We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel

GreenLeadersSilver level
Hotel website
Hotel deals
3501 Atlantic Avenue, 36th Street & Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    225
    109
    58
    46
See reviews for
251
197
22
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (691)
  • Mar-May only
    (139)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (312)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (178)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (62)
All months
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My boyfriend and I stayed her last week and we had a blast. Although the hotel was hosting a large high school band group, who were a bit rowdy at times, the hotel handled the chaos really well. They went out of their way to make sure there was additional security monitoring floors where the children resided. The hotel itself... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Virginia Beach, VA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On the Boardwalk, close to most the activities on the Oceanfront, a bargain when compared to some of the other hotels in the area. Of course rates depend on peak season. Spring and fall can be significantly less.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tia M, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We hope to see you again in the future! More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Took my 8 & 6 year olds to the beach for spring break. We had an excellent stay since we were upgraded to one bedroom suite by Ms. Tia. Hotel was 35% occupied only so we had the whole property to our selfs, yayy pool party. Everything was in working order and employees are super polite.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tia M, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for telling us about your stay. I am so glad to hear I was able to make your stay enjoyable. We take pride in taking very good care for our guests. We can't wait to see you again. More 

Erie, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very friendly staff. In the evening we had a great bartender - very friendly and knowledgable. There was a beautiful view from our oceanside room. AND our dog was welcome!! Despite the very cold weather it was a wonderful stay and walking on the beach is always a must! It is a great winter getaway - the town is nearly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tia M, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We are very pleased that you had such a great visit, and hope to see you next winter! More 

Sarnia, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for two nights end of March 2015. The staff were quick with check in and very friendly. Parking available for free across the street and valet also an option. Our room was clean with an ocean view on the 7th floor. Main complaints were that we had no hot water for showers at night, and the window... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lee S, Manager at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay! I apologize for the maintenance issue that you had with the hot water. We are diligently working to make sure all maintenance are dealt with during your stay. I hope you decide to give us a second chance in the near future. More 

New York City
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There is nothing special about this Virginia Beach "row" hotel. Our suite (number 429) was below average with a missing closet door, a dark sitting room with only one window and tired furniture, and a moldy smell from a ceiling leak in the bathroom. We reported this to the desk staff upon our departure. Hopefully, this will be remedied for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tia M, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I apologize it did not meet your expectations. We share the goals of our parent company Starwood, and wish to provide our guests with the best possible experience. Our front desk does report all feedback to the appropriate departments, because they understand it assists us in providing great... More 

Louisa, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed here for business over the fall of 2014. You can see that the hotel was renovated in recent years. Rooms were adequate although I had a few issues with my room on both visits. Once the lock wouldn't work and they sent someone in to fix it. The other was the A/C wasn't working and I got moved to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tia M, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time tell us about your trip. I would like apologize for your experiences in the restaurant during your stay. We appreciate you telling us, so we may work to improve our service. Our goal is to always exceed our guest's expectations, and I'm very sorry we were not able to do that during your stay.... More 

Farmville, Virginia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
18 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

Couldn't have asked for a nicer location, price, or experience. The front desk and bell staff were all very helpful with parking, where to eat, etc. The room was lovely and VERY clean. We had a great view of the ocean from our balcony, too. The bedding was plush, and the bathroom very nice. Great water pressure and loads of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tia M, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay. I am happy hear you and your family enjoyed your stay and hope that means we get to see you again in the future. More 

Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

We are lifetime Gold SPG members, meaning we have stayed at Starwood properties over 300 times. My husband travels extensively for work. We stayed at this property last June with our children. We were given a 2 bedroom suite with a pull-out sofa. We checked in and put our luggage in the room and went on our way. We returned... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Tia M, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your trip last summer. I apologize that you experienced that at our hotel, as our goal is to provide the best possible stay. I hope that sometime in the future you decide to give us another chance to make a better impression. More 

Broadway, Virginia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

Very nice hotel. Valet service was exceptional. All the staff was friendly. The indoor and outdoor pool areas were always clean and having an inside bar as well as a bar by the outside pool was definitely a plus.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Tia M, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for telling us about your stay. I'm very happy to hear you had such a great time. We hope to see you again this summer. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

164 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (148)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (31)
Viewed
View from room (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (31)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
1:42
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question