We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Econo Lodge Oceanfront

2.0 of 5 2109 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    42
    15
    18
    11
See reviews for
42
32
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (124)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (51)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff of management, front desk, and check in/valet went above and beyond to correct our impression of a somewhat negative impression of area accommodations to a completely positive stay based on their concerns, positive attitudes and actions to and for both couples who stayed there for their Anniversary, Valentine's day, and visiting for possible relocation to area during storm Neptune.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

It means so much to us to hear your positive comments regarding our staff hospitality. I regret to learn that you had a negative impression of our hotel at first, though, I am so glad that our attentive and understanding staff members were able to turn things around for you with fresh surroundings and welcoming hospitality. It's rewarding to learn... More 

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this hotel as a last minute getaway from home & were happy with our choice. We stayed on the fifth floor in a king room, which was very clean & comfortable (the pillows were amazing). The room was updated & looked just like the picture online. We got there before check in time & were happy that our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Thank you so much for sharing your review and giving us an honest look at the guest experience in our hotel. We appreciate the compliments and the comments regarding areas where can improve. We hope to see you again soon, to give you another wonderful nights' sleep, and to impress you with the improvements to our amenities. More 

Ruckersville, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room fee equal to facility. Restaurants and small bar and grills in walking distance. Clean, nice king bed. Roomy bath. Good hot powerful shower. Friendly, courteous staff. Hallways not heated. I would assume not air conditioned either. Parking garage very poorly lit, but gets locked down at dark which suits us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. We appreciate that you have taken the time to let us know how you perceived our accommodations. We hope that you were satisfied with our hospitality and we look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Martinsburg, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

Reserved a room off of Choicehotels.com. The pictures are NOT what the rooms look like. Our room smelled funny, the carpet was stained, the carpet was pulling up from the floor and the room was rundown. We did talk to Bob about it and he allowed us to look at another room but it was much of the same. He... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

We want to apologize for the issues that you experienced such as the smelly room and stained pulled up carpet; though we are very pleased to hear that our staff (Bob) was able to make sure that it was promptly addressed and that you were still able to enjoy your stay. We hope to see you again soon, and hopefully... More 

Orlando, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

I had to into Tidewater for a family event, and choose to stay at this EconoLodge for the price and location. It was surprisingly nice. The night staff was friendly and polite. The rooms were large compared to most and the view of the beach was exactly what i expected. It had an ice cold fridge and working microwave, clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and to acknowledge the efforts of our hardworking staff to be as friendly and helpful. It means a lot to hear from guests who are satisfied with all of our services and amenities. We are also very happy that you found our location to be convenient. We appreciate that you... More 

Appomattox
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised. They was able to get me a King size bed and the room was nicer than what I was thinking. Thank God. I have had a horrible run with hotels in the year. I don't know about the double bed rooms but the King size room was NICE!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Management response:

We are so glad to hear from you and to learn that we were able to give you a pleasant experience. I am glad that we were able to meet your expectations of service and accommodations and we're all looking forward to your next visit! More 

Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

We stayed here on our vacation in November 2014. The only problem we had was the balcony door wouldn't unlock but after a quick call to the front desk and the problem was solved. We stayed during the off season so the price was great. The hotel does need a update as it is dated. J

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to review our property. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience caused by the balcony door that wouldn't unlock during your stay. We are constantly looking for ways to enhance the positive experiences of our guests and your valuable feedback will assist us to correct our deficiencies. We... More 

Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

Four large floor to ceiling windows that offer a fantastic view! Pleasant staff that was very attentive to my needs. Clean room. Convenience of kitchenette. Large balcony. Fresh and tasty pastries. It truly was a great stay. If it wasn't for Jannette's suggestion we would never have stayed, but boy are we glad we did! Jannette is a great asset... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Management response:

We are so glad to hear from you and to learn that we were able to give you a pleasant experience. It is heartwarming to hear of how our efforts to give you a great experience, filled with hospitality, comfort, and convenience have been successful. It is so rewarding to hear that we were able to provide a clean and... More 

Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

Our king bed room on the 9th floor was just fine. No smells or bugs as I've read in other posts. Room was clean and the water pressure was nice. Some hotels restrict the water pressure to save on their bill but not them. Pool was warm but small. In fact very small and with only 4 people in it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Management response:

We sincerely appreciate your time and effort to write us a very insightful review. We want you to know that your feedback and description of your experience at our hotel, your satisfaction, and enjoyment are very important to us. It is very important to us to make sure that every guest enjoys a comfortable and safe experience. We hope that... More 

New Bern, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

We stayed here for one night in October and really enjoyed our stay. The room was clean and inviting. Everything worked as it was supposed to. The king sized bed was comfortable as were the pillows. The food in the morning was basic but satisfying. The pool looked inviting but since we didn't bring our swimsuits, we didn't try it.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Thank you for your review, your feedback, and your comments regarding your stay. It is so rewarding to hear that we were able to provide a clean and comfortable experience. We seek to give each guest a very comfortable and accommodating experience and we are thrilled to hear of our success in this ambition. We are so glad that your... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Econo Lodge Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Oceanfront

Address: 2109 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Oceanfront 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Econolodge Virginia Beach
Econo Lodge Oceanfront Virginia Beach
Econo Lodge Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Econo Lodge
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
0:56
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay