We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach

196 Ballard Court, Virginia Beach, VA 23462
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    40
    20
    14
    18
See reviews for
37
41
29
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (158)
  • Mar-May only
    (38)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (63)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My daughter and I travel a lot, so we like to stay at Red Roof Inns because of the price. As the saying goes, you only get what you pay for. Yes, Red Roofs are inexpensive compared to many hotel chains. We don't expect a room like we would get at a Marriott, but we do expect it to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester-by-the-Sea, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked a standard King room for an overnight stop between Massachusetts and Florida. The room was fresh and clean, the bed was comfortable, and the shower hot. This hotel was renovated within the last two years. I like they removed the carpeting and replaced it with laminated wood flooring. To avoid the Baltimore/Washington traffic, we now exit I-95 at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Prince Frederick, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

This inn is OK if, and only if, you don't get a room with a connecting door as I did in room 114. While the walls are fairly soundproof, the door sure wasn't. I had a couple in the room next to me that thought they were rabbits. Finally, I had enough of their "personal" life and requested that I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

The room was fine other than the temperature of the room being cranked up to 80 degrees when I first checked in. However, I checked out early at around 5am and did not notice they charged me for a "safe fee". I call them back and asked for the $1.50 charge to be removed because I did not use the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RRI-93, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review. I apologize for the warm room. The temperature in our area has been unusually cold, so we try to keep the rooms at a comfortable temperature for our guests when they arrived. I am sorry that yours was warmer than your liking. We always leave it up to the guests to either... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015 via mobile

Front desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Robert was very nice and was able to get my room ready 2 hours earlier then check in without any charge. The room itself was not as clean as it should of been.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RRI-93, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach, responded to this review

We always encourage our guest to let us know if they have any concern so that we can address it ASAP as our goal is to make sure our guests enjoy their stay and leave happy. Please accept my sincere apologies as you did not find room clean up to your standards. Thanks for your business and giving us 4... More 

Hebron, OH
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

Laminate flooring instead of carpet, comfortable beds and pillows, an extra chair, mini fridge, microwave, clean bathroom(!), work area and chair, and VERY reasonable pricing per night. I would absolutely recommend it to anyone needing a room.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RRI-93, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach, responded to this review

I am glad you like our clean renovated hotel and find it great value for your money. Thank you for your 5 Stars review. I am glad that like our newly renovate hotel great value for your money. Thanks for your business; we will be looking forward to welcome you back. Happy Holiday’s More 

Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014 via mobile

The (NON SMOKING ROOM) reeked of ciggerat smoke. The heater barely worked. The remote to the tv didn't work. And when I tried to call the office no one picked up the phone. I also tried to call the regional manager of opperations twice. (Once that night and then the next day after wait until 5 pm to get a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RRI-93, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach, responded to this review

Let me start by apologizing for the experience you had during your staying with us and thank you for your continued patronage with Red Roof Inn. My staff and I try very hard to ensure that all of our guests enjoy their stay and I’m truly sorry that you did not experience this while staying with us. I want you... More 

Wayne, West Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

We stayed at the Red Roof Inn at 196 Ballard Ct Virginia Beach Va, 23462. When I called to book the room, I was told that the pool was open, and that their was breakfast every day. When we arrived, the pool was closed, their was no breakfast, no microwave, no fridge, and no coffee pot. Had to walk all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RRI-93, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach, responded to this review

At Red Roof, we strive to provide superior service to every customer. I am sorry that you were provided sorry you were provided incorrect amenities information about our hotel; Please accept my sincerest apologies. I will appreciate if you can contact me directly to let me know who provide you the information so that I can get it corrected for... More 

New Bern
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

We are a card carrying member. However we review the different experiences as we see them. This location was truly wonderful. Quiet, Clean, Friendly. Because of the horrible experience we had recently in the Wilmigton, NC Red Roof, my wife did not want to use Red Roof. after the reviews I read I encouraged her to try them agin. You... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
RRI-93, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach, responded to this review

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We really do try hard here to make every guest feel comfortable, safe and to leave with a smile on their face. THANK YOU for giving Red Roof a second chance; 2 positive feedbacks and a 5 star review. We will be looking forward to welcome you back... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

I want to start by saying that the staff were incredible and extremely kind and helpful. The room, however, was damp, smelled horrible, and the carpet did not look as if it had been vacuumed in a while. There were French fries underneath the bed, we did not eat French fries during our stay. There were repairs made to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question