We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn

2.5 of 5 201 Bypass Rd., Williamsburg, VA 23185
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    163
    103
    51
    34
See reviews for
265
148
12
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (533)
  • Mar-May only
    (105)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (221)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (141)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (66)
All months
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn
See the most recent reviews
Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is our 3rd time here we like the setting, convenience, and the indoor pool/hot tub. The breakfast is good as well as 24/7 coffee/tea availability. We believe that we get great value for the amenities, and we would stay here again

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alexis W, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review

Good to hear you enjoyed your 3rd time and we hope to see you a 4th! We added the extra beverage station in the lobby for coffee, tea and hot chocolate and guest seem to love it. Thank you so much for your review and have a great new year. More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Super Friendly Staff, Clean rooms, priced reasonably, breakfast included and super quick drive to historic Williamsburg. The downside which is minimal is that the area around the lobby needs to be dusted!!! I was eating my breakfast and looked over at the lovely flower arrangement and it had a thick coat of dust on the table. The beds are lovely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alexis W, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for making us aware of the dust issue which was taken care of right away. Its the items such as this why we read these reviews and take them so seriously. We have some great changes coming in 2015 and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you again and your business is appreciated. More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel has bed bugs. They were unresponsive and dismissive, and condensing with an email response. I had to cut my family's trip short and have spent hours washing EVERYTHING we took with us. Thoroughly disappointed in this hotel, and will never do business with them again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexis W, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we do truly apologize for the difficulties you faced during your stay. We did inspect the room with a company and no activity at all was found. We are not sure what kind of bug this may have been but no bed bug activity was detected in anyway. Any report of this kind we... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Was greeted promptly and courteously by hotel staff. Lobby was decorated for the holiday. Stayed over Christmas and when returning from breakfast the was a present from the hotel. All hotel staff was friendly. Pool and Jacuzzi were clean. Needed towels which staff provided quickly. I would definitely stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alexis W, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, glad you received the small gift for Christmas. We just like to let our guest know that we appreciate them especially during the holiday season. Sounds like our staff was welcoming and helpful which is always good to hear, Hope to see you again in 2015, thanks again!!! More 

Annandale, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014

We don't even consider staying anyplace else when we travel to Willamsburg. The hotel is so comfortable and clean. The kids love the indoor pool. The employees at Best Western Historic Plus are so kind, welcoming and helpful. We have come to feel like we are staying with family!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alexis W, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much, what a great review! We have some changes coming to the hotel soon that we are very excited about. Hope to see you soon so you can check them out. Thanks again for the kind words. More 

virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

was beautiful everything about the place. the shows the park decorations, the caroling the staff. it was a wonderful christmas experience. will be back next year. to see what we didn't this time. it diffenitly gets you in the season spirit.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexis W, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in Williamsburg. It is a perfect time to come to Williamsburg with all the decorations and events. Thanks again, hope to see you in the future. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

We had originally booked with the Days Inn but they messed up our booking so they put us here and boy am I glad of that. The staff was so incredibly nice and help full and I felt so welcomed. They helped us out with area attractions and Busch Gardens tickets. My wife and daughter loved the room and the... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexis W, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review

We always love to receive reviews such as yours, thank you so much. Sorry for the difficulties you experienced with your original destination but we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future, happy holidays. More 

Georgetown, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

We have stayed at the Best Western in Williamsburg, Virginia several times over the last few year and have always had a pleasant experience. The hotel staff is always courteous and helpful. They have helped us with directions and have suggested places to visit that we wouldn't have thought of on our own.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexis W, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review and we are very happy to hear that we made your stay enjoyable. Also glad to hear that we gave you some different ideas of what to do while you were in Williamsburg. There are many attractions that many are not aware of when visiting the area. We hope to see you again soon... More 

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

I would not recommend this hotel. Upon entering, we were not greeted with a welcome our a smile. The woman working the front desk looked up and very sternly said "name" "last name" etc. Not friendly at all. The rooms are small. The TV did not work well and the wall ac/heating unit was finicky. The bed was extremely uncomfortable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexis W, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we apologize for the difficulties you experienced during your stay. As for the staff issue you experienced, this is a surprise because we are blessed with a fantastic staff. We thank you for making us aware of it as well as the other issues so we can improve. Thank you again for the review. More 

Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

Great staff, good hot breakfast, very clean rooms and close to great restaurants within walking distance. Very good value among many hotels in the Colonial Williamsburg area. I would recommend and come back to this hotel.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexis W, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the kind words in your review. We do believe that the Best Western had much to offer. Our location is fantastic, full hot breakfast included, indoor pool and hot tub and high speed internet. Your business is very much appreciated, hope to see you soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn

Address: 201 Bypass Rd., Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Historic Area Hotel Williamsburg
Best Western Williamsburg
Waller Mills Inn
Williamsburg Best Western
Waller Mill Inn Williamsburg Va

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay