We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Winchester South

Hotel website
Hotel deals
165 Town Run Ln, Stephens City, VA 22655
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Winchester South
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Winchester South
Add Photo Write a Review

140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    69
    40
    19
    4
    8
See reviews for
43
44
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (140)
  • Mar-May only
    (44)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (44)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (36)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Traveling and needed a stop over lodging. When making the reservation and then checking in the front desk was very nice and helpful. My mother is traveling with oxygen and without even asking they were nice enough to put us in a room near the elevator. Breakfast was good but it was a small eating area. My only negative was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I travel extensively for business. We found this Holiday Inn to be in keeping with the IHG brand, for which we were so grateful. Beautiful hotel. Super comfy bed! Clean room and bathroom. Yummy breakfast, including their signature cinnamon rolls. Good coffee. And a smoking king room! Friendly staff. Thanks guys! 😀

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here after 4 others were already booked. We should have kept driving. Specifically asked if there was a washer and dryer and there was. We went all the way to the 3rd floor to find out it was broken. Evidently this was the smoking section, the halls were choked with all kinds of smoke. So after driving all day,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winchester South, responded to this review

Dear Charleen W, Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details... More 

Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very friendly front desk night manager. After being stuck in traffic for hours due to construction, we stopped at this property. The night manager offered a lower price for the room, as all non-smoking rooms were occupied. The Manager even opened 5 rooms for me to see if they were acceptable. Very comfortable bed and free breakfast offered.

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winchester South, responded to this review

Dear BMF1988, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am glad to know that you found our hotel staff friendly and our beds comfortable. On the other hand, allow me to apologize if there was an unusual smell. Your comments are noted and I am confident that our management will look into this concern.... More 

Glendora, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

I have both good and bad things to say about this hotel. We booked our room and prepaid through Priceline, over a month in advance. On the day we were scheduled to arrive, we missed our flight. I called the hotel to tell them that we would be arriving the next day and to please hold our prepaid room. In... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winchester South, responded to this review

Dear Mark J, Thank you so much for the candid feedback that you have posted for our hotel. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience that you have encountered with your reservation with us. Our guest's reviews are very important to us so rest assured that we will take note of your comments so that it can be forwarded... More 

Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

After a long day and flight the hotel was as expected. Only complaint was that the doors had strong springs and banged every time they were closed. Breakfast was the usual Holiday Inn spread. The receptionist wasn't very cheerful but efficient.

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winchester South, responded to this review

Dear Awthin, Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am glad to were satisfied with the level of cleanliness provided and rated it to be excellent. However, I am really sorry that the front desk staff was not as accommodating as you have been expecting and that you were inconvenienced by the door mechanic... More 

Patchogue, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

I am not the biggest fan of giving 3-star ratings, as it often has a negative connotation to it. However, I feel as though with everything combined, I would say my experience here was quite average. Location is nice, as you can see it coming off I-81. Beware though, during rush hour the roads on the overpass get quite crowded... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winchester South, responded to this review

Dear Rita B, Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good points of your stay. We take all feedback from our guests seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are... More 

connecticut
Level Contributor
154 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

We have styed here before several years ago. I thought it was an average HIE. The hotel is dated and shows signs of wear and tear. Room was Spartan but clean. Beds were a bit "mushy". I had not substantive issues.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert N, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winchester South, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Express. We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. More 

Norfolk, VA
Level Contributor
132 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

I had no complaints during a visit here last summer. Everything in the room and in the common areas was clean, functional, and attractive. The pool was cold, but clean. Breakfast was fresh and plentiful, with a staff member working feverishly to keep everything clean and stocked. The staff was the highlight here. They were friendly. They handled the transactions... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert N, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winchester South, responded to this review

We are glad to hear that everything with your stay was pleasant and that our staff made sure that you were comfortable. Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express and we hope to see you soon. More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

We booked from Hotwire the same day and got a King bed room that was immaculate at a very reasonable price. The front desk gentleman was so professional, welcoming and helpful. That makes all the difference when stopping at the end of a trip. Well done! Room was large, comfortable, clean and updated. There is a fridge, microwave, lounge chair... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert N, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winchester South, responded to this review

We are glad to know that you have had a very nice stay. You leaving our property with a good experience is our goal. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stephens City
3.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Stephens City
3.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#2 of 9 in Front Royal
4.5 of 5 stars 495 reviews
6.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lee-Jackson Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Ready to book?
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay