We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1211 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

534 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed with our three young grandchildren while visiting relatives in the area. The staff were very considerate and accommodating. The swimming pool was out of service due to construction and my grandchildren were very active with little to do at the hotel. The staff was very understanding and helpful.

Helpful?
Thank Michael T C
Dannielle Q, Guest Services Supervisor at Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites, responded to this review

It's very rewarding to know that you found the staff to be exceptionally helpful and accommodating. Hopefully the weather will be sunny and warm when you have the opportunity to come back. We would be honored to host your future stays when in Virginia Beach. Sincerely, Dannielle Q. Guest Services Supervisor More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It was simply amazing...the front desk people where very welcoming as well as the hotel itself the pool isn't much to speak of but when. Your going to the beach..it's just for that..not the pool...the location on the boardwalk is pretty amazing close to the thing peir..

Helpful?
Thank Amanda W
Dannielle Q, Guest Services Supervisor at Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and for taking the time to leave our future guests with positive feedback! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, and all the amenities the hotel had to offer! We have been busy with making improvements in the pool area, and through out the entire hotel. I hope your next... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015 via mobile

My family's recent visit here was okay. I understood that the hotel was undergoing construction at the time of my stay, which wasn't a problem. There were some small things however, that was an inconvenience. The water in our room took FOREVER to get warm; at least 15 minutes! I thought it was very thoughtful that the housekeepers got Christmas... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sheree W
Dannielle Q, Guest Services Supervisor at Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. As you have mentioned, we are in the middle of a major renovation to our hotel lobby, and are looking forward to the brand new finished product. I assure you, it's going to be sensational. Also, we have temporarily moved our ice machine due to renovation, but it... More 

Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
505 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015 via mobile

Everyone enjoyed the hotel for the event. They provided great room rates for our guests. They are currently renovating the hotel and it will be greatly improved for next season. Beautiful views of the Christmas lights down the Boardwalk.

Helpful?
Thank boxshop
Dannielle Q, Guest Services Supervisor at Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We are very glad to know you were pleased with the hotel overall. We greatly appreciate your recommendations. We look forward to hosting your stay once again and continuing to meet your expectations. Sincerely, Dannielle Q. Guest Services Supervisor More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2015

We stayed at this hotel during the Independence Day weekend. We traveled with our 4 year-old and with another family who had a 2 year-old. It was quite expensive (which is the only reason why I didn't rate it higher), but you would expect that during the high season. All the rooms face the ocean and you park your car... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank mgnelu
Dannielle Q, Guest Services Supervisor at Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review of our hotel. We work really hard at providing the comforts of home at budget-friendly rates. This allows for guests to relax and enjoy the many attractions and entertainment Virginia Beach has to offer. We would love to host any future stays when visiting Virginia Beach! Sincerely, Dannielle Q. Guest Services Supervisor More 

Cumberland, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2015

We had a very nice weekend. The staff was very helpful and courteous. We were aware of the renovations before arriving and it really didn't interfere with any of our plans. We were very surprised when we arrived for breakfast that they had a wide variety of breakfast items both hot and standard continental. The breakfast staff was very friendly... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kathy G
Dannielle Q, Guest Services Supervisor at Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share a review, and for your positive comments. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! The Holiday Lights at the Beach are one of my favorite things to enjoy this time of year. I hope your next stay is just around the corner. Please call us if... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2015

We knew up front about the renovation work that is going on during the off season.The rate was the best deal available for a room with a balcony overlooking the ocean so we went for it. Who really cares if the halls and lobby are in the process of a makeover? I think the workout area was also closed for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jim H
Dannielle Q, Guest Services Supervisor at Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Wow! What a wonderful review! We truly appreciate your business and trust in us! I am very happy to hear that our staff and services met your needs and expectations! We look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit anytime you are in the area! Sincerely, Dannielle Q. Guest Services Supervisor More 

Dover, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2015

had a great time except the heated indoor pool was not heated. got charged for the rate of neptune festival which got moved to the convention center. great price for the suite, the one elevator gat stuck but overall had a great time

Helpful?
Thank Laurie T
Dannielle Q, Guest Services Supervisor at Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff. We are very glad to know you were pleased with the hotel overall. We look forward to hosting your stay once again and continuing to meet your expectations. Sincerely, Dannielle Q. Guest Services Supervisor More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2015

My wife and I arrived on a Friday and only two rooms were rented that night and I was told that the much talked about breakfast would be limited to a continental breakfast the next morning. I had picked the hotel based on the TripAdvisor reviews that touted the breakfast. Early Saturday morning, the very nice lady that ran the... More 

Helpful?
Thank GARY W
Dannielle Q, Guest Services Supervisor at Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. It truly means a lot that our hotel, and amenities exceeded your expectations. It's very rewarding to know that you found the staff to be exceptionally helpful and accommodating. We would be honored to host your future stays when in Virginia Beach. Sincerely, Dannielle Q. Guest Services Supervisor More 

Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2015

The hotel apparently is undergoing renovations to turn into a Sheraton. It has a long, long ways to go. Hallways were bare with trim ripped out. Carpet was horrible. Our room looked nice but had a terrible chemical smell, probably from the broken toilet. We needed two trips from maintenance to fix it. The second young man was wonderful and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
Dannielle Q, Guest Services Supervisor at Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I'm sorry that we didn't meet or exceed your expectations. I apologize that your stay was compromised by the noise from your AC in your room, and also from guests in the surrounding area. We assigned each individual team to different floors.We were unsuccessful in locating your iPad in your... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

478 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (126)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (36)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (332)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
Beach (42)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (53)
Viewed
Double Queen Suite (74)
Viewed
King Room (41)
Viewed
Pool (16)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Bea...
#16 of 112 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,212 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#4 of 112 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 463 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#1 of 112 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Breakers Resort Inn
The Breakers Resort Inn
#27 of 112 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 337 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#7 of 112 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
0.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South
Courtyard by Marriott Virginia B...
#6 of 112 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay