We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
201 Bypass Rd., Williamsburg, VA 23185
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

629 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    210
    197
    127
    59
    36
See reviews for
313
181
17
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (629)
  • Mar-May only
    (133)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (287)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (141)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (68)
All months
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn
See the most recent reviews
WINSTON SALEM
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Good family place. Close to Williamsburg and clean hotel. Only problem was the breakfast area was crowded due to the hotel being full. Will stay there again when in the area.. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was good and lots of room. Staff kept up the room throughout our stay.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexis W, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we apologize for the crowd during breakfast. We unfortunately have very limited space for breakfast. We added on the patio which helps but seating is still a challenge. Thank you for your understanding and please come back and see us. More 

Grand Island, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This hotel is beautiful and located close to the Williamsburg Visitors Center. The décor was beautiful, the staff was courteous and helpful. There was a patio area where we ate our breakfast. I also liked that, even though there was no restaurant on property, there was a room service option which was great at the end of the day when... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexis W, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review regarding your stay with us. We have had a good response from the room service program we offer and heard many good things about the food. We added the patio due to the limited space we have for breakfast and its working great. Thank you again for the review and we hope to see you... More 

Stephens City, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Please, do not stay here, even if the rates and reviews are good. Just stayed 5 nights to enjoy a family vacation. The whole Hotel needs updating. Rooms (mattress old and stained, feel springs), Electrical outlets don't work,furniture aweful and broken down, dirty bathtub. So much to say. I will never stay again. Pool Old and dirty, hot tub, nasty.... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alexis W, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we apologize that we did not exceed your expectations. Did you inform any of our staff of the issues you experienced? We always try our best to make things right. Once again sorry you were disappointed with your stay. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We found the Williamsburg Best Western Hotel very clean, comfortable and staff were helpful. The breakfast was good and was served until 10:00 which is an hour later than most hotels were have stayed in. The cleaning staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexis W, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review with us. We decide to keep breakfast open till 10am since most of our guest leave to the attractions around 9 or 10. We hope to see you again, thanks again. More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed at this hotel during a family outing to Colonial Williamsburg and Busch Gardens. The hotel was everything what you would expect of a hotel of this class. The rooms were fairly clean and good. I used the words fairly because we had to move the bed a bit and found a lot of dirt and junk below the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexis W, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review of the breakfast. We believe we offer plenty of choices and try to please everyone's needs. Its always good to hear a guest enjoyed the breakfast since we have added some items and changed some things around. Please come back and see us soon! More 

Gallatin, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

great stay close to CW, clean rooms recently updated, stay helpful and friendly, breakfast was good, eggs only part that wasn't good they were powdered. location was only minutes for Colonial Williamsburg. Would stay here again if ever in area

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexis W, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review and we apologize for the eggs. They are actually not powdered but we will take a look and see what the issue may be. Hope you will come back and see us and we will do better on the eggs, thanks again More 

Robbinsville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This is a nice hotel as far as being clean and comfortable. The price per night is very high in my opinion. The free breakfast was satisfactory but they did not serve biscuits which I thought was very strange. Biscuits is one of the main breakfast items. I also wish they would have served gravy.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexis W, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we apologize that you find our rates to be high. Our rates are very moderate when compared to the other area hotels. We have actually tried biscuits and gravy and from customers reactions, we decided to discontinue it. We hope to see you again in the future, thanks again for your review. More 

Lusby, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

My wife and I are 60 plus. We have ha the pleasure of staying at this facility several times. The hotel was always clean and neat. The rooms were well stocked with the usual amenities. The breakfast was very good. We loved the outside decore, the grounds were kept very well. we have stayed here during the winter, spring and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexis W, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review

We love it when we have return guest and familiar faces. We absolutely appreciate the business and the relationships we form. Thank you so much and we look forward to your return, thank you again More 

Chincoteague Island, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed for three nights. Good rooms. All employees were friendly and very helpful. The breakfast was good and the ones tending it kept everything full and fresh. Two couples of us were there on our motorcycles. The Colonial Parkway from Yorktown to Jamestown is really good for riding. Absolutely will stay there again! Try Sal's by Victor for some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alexis W, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is always good to hear that breakfast was enjoyed. We have made some changes and additions to breakfast. Glad you enjoyed Sal's by Victor, fantastic place! More 

United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Fabulous hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good clean accommodations and excellent value. Only regret I had was paying the extra money for the hot tub room; didn't realize it was basically just a large bathtub, but overall it was a wonderful experience and I would definitely stay again next time I find myself in the Williamsburg area.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alexis W, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we apologize that the jetted tub was not what you expected. However we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. Please feel free to contact us directly for any future accommodations. Thank you More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens)
0.9 mi away
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#39 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.0 of 5 stars 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay