We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1307 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    297
    120
    51
    39
See reviews for
424
254
16
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (902)
  • Mar-May only
    (143)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (390)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (272)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (97)
All months
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Stayed for two days. Views from room were great. Very clean hotel. There is not a sliding door so I had to prop the door open to listen to waves of ocean all day. The bathroom ceilings are kind of low. I had a king room. The lobby was very nice with fireplaces in them. They did offer free breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here for four days. This hotel is perfect for all. It's about midway on boardwalk. Location is great. Fishing pier is in back and there's an amusement park in front for the kids. Rooms are clean, well maintained. Beds are comfortable. Staff is friendly and professional. Full breakfast is nice (don't forget to tip breakfast staff, they work hard)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jason C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to write a review regarding your most recent stay with us here at The Best Western Plus Sandcastle. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that you will be back this summer so that you can enjoy everything that Virgina Beach has... More 

Richmond, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Overall stay was great! The hotel staff made sure we were greeted with smiles and assured our stay would be awesome. When getting to our room, our cleaning representative left a note, hoping we enjoyed our stay and we did!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jason C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Best Western Plus Sandcastle Hotel. We try to treat each guest like they are apart of our extended family. There are so many hotels to choose from down here at the beach and we are so glad that you decided to stay with us. Please come... More 

Mechanicsville, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great stay, loved the room with the full refrigerator. Our family of 5 was not cramped. My only complaint was that breakfast was served in the restaurant that was attached to the hotel and while you were given meal tickets, you had to tip the wait staff, but it is buffet style, the wait staff just gets you drinks and... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jason C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review

I am so glad that you enjoyed your room and the time you spent with us. I was disappointed to find out that it seems like you were pressured to tip the waitstaff at the buffet. We lease that outlet to an outside owner and I plan on contacting him regarding your situation because I find it unacceptable. Please contact... More 

lynchburg, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Hotel was dirty and the cancellation policy is terrible, We will Never stay here again. I felt very unsafe as the parking garage opens right into the hotel floor. Door was not locked! I will never recommend this hotel to anyone!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review

I must disagree. We have the same cancellation policy that all the oceanfront hotels have which is 72 hours in advance. Most guests really enjoy the convenience that the parking garage offers but I guess you didn't. We won't look for you in the future. Take care. Best, Jason C. General Manager More 

Annandale, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My wife and I took a long weekend to celebrate our Anniversary. The room was nice and overlooks the ocean so we could watch the dolphins with our coffee in the morning as the sun was coming up. We had a very nice time. I would recommend staying here.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jason C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review

Great review, thank you so much for sharing. We are so glad that you enjoyed your room and that you took advantage of your oceanfront private balcony. It can be so peaceful out there on most morning, drinking a cup of coffee, listening to the waves break on the shore. Please come back again soon. We would love to have... More 

Oregon, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Virginia Beach has a great family atmosphere for a vacation. The hotel was slightly above average, with many upgrades made recently, especially in the lobby. Check in was quick, and the front desk staff were extremly helpful. Many activities within walking distance, so no car is really needed for a short stay. Will certainly be back, though during the warmer... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jason C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind words, we greatly appreciate it. I am so glad that you had a good time and that you enjoyed the beach. I hope to see you again soon. Best, Jason C. General Manager More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Would recommend this hotel for a quick trip. Perfect view of the ocean and great price. Lesson learned always call the hotel ahead of time to see what "event" is taking place in the area. We stayed during "cheer week" very crowded and noisy. The Atlas restaurant was pretty good and we loved their breakfasts.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jason C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to write a review regarding your most recent stay with us here at The Best Western Plus Sandcastle. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay minus the chaos of the Cheerleaders. We have a ton of weekends filled with really cool stuff to do and see... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I could not be happier with my stay over Easter 2015 long family weekend. We made our reservations on the phone but when we arrived (great customer service) the room was not what I booked. The front staff immediately came up with a solution and rectified the problem. I did end up with the accurate room. Every staff member that... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jason C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us here at The Best Western Plus Sandcastle. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and that my staff was helpful. Our Number 1 goal is to provide each and every guest with an enjoyable stay. Please come back and see us again soon. Best Regards, Jason C. General Manager More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

the room had lots of room to move around and the breakfast in morning was free and tasty and hot. nice place to stay. the beach was nice and close. the indoor pool was a little small but nice and warm for that quick dip

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jason C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Best Western Plus Sandcastle. We are so happy that you found your guest room to be spacious and convenient. The breakfast is a great little bonus that our guests can enjoy. We have a great location and try to make sure that all our guests enjoy themselves while they're in Virginia Beach. Thank you once again... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

293 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (244)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (56)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (72)
Viewed
View from room (31)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (49)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question