We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel

GreenLeadersSilver level
Hotel website
Hotel deals
3501 Atlantic Avenue, 36th Street & Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    223
    108
    58
    46
See reviews for
251
195
22
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (687)
  • Mar-May only
    (134)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (313)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (178)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (62)
All months
New York City
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

There is nothing special about this Virginia Beach "row" hotel. Our suite (number 429) was below average with a missing closet door, a dark sitting room with only one window and tired furniture, and a moldy smell from a ceiling leak in the bathroom. We reported this to the desk staff upon our departure. Hopefully, this will be remedied for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louisa, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for business over the fall of 2014. You can see that the hotel was renovated in recent years. Rooms were adequate although I had a few issues with my room on both visits. Once the lock wouldn't work and they sent someone in to fix it. The other was the A/C wasn't working and I got moved to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tia M, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time tell us about your trip. I would like apologize for your experiences in the restaurant during your stay. We appreciate you telling us, so we may work to improve our service. Our goal is to always exceed our guest's expectations, and I'm very sorry we were not able to do that during your stay.... More 

Farmville, Virginia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
18 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Couldn't have asked for a nicer location, price, or experience. The front desk and bell staff were all very helpful with parking, where to eat, etc. The room was lovely and VERY clean. We had a great view of the ocean from our balcony, too. The bedding was plush, and the bathroom very nice. Great water pressure and loads of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tia M, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay. I am happy hear you and your family enjoyed your stay and hope that means we get to see you again in the future. More 

Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We are lifetime Gold SPG members, meaning we have stayed at Starwood properties over 300 times. My husband travels extensively for work. We stayed at this property last June with our children. We were given a 2 bedroom suite with a pull-out sofa. We checked in and put our luggage in the room and went on our way. We returned... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tia M, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your trip last summer. I apologize that you experienced that at our hotel, as our goal is to provide the best possible stay. I hope that sometime in the future you decide to give us another chance to make a better impression. More 

Broadway, Virginia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very nice hotel. Valet service was exceptional. All the staff was friendly. The indoor and outdoor pool areas were always clean and having an inside bar as well as a bar by the outside pool was definitely a plus.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Tia M, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for telling us about your stay. I'm very happy to hear you had such a great time. We hope to see you again this summer. More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was my second stay at this hotel, Unfortunately, this visit was work related. I understand with it being winter, it's cold outside.To my dismay, it seem the cold followed me indoors as well. If it wasn't for the issues of not having hot water and the AC Unit not warming up my room to my desired temperature. I would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tia M, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I apologize for the issues you encountered with your heating unit, and the hot water. We will look into both issues as we seek to provide the best experience to our guest possible. I am happy to hear Ryan was able to be so kind and helpful. He... More 

Dunkirk, MD
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent a night here while visiting friends in the area. We weren't expecting much in February but we were pleasantly surprised. The staff was wonderful & even recommended some off site restaurants that turned out to be delightful. The room was spacious enough with a pull out for the kids and the air conditioner/heater worked well in keeping the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lee S, Manager at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you sharing this great review with us. I'm glad your family had a great time with us! We look forward to connecting with you on next visit to Virginia Beach. More 

Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

I know it is February in the middle of the winter. However, my room was way too cold. The heater would not get the temperature out of the upper 60s. However, the hotel was very responsive in terms of trying to adjust the heater. They moved us to a new room which was better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tia M, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for telling us about your stay. I'm glad we were able to make you more comfortable as our goal is to please our guests. We hope to see you again in the future. More 

Lynchburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

This hotel is very comfortable, the staff is top rate, and it has a good location. But the elevators are almost nonexistent. We ended up packing all the bags up four flights of stairs. Ruins an otherwise good experience. We were here two years ago in the middle of their remodeling construction, which was a hassle, but we attributed the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tia M, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I apologize the elevators do not appear to be in working order. Our team works really hard to ensure all parts of the hotel and kept up well and in working order for our guests, but sometimes there are unexpected issues that occur. We greatly appreciate your patience... More 

Long Island, NY
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

Left NY in the middle of a snowstorm and arrived to find 50-60 degree temps, not that far away. Hotel has access to the boardwalk and good (and free) parking right across the street. The hotel's indoor pool was clean and large for a beach front property. The front desk staff was friendly but unfortunately gave us wrong advice for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Tia M, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I'm glad you were able to avoid the storm for a little a while and come down to relax with us. I apologize for the misinformation, but most if not all the bike rental places are closed for the winter at our location. We hope to see you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

160 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (144)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
View from room (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (31)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
1:42
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question