We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1307 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,089 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    472
    364
    144
    59
    50
See reviews for
533
304
18
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1089)
  • Mar-May only
    (185)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (535)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (272)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (97)
All months
La Crosse, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

These people are extremely rude. You feel like a number when you walk in. The sheets were pee stained. (I called the front desk and a guy came up and traded out the sheets. Even HE was in shock that someone put them on the bed! He took pictures and everything) There was a pubic hair on the bed. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
National Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
262 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed here recently. A fantastic room with a balcony and a terrific view of the boardwalk and ocean. We had an easy check in. Elevator service was poor was our only complaint. Room was clean, bathroom was clean a very nice shower. excellent maid service. Breakfast was in the hotel restaurant complementary. Parking was free in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to share your thoughts about The Best Western Plus Sandcastle. We greatly appreciate your kind words about our hotel and staff. I am so glad that you enjoyed yourselves while you were with us. We hope to see you again in the future. Yours in Hospitality, Jason C.... More 

Ashburn, Virginia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

There's no point in connecting to the hotel wifi, since nothing will load after you connect. Also, the lines for the free breakfast was out the door both times at 8am, so we decided to just pay and eat somewhere else. They really need to update the pool, it was disgusting and small. The biggest problem was the receptionist assigned... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review

First and foremost I would like to apologize for the service you received. That is not how we do business here and I am embarrassed that you did not receive the service that each and every guest deserves. If you would be willing to allow me the opportunity to win back your business, please don't hesitate to contact me at... More 

Louisa, United States
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I was really not satisfied with this hotel. I would not stay here again. It was extremely expensive for a two night stay, the carpets in the room were dirty and did not feel good to step on. The room was very tight. The bathroom opened to where the sink was and not enough room if someone is getting ready... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your time with us. Typically our guests have a wonderful time and find the service we provide to be that of superior caliber. I hope you have a great day. Regards, Jason C. General Manager More 

Indianapolis, IN, United States
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Staff was excellent; restaurant had same food every day & usually cold. Wait staff friendly but not too swift. Argument between dish washer & waitress one morning loud enough for customers to hear it on the restaurant floor.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to share your feelings about your trip to Virgina Beach. I apologize for the restaurant experience you received. We actually lease that outlet out to a third party and therefore I am unable to manage it the way it should be. I anticipate a change on the horizon and can... More 

Windsor, United States
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel itself is nice and the rooms are comfortable. However, the parking garage is very narrow and we had to ascend up the ramps all the way to the fifth level. The ramps are steep and when you turn to ascend the next level, it scrapes the bottom of your car badly, especially if you don't have a SUV... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that you found the parking garage difficult to traverse. The garage is surely an older model but most people enjoy having free on-site parking since not all hotels offer this amenity. I am glad that you found the hotel to be clean and comfortable. Please let me know the next time you come to Virginia Beach, I... More 

Lancaster, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Hotel was nice. Room was clean for the most part. Rooms are small but nice and have a balcony. The included breakfast was awesome. The parking is included and is in a deck where you can park near your room. Only one space per room included. The "highspeed" Internet is a joke. It's throttled wayyyyy down. The pool was the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jason C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! This winter we plan on giving the pool area a tremendous face lift and I know you will truly love it. We are also in the process of increasing the upload/download speed at the hotel so you will be go to go next time you come our way. Please don't hesitate to contact me when... More 

Miller Place, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Never stayed at VB before and loved it. Hotel is right on the boardwalk. View overlooking the beach and boardwalk made sitting on the balcony always interesting. Great place to stay- breakfast was good but don't take the staff's advice of sitting down and waiting for the line to go down-it never does!- stay on line!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jason C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review

What a great review! I was happy to hear that you enjoyed your first trip to Virginia Beach and very happy you choose to stay with us! You are totally right about the breakfast line. It's almost as if everybody calls everyone else and says: "Let's all go down at the same time". Thank you for your patience and understanding.... More 

Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If it wasn't for the location with a view of the ocean and right on the board walk, it wouldn't get many visitors. Upon check in, reception never told us that there were fireworks that night right outside our room. The room was clean enough, but we were not able to adjust the AC. It was hot or very, very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review

I was sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy the fire works that the city provides, most guests get very excited when they see the wonderful display but I imagine it's not for everyone. The city offers fire works every Wednesday and Sunday nights all summer long so you may need to try a hotel located on the Chesapeake Bay.... More 

Frederick, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our experience with this hotel did not start out so well. We were informed 30 minutes before check-in via a phone call that we had been moved to a different hotel because of an overbooking situation. Who ever we spoke with tried to make it sound like the move was an upgrade because the new hotel room was a room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jason C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to write a review regarding your experience at The Best Western Plus Sandcastle. I also want to apologize again for not being able to accommodate you and your lovely wife on the first night of your arrival. I was very happy to be able to bring you back... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

270 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (260)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (75)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (58)
Viewed
View from room (33)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South
Courtyard by Marriott Virginia B...
#3 of 114 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 652 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Vir...
#45 of 114 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 867 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#6 of 114 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites
Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites
#8 of 114 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 488 reviews
1.0 mi away
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
#5 of 114 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 339 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#36 of 114 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay