We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Winchester South

Hotel website
Hotel deals
165 Town Run Ln, Stephens City, VA 22655
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Winchester South
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Winchester South
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    39
    18
    3
    7
See reviews for
40
43
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (135)
  • Mar-May only
    (43)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (40)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (36)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After a long day and flight the hotel was as expected. Only complaint was that the doors had strong springs and banged every time they were closed. Breakfast was the usual Holiday Inn spread. The receptionist wasn't very cheerful but efficient.

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winchester South, responded to this review

Dear Awthin, Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am glad to were satisfied with the level of cleanliness provided and rated it to be excellent. However, I am really sorry that the front desk staff was not as accommodating as you have been expecting and that you were inconvenienced by the door mechanic... More 

Patchogue, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

I am not the biggest fan of giving 3-star ratings, as it often has a negative connotation to it. However, I feel as though with everything combined, I would say my experience here was quite average. Location is nice, as you can see it coming off I-81. Beware though, during rush hour the roads on the overpass get quite crowded... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winchester South, responded to this review

Dear Rita B, Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good points of your stay. We take all feedback from our guests seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are... More 

connecticut
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
35 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

We have styed here before several years ago. I thought it was an average HIE. The hotel is dated and shows signs of wear and tear. Room was Spartan but clean. Beds were a bit "mushy". I had not substantive issues.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert N, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winchester South, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Express. We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. More 

Norfolk, VA
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
57 hotel reviews
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

I had no complaints during a visit here last summer. Everything in the room and in the common areas was clean, functional, and attractive. The pool was cold, but clean. Breakfast was fresh and plentiful, with a staff member working feverishly to keep everything clean and stocked. The staff was the highlight here. They were friendly. They handled the transactions... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert N, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winchester South, responded to this review

We are glad to hear that everything with your stay was pleasant and that our staff made sure that you were comfortable. Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express and we hope to see you soon. More 

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

We booked from Hotwire the same day and got a King bed room that was immaculate at a very reasonable price. The front desk gentleman was so professional, welcoming and helpful. That makes all the difference when stopping at the end of a trip. Well done! Room was large, comfortable, clean and updated. There is a fridge, microwave, lounge chair... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert N, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winchester South, responded to this review

We are glad to know that you have had a very nice stay. You leaving our property with a good experience is our goal. More 

Hoboken, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

We are brining a 13 months old baby and we have to stay in a smoking room. Our son had running noses and was coughing at that night then he can't sleep because of smell. I feel terrible that we have to let him stay at that smoking room. WILL NEVER COME BACK

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert N, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winchester South, responded to this review

Sarinali1977, Thank you for your feed back. I want to apologize for the unpleasant night you and your family had at our hotel.We were completely sold out of non smoking rooms when your reservation showed in the system. If you can contact me directly I want to make things right for you and your family. Thanks again and hope to... More 

Centreville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

Hotel is conveniently located off I-81 and easy to access. Check in was efficient and the front office clerk was enthusiastic and helpful on questions regarding the area. Only downside was that I was given a smoking room as the reservation had come through a 3rd party website with no preference given on smoking. There were no other rooms available... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winchester South, responded to this review

Dear tvljr, Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and location of the hotel. The feedback we receive... More 

New York City, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

I stayed here during a recent visit to Shenandoah National Park. The hotel is conveniently located on I-81 a little north of I-66. Front desk staff was friendly and courteous. The room had comfortable bedding and decent furnishings. A large spider hanging from the ceiling suggested the room doesn't get much housekeeping, and the carpet was soaked near the window... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winchester South, responded to this review

Dear deorr, Thank you for writing a detailed review of our property. We are very glad you found our location convenient, the beds comfortable, and the breakfast to your liking. I do want to apologize for the inconvenience due to the air conditioning leak, as well as the noise disturbances. We strive to accommodate all our guests and their needs,... More 

Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
29 hotel reviews
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

Spent the night here while in the Winchester area and enjoyed our stay. Very friendly young gentleman checked us in and seemed very knowledgeable of the area. The room (208) was very clean and the bed was very comfortable providing a good nights sleep. The bathroom countertop showed a little wear and should be replaced the next time they do... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ontario
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

We were travelling south when we decided to look for hotel around this area. This Holiday Inn Express certainly stands up to the Holiday Inn name and reputation. Staff were extremely nice and helpful on check-in. Parking was good with access door close to the elevator. Room was clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question