walk from our hotel for the remainder of their visit. Please visit again, Neal More 

Livonia, Michigan, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

First the hotel is old and dilapidated. In our room there were huge cracks in the wall, bad patch jobs on the ceiling, mold in the shower. The pool area is nasty and the halls smell musty. The worst is that there is one elevator, located at the rear of the building. It's creaky and stinky and frequently broken. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
nchalkley, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Historic District, responded to this review

Sorry we did not meet your expectations. We are a midscale hotel with a great price value. I am disappointed with housekeeping and have already reviewed your visit. Thanks you for the feedback and when you try again please book direct with my email address. I will ensure all is great. Thx, Neal More 

Dunkirk, New York
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We got there late, Charles was very accommadating to our needs. We even stayed an extra night. The rooms were comfortable, clean. The only downfall was that there was only one elevator. But other then that the staff was very pleasant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
nchalkley, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Historic District, responded to this review

Thanks for the good review - I will make sure Charles knows you were pleased with his service. We are known for our customer service and location. Looking forward to your next visit, Neal More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

This hotel is an old hotel; however, it was very clean and the staff was helpful. The manager was very helpful and very accommodating after hearing my bad hotel experience with another hotel. Nonetheless, I didn't care too much for the pool area as it was a little untidy. I loved the attaching restaurant which made it easier to find... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
nchalkley, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Historic District, responded to this review

We are looking forward to your next visit. I am sorry for the messy pool area - we have had some construction work done and had not finished the clean up. I am glad all else went well and see you soon. Thx, Neal More 

Bristow, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

The Clarion is an older hotel that needs quite a bit of updating. While it has a restaurant, a pool, meeting rooms, exercise room and is in walking distance to Colonial Williamsburg, I did not find the hotel all that inviting. The room was clean and the service both at the restaurant (for breakfast), front desk and the room service... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
nchalkley, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Historic District, responded to this review

We are a older hotel - we are noted staff service and cleanliness. WE continually strive to upgrade the hotel appearance and plan on making improvements. Thanks you for the comments and realizing that we are a midscale priced valued hotel that serves its guest. Thanks Again, Neal More 

Gainesville, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

So, it's an older hotel. Right off the bat, that's something that you just can't help but notice. It's a rebranded Sheraton Four Points (there are little indications of the used-to bits all over). There are dings and scratches in the furniture, I'm actually looking at a small gouge in the wall near the door, there are scuff marks on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
nchalkley, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Historic District, responded to this review

Thanks you for the comments. We are an older hotel but still strive to look our best. Service is key to us and I am glad that made it a good experience for you. When you do return please contact me direct by email and I can ensure another great stay. Thanks Neal More 

Wigan, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This was the second hotel we stayed in on our two week tour of Virginia. There were some positives - firstly, we received a friendly welcome from the young lady at reception. She was keen to ensure that we had all the information we needed, including how to get to Colonial Williamsburg and what to do while we were in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
nchalkley, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Historic District, responded to this review

Thanks you for the comments and I can assure you we are working on the smell. I am not sure what odor you refer to but have taken steps to ensure a clean fresh odor throughout. Thanks again for comments and hope to see you soon, Neal More 

Auburn, New York, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Spent 1 night here with family. Clean place to stay. Very friendly & people working around the clock to keep hotel & rooms clean. Needs some fixing up, but, believe they are working on that. Very pet friendly. Enjoyed our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
nchalkley, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Historic District, responded to this review

Thanks - we are pet friendly and have a "pet whisperer" that will care for your loved one while you enjoy you time out. We are older but still strive to look good. Thank you for great comments and see you soon, Neal More 

Norge, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Went down to see the family and a few friends again and was meet by name and conversation as usual. Room was clean and ready and drinks were cold. Property is always clean and maintained.Staff very friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
nchalkley, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Historic District, responded to this review

IT would not be a good drink if it was not cold - I am glad we met your expectations. Thanks you for a really great review and we cannot wait until your return. Good clean room and service will always be number one with the staff - see you soon. Neal More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Clarion Hotel Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Historic District

Address: 351 York Street, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton Williamsburg Historic District)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Historic District
Clarion Hotel Williamsburg
Sheraton Williamsburg
Williamsburg Four Points
Williamsburg Sheraton
Four Points Williamsburg

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay