We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Econo Lodge Oceanfront

Hotel website
Hotel deals
2109 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    43
    17
    18
    11
See reviews for
44
33
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (127)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (51)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
31 hotel reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here just one night and found it was just ok. The location is great right on the beach. However it is a very basic place to stay. Room was good size and it had a balcony with view. It is very much a budget hotel, if you are looking for a bit of comfort and those little extras, not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was worried when I found out where we were staying but I have to say after even 5 minutes in the hotel I was smiling and very comfortable! The rooms are a bit small but they were clean and the sheets were crisp and white with not even a hair anywhere, as I have seen at other hotels! The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Management response:

It is great to hear from you and I am so glad that you enjoyed our staff courtesy and have taken the time to recognize the hospitality and care that we aim to provide for each and every guest. It is very rewarding to hear your perspective of our hotel and we appreciate that you have acknowledged our efforts to... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed one night on our way from Myrtle Beach to NY. Pros: Room was clean, carpet was new. Right on the beach. We had an oceanview, first floor room. Had a balcony. Ice right on the same floor. Free breakfast, which was standard fare. Indoor pool was small, we didnt have time to go in. Cons: Parking garage is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Management response:

We strive to give you a great experience, and I am pleased to learn that we were able to meet your expectations in many ways; though I regret to hear that you weren't thoroughly impressed with our parking garage, bathroom, and balcony door. We appreciate how you have let us know what areas of our service impressed you and the... More 

Virginia
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
43 hotel reviews
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

I was looking for an inexpensive place to spend a few days on the ocean front before checking in to my timeshare for a week. This place had the lowest price of any oceanfront hotel and seemed to get pretty good ratings on tripadvisor. I also knew it was close to one of my favorite breakfast spots, Doc Taylors, so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Management response:

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was able to provide you with a friendly and enjoyable experience. It is wonderful to know that you were able to enjoy all the comforts of your room as well as the sunrise from your... More 

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

We booked this hotel as a last minute getaway from home & were happy with our choice. We stayed on the fifth floor in a king room, which was very clean & comfortable (the pillows were amazing). The room was updated & looked just like the picture online. We got there before check in time & were happy that our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Management response:

Thank you so much for sharing your review and giving us an honest look at the guest experience in our hotel. We appreciate the compliments and the comments regarding areas where can improve. We hope to see you again soon, to give you another wonderful nights' sleep, and to impress you with the improvements to our amenities. More 

Ruckersville, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
4 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

Room fee equal to facility. Restaurants and small bar and grills in walking distance. Clean, nice king bed. Roomy bath. Good hot powerful shower. Friendly, courteous staff. Hallways not heated. I would assume not air conditioned either. Parking garage very poorly lit, but gets locked down at dark which suits us.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Management response:

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. We appreciate that you have taken the time to let us know how you perceived our accommodations. We hope that you were satisfied with our hospitality and we look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Martinsburg, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

Reserved a room off of Choicehotels.com. The pictures are NOT what the rooms look like. Our room smelled funny, the carpet was stained, the carpet was pulling up from the floor and the room was rundown. We did talk to Bob about it and he allowed us to look at another room but it was much of the same. He... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

We want to apologize for the issues that you experienced such as the smelly room and stained pulled up carpet; though we are very pleased to hear that our staff (Bob) was able to make sure that it was promptly addressed and that you were still able to enjoy your stay. We hope to see you again soon, and hopefully... More 

Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

I had to into Tidewater for a family event, and choose to stay at this EconoLodge for the price and location. It was surprisingly nice. The night staff was friendly and polite. The rooms were large compared to most and the view of the beach was exactly what i expected. It had an ice cold fridge and working microwave, clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and to acknowledge the efforts of our hardworking staff to be as friendly and helpful. It means a lot to hear from guests who are satisfied with all of our services and amenities. We are also very happy that you found our location to be convenient. We appreciate that you... More 

Appomattox
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised. They was able to get me a King size bed and the room was nicer than what I was thinking. Thank God. I have had a horrible run with hotels in the year. I don't know about the double bed rooms but the King size room was NICE!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Management response:

We are so glad to hear from you and to learn that we were able to give you a pleasant experience. I am glad that we were able to meet your expectations of service and accommodations and we're all looking forward to your next visit! More 

Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on our vacation in November 2014. The only problem we had was the balcony door wouldn't unlock but after a quick call to the front desk and the problem was solved. We stayed during the off season so the price was great. The hotel does need a update as it is dated. J

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to review our property. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience caused by the balcony door that wouldn't unlock during your stay. We are constantly looking for ways to enhance the positive experiences of our guests and your valuable feedback will assist us to correct our deficiencies. We... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
0:56
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question