We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center

3.0 of 5 2800 Shore Drive, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-1327
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Featured upcoming dates
    This weekend 11/21/2014
    $95/night
    Next weekend 11/28/2014
    $93/night
    Best deal 12/21/2014
    $69/night
Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    127
    109
    67
    83
See reviews for
231
119
26
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (676)
  • Mar-May only
    (82)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (347)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (178)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (69)
All months
There are newer reviews for Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Ville, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Much quieter atmosphere than the boardwalk area. Bayside beach way safer for children and more relaxing for parents too! Fun kids club for children. All suites rooms. Could use some updating, but nothing that would prevent me from returning. I was here for 4 days this month, will be returning in 2 weeks for a 5 day trip and again... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

The building and grounds need a complete renovation. Location on bay is nice. Did not try the food. Personnel were nice and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

We appreciate the compliment about our staff and thank you for staying at our bay front resort hotel. More

Missoula, Montana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I am less than pleased with my stay here. I was given keys to rooms which were not cleaned yet and some still had people's belongings in them. 4 trips up and down the elevator and I got a simple "sorry mam". My room keys didn't work the majority of the time and NO I didn't have them next to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Your experience at our bay front resort is not what we had planned for you and we apologize for the frustrating time with your room key. That is not typical of the service we provide and we will ensure it does not happen in the future. Thank you for staying with us and for your valuable feedback. More

Kansas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I really wanted to love this hotel despite the reviews I read prior to traveling w/my family for a conference my husband was attending there. It is a large ugly white cement monstrosity that is lost in the 70s with its interior decor (but probably very hurricane proof!) Our "bayview" room overlooked the parking lot and trash dump funnel below,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Management response:

We are grateful that you brought your entire family and stayed with us here on the Chesapeake Bay. The indoor/outdoor pool and easy access to the private beach typically is a hit for families with kids and we’re glad you enjoyed your time here. Your candid comments are helpful and feel confident that all guest feedback is closely examined. More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I have stayed in many hotels in my life and Virgina Beach Resort Hotel tops the "bad list." The one bright side is that the hotel compensated us for all the trouble and dissapointment they enparted on our stay. When my family first got there they ended up switching rooms since the first room was severly lacking in what is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Where do I begin? So, I pulled into the parking lot with a huge line of cars and waited for 20 minutes to be told that there was no more parking and I would have to park across the street. No one offered to help with my bags or send a company vehicle to drive me back to the hotel,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Management response:

It appears you stayed with us during the rare occasion when our resort had a full house of guests and events. Our apologies for having to transport your luggage alone and for the parking inconvenience. We wish you had a better encounter at our bay front hotel as our main focus is to provide guests with enjoyable accommodations. More

Bangor County Down
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Stayed here for a conference. Room large with beach view - carpets stained as was couch. Food was poor throughout. Staff try hard but poorly trained. Location is its plus point even if on the Bay and not the ocean. Overall a very disappointing experience and it is not cheap either.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Management response:

Thank you for staying at our bay front location and for your candid comments about your recent visit. Our only wish is that you had a more enjoyable time during the conference and with your free time here at our hotel. More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Way over-priced for condition of the hotel and amenities. The room was dated but reasonably clean and the beds were comfortable. Wi-fi in your room is $9.95/day, the trade winds restaurant may or may not be open for service - they close the restaurant for private events - but don't communicate that to guests. I went to bay necessities for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Management response:

During this warmer time of year the hotel can be rather busy with various events, guests and activities yet that is no reason to reduce the level of service to our customers. We regret that you did not enjoy the hotel as so many others have, and we will be sure to communicate your experience to the proper departments. More

Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

This hotel was a severe disappointment when I arrived for a 4-day conference. I would never stay at this property again, and if I had a choice, would not have stayed here this time either. The hotel as a whole, is a complete eyesore from the outside. On the inside, the room are grossly outdated, worn carpet, stained couch, etc.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Management response:

Thank you for your feedback and we are saddened to hear that your time spent with us was not enjoyable. Guest comments are important to us and we will be sure to discuss this further with our management team. More

Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

My husband and I got married last weekend and our experience was amazing! The staff was wonderful, the wedding and reception went off without a hitch and I've been told by most that attended that it was the best wedding and reception they have attended! I would highly recommend this venue for your wedding or a getaway...the rooms are clean,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Chesapeake Bay(11)
  • Very nice(5)
  • Living area(4)
  • Rooms are clean(3)

Additional Information about Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 2800 Shore Drive, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-1327
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 295
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Beach Resort Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hotel
Virginia Beach Resort Conference Center

150 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (134)
Viewed
View from room (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (23)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay