We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 115 Virginia Beach hotels

Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   196 Ballard Court, Virginia Beach, VA 23462
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
69%
Ranked #56 of 115 hotels in Virginia Beach
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
herb b Williamsburg, Virginia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (140)
  • Photos (35)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (18)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    38
    17
    12
    15
See reviews for
31
35
29
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Check in was quick and friendly thanks to Jas. The room was clean and in good repair. The location is also excellent being close to 64. I will definitely stay here again when I'm in the area and recommend it to others.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellsboro, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Clean appearance outside. Rooms were clean and good smelling. No musty, smokey smell. Room appeared to have been remodeled recently. Pool was closed and I was told it was because of high ph. Refrigerator made a loud humming noise so I had to unplug so I could sleep. No coffeemaker in the room. Dennys and 7-11 with in short walking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Dirty bedding, rude staff and no wifi (they never told us of the wifi issue when we checked in, we discovered it after spending 45 minutes on with tech support trying to get our devices to connect). The people who work the desk at night are rude, unhelpful and speak very limited english to the point of creating a serious... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
RRI-93, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach, responded to this review

I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please accept my sincerest apologies for WIFI not working and customer service concerns. At Red Roof Virginia Beach, we strive to provide superior service to every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please contact me directly as I will be happy to look into your concern... More

Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I absolutely agree with Zfdji's comments. The rooms, although renovated, are dirty. The bedspread was stained badly with what looked like body fluids (it was laundered though). The walls are thin so the people next door kept us awake until 230AM although i do not think they meant too nor were aware of it - a little sound insulation would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RRI-93, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach, responded to this review

Let me start by apologizing for the experience you had while staying with and thank you for your feedback. My staff and I try very hard to ensure that all of our guests enjoy their stay and I’m very sorry that you did not experience this while with us; please accept my sincerest apologies. Sincerely Irfan Faruqi General Manager More

Ridgefield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

My boyfriend and I spent six nights in this room at the beginning of June on our trip to virginia beach. The newly renovated rooms were nice, especially with the hard wood floors. Truth be told, we had no problems during our stay. However, there were a few setbacks. 1-the pictures of the room were very misleading. They are much... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
RRI-93, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach, responded to this review

I am happy to know that you had a great experience staying at our newly renovated Inn. Thank you for a great feedback and giving us 4 star review. Our team will be looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Virginia Beach. Sincerely Irfan Faruqi General Manager More

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Although the decor has been updated, the room's age showed. There was an ancient smoky smell to the non-smoking room we stayed in. The door to the outside had a small gap as well as about a 2 inch hole in the baseboard.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RRI-93, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach, responded to this review

At Red Roof, we strive to provide superior service to every customer; I truly appreciate for you your feedback. We always encourage our guest to let us know if they have any concern during their stay so that we can address it ASAP. It is our goal is to make sure all our guests enjoy their stay and leave happy.... More

Stockton, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I booked this hotel for $50 as I just needed a place to rest my head near Norfolk Airport before continuing on to OBX. While the exterior is dated, the rooms have all been updated with laminate flooring, flat screen tvs, and comfortable mattresses. Customer service is also very good as the front desk hung on to my group's luggage... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RRI-93, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach, responded to this review

I am happy to know that you had a great experience staying at our newly renovated hotel. We truly appreciate for your positive feedback. Thank You for giving us 5 Stars review as this means a lot to my staff. We hope to see you on your next visit to our area. Sincerely Irfan Faruqi General Manager More

Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This was my 7th Red Roof Inn in 8 weeks, part of a long road trip, and it hit all criteria when I look for lodging: Clean. (Even the floors were clean here, which is very rare!) Quiet. (Could hear a pin drop at night. Literally couldn't hear *anything*. I actually had to turn the fan on just for some... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
RRI-93, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach, responded to this review

It is indeed a privilege for us that you stayed with us, Thank your for sharing your experience with everyone who reads hotel reviews. We look forward to welcome you every time you visit Virginia Beach as a dear guest. Sincerely Irfan Faruqi General Manager More

Punta Gorda, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Came up for a ball game (the Norfolk Tide) and a cheer competition at the convention center. This was a great location for both. 7 Miles from the Tide at Hampton Stadium. 10 mi from the beach and the convention center. 3 or so miles from Mt Trashmore (the dog just loved it!). We had a good time. The hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RRI-93, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach, responded to this review

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay in our newly renovated, pet friendly, clean hotel with great service. Thanks again for your feedback. We will be looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit. Sincerely Irfan Faruqi General Manager More

Martinsburg, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I had read the other reviews about this hotel having a smell and I have to say, I never noticed any odors at all. The room was very clean and nicely decorated. The hotel staff were as pleasant as could be expected. We stayed here off season and I think the rates were insane. Will more than likely stay somewhere... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RRI-93, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and a great feedback. I am glad to hear you had a pleasant stay with us. I want you to know one of our main goals is to make sure all our guests are happy and get great value for their money. Our rates are lowest in the area as rates are checked on daily... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach

Address: 196 Ballard Court, Virginia Beach, VA 23462
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Red Roof Inn

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#4 Best Value Hotel in Virginia Beach #15 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
108

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach and other travelers.
1 question

See all questions (1)

See which rooms travelers prefer