We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1307 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    298
    121
    51
    39
See reviews for
427
255
16
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (907)
  • Mar-May only
    (148)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (390)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (272)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (97)
All months
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My daughters and I spent a few days at the Sandcastle celebrating their birthdays and were absolutely thrilled with the location, not to mention the service. Everyone we encountered was friendly, service with a smile. Front desk staff was more than accommodating. View from the balcony was superb. Room was nicely decorated not to mention clean. Breakfast was delicious, hot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Washington, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I always appreciate any hotel that heats their pool to at least the high 80s, so even though pool was small it was very nice in which to swim. Overall, the hotel is dated. Room was nice, but nothing special. Hot breakfast, but just OK food and there is NO waffle bar. Local is central. Kids appreciated that Fun Park... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Upon arrival we were very pleased with our choice to book with Best Western Plus. The hotel was very clean and welcoming from the lobby to the room. The staff was welcoming, friendly and helpful. Their professionalism and personalities shined whenever we had a question about the hotel or the area. Front desk staff Trey was one of a kind,... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
32 hotel reviews
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I don't understand what some of negative reviews were for this place!? We stayed for four days in a king room. We choose Best Western for its excellent location, rate and the fact it's a modern hotel. Check in took less then 7mins. Front desk was beyond nice. We loved the parking garage! Our room was on the6th floor. Our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jason C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review

This is by far the best review we have ever received. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us and the rest of the country. We are truly flattered and thank you for your kind words. We try so hard to make sure that each and every guest is taken care of, I... More 

Basking Ridge
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is a nicely updated, modern hotel. Our room was comfortable and clean. Bathroom is small but functional. The pool is small but was heated to a nice temperature. What looks like a hot tub in the hotel pictures is actually a baby wading pool. There is no hot tub. If you are a light sleeper you might want to... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jason C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for choosing The Best Western Plus Sandcastle Hotel. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Regarding the fighter jets, you are correct, no matter where you stay at The Virginia Beach Oceanfront you are going to hear them fly. I myself live down at the beach and here them constantly. They are the sounds... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed for two days. Views from room were great. Very clean hotel. There is not a sliding door so I had to prop the door open to listen to waves of ocean all day. The bathroom ceilings are kind of low. I had a king room. The lobby was very nice with fireplaces in them. They did offer free breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jason C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your most recent stay with us here at The Best Western Plus Sandcastle. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us. I can assure you we are working on making our breakfast better than it's ever been before, it's a work in progress but... More 

New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for four days. This hotel is perfect for all. It's about midway on boardwalk. Location is great. Fishing pier is in back and there's an amusement park in front for the kids. Rooms are clean, well maintained. Beds are comfortable. Staff is friendly and professional. Full breakfast is nice (don't forget to tip breakfast staff, they work hard)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jason C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to write a review regarding your most recent stay with us here at The Best Western Plus Sandcastle. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that you will be back this summer so that you can enjoy everything that Virgina Beach has... More 

Richmond, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall stay was great! The hotel staff made sure we were greeted with smiles and assured our stay would be awesome. When getting to our room, our cleaning representative left a note, hoping we enjoyed our stay and we did!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jason C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Best Western Plus Sandcastle Hotel. We try to treat each guest like they are apart of our extended family. There are so many hotels to choose from down here at the beach and we are so glad that you decided to stay with us. Please come... More 

Mechanicsville, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great stay, loved the room with the full refrigerator. Our family of 5 was not cramped. My only complaint was that breakfast was served in the restaurant that was attached to the hotel and while you were given meal tickets, you had to tip the wait staff, but it is buffet style, the wait staff just gets you drinks and... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jason C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review

I am so glad that you enjoyed your room and the time you spent with us. I was disappointed to find out that it seems like you were pressured to tip the waitstaff at the buffet. We lease that outlet to an outside owner and I plan on contacting him regarding your situation because I find it unacceptable. Please contact... More 

lynchburg, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel was dirty and the cancellation policy is terrible, We will Never stay here again. I felt very unsafe as the parking garage opens right into the hotel floor. Door was not locked! I will never recommend this hotel to anyone!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review

I must disagree. We have the same cancellation policy that all the oceanfront hotels have which is 72 hours in advance. Most guests really enjoy the convenience that the parking garage offers but I guess you didn't. We won't look for you in the future. Take care. Best, Jason C. General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

293 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (244)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (56)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (72)
Viewed
View from room (31)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (49)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question