We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ocean Sands Resort

Certificate of Excellence
2207 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Hotel amenities
Ocean Sands Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #28 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015
April L Hampton, Virginia
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    50
    25
    10
    14
See reviews for
105
77
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (230)
  • Mar-May only
    (46)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (83)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (55)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (46)
All months
Hampton, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

This resort was perfect for us this weekend. We were there for the soccer tournament and this was perfect for coming and going. It was right on the water with plenty of places to eat and shop. the resort was very clean and accommodating for our visit. I would recommend this to anyone looking to visit Virginia Beach Oceanfront.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Danielle V, General Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for selecting the Ocean Sands Resort in Virginia Beach for your vacation getaway during the Sand Soccer Tournament. Our location is just a stepping stone away from the beach where all the fun and attractions are right outside our door. Thank you once again for choosing VSA Resorts and recommending our property. More 

Hampton, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

I stayed here on a Saturday night in June 2014. I was there to watch a sand soccer tournament. This was perfect location for this tournament. The resort itself was clean and the staff was friendly and very accommodating. It had everything I needed. We also took advantage of the pool. It was great. I would definitely recommend this resort.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Danielle V, General Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time out to write a review from your 2014 stay at the Ocean Sands Resort during the Sand Soccer Tournament in Virginia Beach. I look forward to seeing you again this year during the 2015 Sands Soccer Tournament. More 

Hampton, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

My family and I stayed here last summer during the Sand Soccer Tournament... It was perfect! The room had all the necessities, and while running in and out of the room in between games, it was great to have the convenience of still watching the games, while relaxing and enjoying our lunch or snacks for the day in our room.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danielle V, General Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review

First I would like to Thank you for choosing the Ocean Sands Resort for the Sand Soccer Tournament in Virginia Beach last summer. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed all the amenities that we have to offer, our location places us in the heart of all the action at the oceanfront. We take great pleasure in making sure... More 

Heathsville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

What a disappointment. Checked in hours after I said 'I Do" and regretted it instantly. This "resort" is more like a two star motel. Nobody said a word about construction happening at the resort. Banging started at 7am and lasted until 5pm. The floor was covered in plastic wrap and the hallways were half blocked off by plywood. The heating/cooling... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Danielle V, General Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review

I apologize that we did not meet your expectations and I understand your concerns since you were apparently not notified of the considerable construction and renovations underway. We have been diligently working on adding balconies to all of our suites since November and during this process we have requested that all reservation departments and on-line partners give specific details regarding... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

I will recommend this Resort to all my family and friends. I cant wait to come back when the renovations are done it was a pleasure!!!!! I enjoyed spending time with my family. We went to a place at eat called Rockefeller witch was recommend by Danielle and it was great thank you very much.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Danielle V, General Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for choosing the Ocean Sands Resort in Virginia Beach. Our team members enjoy providing excellent customer service year around. We look forward to your next visit with us once our balcony additions are complete. Thank you once again for staying with VSA Resorts. More 

baltimore
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
17 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

We spent a winter week here to relax and get away from everything. Since there was balcony construction going on at this resort, we were offered to stay at their sister resort at 5th Street, we declined, we want ocean front. Our unit was on the second floor and the construction starts at 7am and continues until dark, so be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Danielle V, General Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and I am pleased that you took advantage of our amenities. I appreciate your taking the time to share your experience, as it helps us in our continual efforts to improve. More 

Richmond, VA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

This timeshare is dated and small, though the new manager did as much as she could to accommodate us. Found out they have no real ovens, but she did change me out from the handicapped room to a roomier Commodore plan that really helped. They have convection ovens which were demonstrated to me so I could cook either convection or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Danielle V, General Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for staying with us and as you mentioned, we are very excited about adding balconies to every suite. I appreciate you personally mentioning our team members and your review will be shared with the staff - we are always looking for ways to improve and your suggestions were helpful. More 

Roanoke
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

What more could you ask for---an ocean front room, where you can see and hear the ocean's roar, watch a glorious sunrise from your bed or follow the dolphins as they romp in your "front yard", and swim in a heated pool and enjoy the jacuzzi and sauna? This is relaxation at its best! Danielle as manager keeps the front... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Danielle V, General Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for being a valued timeshare owner with VSA Resorts family. I appreciate your taking the time to share your Virginia Beach vacation experience and for mentioning the outstanding staff that we have at the Ocean Sands Resort. Your thoughts will be shared with our team members and we look forward to your next stay... More 

Cincinnati, OH
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

We stayed in a 1 bedroom in October 2014. The place was old but clean. Front desk employees were pleasant and helpful. Nice view of the ocean...No Balcony :( , But they are in the process of adding them to the resort. Overall, the room was rather small, but it's all about location location location. May stay here again, once... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Danielle V, General Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Ocean Sands Resort for your 2014 vacation in Virginia Beach. Our staff continuously strives to provide excellent customer service for all of our owners and guests. The Ocean Sands has a prime location in the heart of the Oceanfront that enhances your beach experience. We look forward to your next visit with VSA Resorts so... More 

Midlothian, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

Well, we stayed at the Ocean Sands Resort in Virginia Beach, Va. The weekend stay was as great as our first stay there. I called and they found a room for my wife and I. We came the last weekend of September for the Neptune Festival and had a fantastic time once again at the Ocean Sands Resort. Our room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Danielle V, General Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review

First I would like to thank you for choosing the Ocean Sands Resort in Virginia Beach, as we appreciate your business. I am pleased that you loved our location we are just a foot step away from all the exciting events that take place at the Oceanfront. Our Team strives to provide exceptional customer service and your comments will be... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

88 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (81)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question