We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Founders Inn and Spa

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
5641 Indian River Road, Virginia Beach, VA 23464
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Founders Inn and Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Founders Inn and Spa
Share an Experience

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    167
    78
    34
    40
See reviews for
182
187
23
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (598)
  • Mar-May only
    (122)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (245)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (134)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (97)
All months
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

My daughter was looking for a place to just go and relax while on our way to Virgina beach and Williamsburg Virginia. She found this hotel based on its Historicaly themed setting. All I could say is WOW! When we arrived, it was right off the road and I could not see much but after we got out of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Founders Inn for 2 weeks for business. The colonial decor rooms were very outdated, and could use a facelift. The bathrooms were updated and nice. The staff were very very nice. Hazel from housekeeping, Max in facilites, and Rochelle at the front desk. Nice indoor pool and hot tub. The worst part was the food. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Tricia C, Thank you for your review. I am glad you were able to experience the service from our hospitable employees. I do apologize that the rest of your stay did not exceed your expectations. This is certainly not the experience we wish our guests to have. I will bring your comments on the dining outlets to the attention... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had an excellent visit there. The staff were all super attentive and the room and all areas of the Inn that we visited were clean and well kept. The location was fantastic for getting to the sites we wanted to see.

Was this review helpful? Yes
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Ashley M, Thank you so much for your review. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We strive to provide memorable stays for all guests. I hope that we'll see you again very soon. Sincerely, Ellen Ruane General Manager More 

Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have lived down the street my whole life and never visited. Rooms are given a colonial decor but the bathrooms are updated. The hallways were outdated and the floor was soaked. The beds were comfortable and we didn't have any major issues with the temperature. I thought it was a wonderful stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Melieka W, Thank you for your review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. We are happy that locals visit us! Thank you for letting us know about our areas of opportunity, so that we can improve those areas. I do hope you will join us again soon! Sincerely, Ellen Ruane General Manager More 

San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This nice hotel resort adjacent to Regent University was a delightful place to stay and relax. Our family chose it as a birthday reunion site because most of the family lives in Virginia. The remaining few of us found decent air connections from Texas and Kansas. The February special birthday rate was attractive. Our room 4237 with two double beds,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear AntietamAl, Thank you for your review. I'm so glad you were able to join us for your reunion. We strive to exceed your expectations through our customer service and well-appointed rooms. How wonderful you were able to enjoy the Spa and breakfast at the restaurant. Please accept my sincerest apologies that you did not have a great experience in... More 

va
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Suites are spacious for a family of four. Rooms look dated but I assume that's the idea. Wi-Fi was spotty. Avoid the hunt room altogether. Dinner was AWFUL. Food was terrible and insanely overpriced, server was overworked and slow, tried a local brewed stout, server didn't know how to pour it, ended up with 1/3 of a glass of beer... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear SoulSlayer0, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We strive to provide an excellent stay for all guests and I apologize that your experience fell short. Your food and beverage comments will be passed on to the restaurant team, so that we may improve those areas of opportunity. I am glad you enjoyed... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I was excited to join my young adult daughter for her first spa experience. I can honestly say that she still has not had one. We were given papers to fill out by someone who was leaving work for the day as obvious by her hat, gloves, etc. We arrived around 2:30 for 4:00 pedicure appointments, as the website stated... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FoundersInn, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear TravelMomRN, Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your experience. I welcome all reviews, positive or negative, as it greatly helps in improving our services for all guests. Please accept my sincere apology to you and your daughter regarding your visit to our spa. I would like to invite you and your daughter back and... More 

Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

We had to stay at the Founder's Inn two nights for work because of the snow. I say "had to stay" but it was a pleasure to stay. The staff was fantastic, making sure we had everything we needed. They made sure that the walkways were shoveled and safe.My husband and I relaxed and had dinner in the Hunt Club... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Terry L, Thank you so much for your kind review. I am glad we could help make the snow day even better for you and your husband. We strive to provide comfortable accommodations, along with great dining options. I do hope you'll get the chance to stay with us again, perhaps even during the summer months. See you soon!... More 

Palmerton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015 via mobile

We came here for a quilters convention called "birds of a feather" and arrived late. They upgraded us to a king suite with a fireplace (we booked a room w/ 2 beds) so I took the pull out sleeper sofa which had a memory foam mattress and was very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast buffet was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Babs12858, Thank you for your review! I'm so glad you could join us for the "Birds of a Feather" conference. How wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay, including the comfortable bed, breakfast buffet, and excellent customer service. Thank you for sharing your photo with Abby the Swan. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Founders Inn... More 

Hampton, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

We hosted a baby shower at the Founders Inn today and the experience was absolutely phenomenal! The staff were super attentive, the food was AMAZING and displayed beautifully! Everyone was super friendly! We had 30 guests and they are all still raving about the customer service and the buffet! Even staff not assigned to our event were helpful and assisted... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Alonzaf, Thank you for your kind review. It was our pleasure to assist you in hosting the baby shower. We pride ourselves in providing excellent customer service to help execute successful events. I do hope you will join us again to celebrate many more joyous occasions. Sincerely, Ellen Ruane General Manager More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Very nice(14)
  • Outdoor pool(6)
  • Swan Terrace(4)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

183 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (146)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (78)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question