We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Founders Inn and Spa

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
5641 Indian River Road, Virginia Beach, VA 23464
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Founders Inn and Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Founders Inn and Spa
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    168
    79
    35
    41
See reviews for
183
192
24
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (608)
  • Mar-May only
    (132)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (245)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (134)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (97)
All months
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

What separates a decent restaurant from an exceptional restaurant can often be as little as how well they handle adversity. I was a guest at this hotel and ordered room service. The meal arrived very quickly which was awesome, however the main course of my meal was sub-par. Now I understand that everyone can have an off moment so I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
33 hotel reviews
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Just finished off a 5 day stay. Accurate reservation. Pleasant front desk personnel at check in. Really clean room and spacious bathroom. Needed something faxed and the front desk did it 2x with a smile on their faces and genuinely said it was their pleasure. Easy checkout without any inaccuracies. Visited restaurant and they had excellent breakfast and lunch. Half... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Wish to thank Emily for providing excellent hospitality and service while we enjoyed breakfast in the Swan Terrace Restaurant on April 11! Chef A.J. cooked very delicious omelet that added to the dining experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mass
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We took advantage of this Groupon deal for three nights. We had such a wonderful time. Was the most restful sleep we have had during our many years of travel. The bed and the suite was very comfortable and large. The hotel has a number of great restaurants. But if you wanted to enjoy a meal nearby, there are many... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Massqueen, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am so glad you you had a wonderful experience and a restful night sleep is always great. I hope while here you had an opportunity to walk through the gardens. Please come back and visit us soon. Sincerely, Ellen Ruane General Manager More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a Groupon-inspired trip. We bought Groupons for Busch Gardens and wanted to stay somewhere close by. Founder's in was only about an hour away with an $80 Groupon, it was a good deal. The outside of the property is gorgeous and we were excited to see it when we arrived. We were disappointed by the interior, which was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Katethegreat33: I would like to thank you for being our guest. I am happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our décor is purposely colonial. But, please let us know when you return, we will do our best to place you in one of our guest rooms with a new contemporary bathroom renovation. I do apologize... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Laura and Tracy, at the Founders Inn Day Spa, were wonderful masseuses. The day spa was very friendly, informed us about the amenities, options we had, and answered all of our questions. We had a 50minute couples massage where we were placed in the same room, and we enjoyed it. In the concession room, you get to enjoy the beautiful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Dwayne H: I am so pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel especially in the spa. I will be sure to thank Laura and Tracy. Dwayne, we certainly look forward to serving you again when you return. Thank you so much for being our guest. More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Founder's Inn was very disappointing. Not only is the entire facilities outdated, it's such a hassle to purchase common things like a Diet Coke from the Sundries store. When purchasing a drink you must go into this closet, grab your items and then walk back to the front desk and have them go thru a 7 step process for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear RancidPunks, Thank you for your review. We welcome all guest feedback, positive or negative, as it helps us improve. Please accept my apologies for the service you received during your stay. This is certainly not the high standard we set for ourselves. I do hope you will join us again so we may prove our standards to you. Sincerely,... More 

Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at The Founders for 3 nights this time and it was not our first but certainly our time. What a disappointment this time!!!! The Hotel is still nice enough overall and they even refurbished some rooms, but everything what we enjoyed previously has disappeared. We recognized some employees and even they sounded negative. Set aside such obvious facts,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
King George, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a terrific and unexpected surprise. I was in Norfolk on business and booked 2 nights at The Founders Inn and Spa. From the moment I set foot through the door, the staff assisted me with all of my business needs. "Can you fax this for me? Make copies of this? Provide me with a work area?" The answer was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Superkuper, I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay during your business travels. It is one of our main goals to provide all guests with supreme care and comfort. How great that you could also enjoy a meal in our dining areas. I hope that you'll join us again the next time you are in Virginia Beach.... More 

Dover, Delaware
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great place to walk around with your lover and take selfies. The garden is beautiful, even in 30 degree weather! We couldn't have been happier with our room. We traveled from Charleston, SC enroute to Delaware. We were hesitant to detour from our route home, however we were glad we did! The room was clean, spacious, and priced right.

Was this review helpful? Yes
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear SuperSlik, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. How great that you were able to take advantage of taking pictures in the garden. It certainly is a lovely feature of the hotel. Please join us again soon. Sincerely, Ellen Ruane General Manager More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Very nice(14)
  • Outdoor pool(6)
  • Swan Terrace(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

187 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (150)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (80)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question