We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 115 Virginia Beach hotels

Cavalier Hotel

3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4201 Atlantic Avenue & 42nd Street, Oceanfront, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Hotel website
Hotel packages
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
4th Night Free
Save Saved
You added Cavalier Hotel to your Saves list
Cavalier Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
35%
Ranked #84 of 115 hotels in Virginia Beach
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
denise b Clayton, North Carolina
  • Overview
  • Reviews (56)
  • Photos (43)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (23)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    11
    13
    14
    10
See reviews for
25
12
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clayton, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I booked this hotel with trepidation after reading some of the reviews. The cons first: Not the cleanest place I've ever stayed but mostly surface dirt... corners not cleaned well, places that need repair, general shabbiness. Pros? The beds are extremely comfortable, guest services amazing. An actual concierge that knows his business, doormen that anticipate your needs, everyone is friendly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martino D, General Manager at Cavalier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and for staying at the Cavalier. We are glad you enjoyed the sleep quality and friendly service from our entire staff. I also appreciate your comments regarding housekeeping issues you experienced during your stay. I have followed up with our executive housekeeper to review our processes based on your feedback.... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

First off , the rooms are dirty, full of ants and everything is rusted. Second off, the service is horrible. I paid cash for 3 days but once I saw how horrible the rooms were I decided I wanted to check out early. The employees said they would mail me the refund but then the supervisor gave us a hard... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martino D, General Manager at Cavalier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. I apologize for the unacceptable issues you experienced with our housekeeping which are not consistent with our standards, nor what our guests expect when staying at our property. Your comments were shared with our management and housekeeping teams and corrective action has been taken. Again, thank you for taking time to leave... More

Mechanicsville, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I have been vacationing at this hotel for 20 years, overall. What a wonderful and caring place this was. What a disgrace the new management has done to this hotel. It really saddens me to see how it has fallen apart. I understand it is closing as of Sept.1, but they forget that they are still open to the public... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Martino D, General Manager at Cavalier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your stay at the Cavalier. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay as much as your previous stays, I personally apologize that your expectations were not met. We do appreciate your loyalty as a returning guest, and we strive for consistency and excellent... More

Lorton, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

**DO NOT STAY AT THE CAVALIER HOTEL IN VIRGINIA BEACH** **ZERO STARS** We arrived and thought we'd made a good decision. We have not been to Virginia Beach for a very long time. We picked up our keys and were surprised to see both the dining area and the gift shop closed. We entered our rooms, we reserved 2 back... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Martino D, General Manager at Cavalier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your stay. I apologize for the multiple issues you experienced with our property and amenities . Your comments have been shared with our entire staff as well as our management team. We are reviewing our processes based on your feedback. Again, thank you for your feedback. More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My experience at this hotel was horrible. There were ants everywhere in both rooms they gave us. Ants over the bed in the bathroom and horrible service. And the smoke alarms are rusty and old. I do not recommend this hotel ever in my life. Do yourself a favor and never book a room here but to make fun of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Martino D, General Manager at Cavalier Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. I apologize for the unacceptable issues you experienced during your stay. I have followed up with our management team and corrective action has been taken. Again thank you for sharing your feedback. More

Harrisonburg, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I don't think we will stay at the Cavalier again. The parking is awful. To park in the hotel parking lot, you have to pay a fee everyday. To avoid the fee, you have to park across the street at the old Cavalier. We had to cross the busy median several times. The reason we didn't stay at the same... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Martino D, General Manager at Cavalier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your stay. I apologize for the unacceptable issues you experienced our housekeeping which are not consistent with our standards, nor what our guests expect staying at our property. Your comments have been shared with our management and housekeeping teams and corrective action has been taken. We also welcome the opportunity to make this... More

Sherbrooke, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Everything is fine. The beach is wonderful and my room is great. The grounds are beautiful and its a very short walk to the boardwalk. Took in some great shows last night. My room is clean and fresh. I am very happy. And the elevators are fast. Not sure why others are complaining so glad I choose this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martino D, General Manager at Cavalier Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking time to leave us positive feedback about your stay at the Cavalier. We are happy to here you enjoyed your accommodations, view and our property décor. Your kind comments have been shared with our team We look forward to being of service to you during future visits to Virginia Beach. More

Long Island, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we were there July 14-17, 2014 and were very disappointed. Room not ready so we went to eat lunch in the restaurant there. We seated ourselves in the indoor restaurant part. The wait staff was literally RUNNNG in and out of the outdoor dining area back in to the kitchen area. They looked ridiculous. That was our first impression. Then... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Martino D, General Manager at Cavalier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. I apologize for the unacceptable issues you experienced with our restaurant and bar service, which are not consistent with our normal performance, nor what you deserve when staying at the Cavalier. Your comments have been shared with our food and beverage director and corrective action has been taken. We also would welcome... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed with my wife's sister and friend July 145-17, 2014. The motel had its good and not so good points. Every employee we encountered was friendly and helpful. The bathroom was clean and had a heated floor. However, there were eight rather large holes where a previous towel rack had been removed. No real maid service, though we saw... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Martino D, General Manager at Cavalier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your stay. I apologize for the unacceptable issues you experienced with housekeeping and maintenance which are not consistent with our standards, nor what our guests expect when staying at our property. Your comments have been share with our housekeeping and maintenance management teams and corrective action has been taken. We also welcome the... More

Mechanicsville, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we were there july 12 to july 14 2014 worst place I ever stay at what a let down , pools dirty, rooms to small ,$ 7.50 a night to park in there own parking lot can you beleave that. never again would I stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Martino D, General Manager at Cavalier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your stay. I apologize for the issues you experienced with our pool and parking. I have followed up with our management team to review our processes based on your comments. Again thank you for your feedback. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Cavalier Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Cavalier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Hotel

Address: 4201 Atlantic Avenue & 42nd Street, Oceanfront, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cavalier Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Cavalier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavalier Resort Virginia Beach
Cavalier Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Cavalier Hotel Resort

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach #45 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
400

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer