We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 114 Virginia Beach hotels

Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1011 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Hotel deals
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Points!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
80%
Ranked #28 of 114 hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Esther S Reston
  • Reviews (572)
  • Photos (111)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (132)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

572 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    264
    192
    79
    22
    15
See reviews for
274
151
19
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My family really enjoyed this hotel. The staffs are very supportive and helpful. We enjoyed for a hot breakfast and enjoyed very much. We stayed for a room, ocean front premium room and the view was fantastic. Very pleasant!

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Burke, Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Room was clean, breakfast was good, did not allow in before 4 pm check-in. Need more luggage carts and elevators. Parking garage not available for floors above 5. Extremely time consuming unloading and loading luggage, especially for a family group.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Port Coquitlam, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed 2 nights and ran into numerous issues with our room: Room never cleaned after first night Phones didn't work - never repaired during our stay Wall thermostat didn't work - never repaired No TV remote - replaced Coffee maker didn't work - replaced day 2 Hair dryer didn't function - replaced day 2 Shower rod hanging off -... More

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tammy B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South, responded to this review

We are sorry we were unable to provide you with the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay. We apologize for the issues in your room and will work with our maintenance team to ensure this does not happen again. If you return to our area, we hope you will consider staying with us again. Tammy... More

Yorktown, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a mini vacation for my family of 3 adults and 2 children. We had two adjoining rooms. The toilet malfunctioned once in one room, both rooms were not made up until 4 PM on one day. One bed was not made at all on one day. Pool was too hot to use. Breakfast was ok. The view from... More

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was very impressed with the hotel staff, parking and also check in. It was a breeze. I was a bit hesitant at first thinking the hotel would be dated and not up to my standards, but I was wrong. I walked in and immediately smelled a fresh scent, and it was clean and very nice in the lobby area.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fort Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've been to many Hampton inn and this one does not meet my expectation. I tried to check in on time. The receptionist was apologetic as the room were not ready. She asked for my cellphone number and promised to call me when it is ready. I waited 45 minutes and check again. The lady has gone for the day... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sterling, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Recently my family stayed at this hotel this weekend and here is my input on the facility, staff, amenities and more. The location is right on the beach and all the rooms face the beach. Make sure you book your reservations early if you are going during peak season months for vacation. They dont require that you stay more than... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brook Park, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were extremely satisfied with our hotel. Staff was super nice, respectful and helpful. Room, bathroom and hotel were extremely well kept. Complimentary breakfast was very great. Wish there were more protein options for me as I cannot have gluten. Everything looked good; however, was not able to eat much but fruit. Everything else was superb. Next time will prepare... More

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Silver Spring, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was nice, the breakfast was plentiful with lots of variety. Location was great. The room had a private balcony where it was very pleasant to sit and look out into the ocean. The only disappointment was that the front desk staff did not honor the 2 p.m. check out time listed on my reservation.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Maartinsburg, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I would highly recommened this hotel. Cleanliness,suburb Friendly, excellent Beach around the hotel was a great family beach with lots of activities for the family expecially the children The view was great for the beach and watching the sun come up each morning. The entire staff was extremely friendly and not afraid to clown around or talk to you.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South

Address: 1011 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Otel, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hampton Inn

111 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (98)
Viewed
View from room (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Virginia Beach with
any amenities

Amenities

Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#18 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach #21 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach #24 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach #27 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hampton Inn Oceanfront-South is one of the few oceanfront hotels in Virginia Beach located directly on the boardwalk. Right outside our doors, you'll find the sandy shores of the beach, bicycle rentals, and beautiful scenery. We are attached to the 11th Street Taphouse so stop in for a bite and a drink after a day in the sun. Every room in our hotel has an ocean view so you will never miss a sunset or sunrise from your balcony. Enjoy free hot breakfast with Hampton's signature waffles and oatmeal every morning plus free wireless internet to keep you connected. Our guest and accessible rooms have the comforts of home with the clean and fresh Hampton bed plus a refrigerator and microwave. As always, your stay with us is backed by the 100% Hampton guarantee. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
141

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
1 month ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer