We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 15 Staunton hotels

Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 S Market Street, Staunton, VA 24401
Hotel website
Hotel packages
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
93%
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
OldSwampy central VA
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    201
    34
    7
    4
See reviews for
141
274
26
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (627)
  • Mar-May only
    (162)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (202)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (157)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (106)
All months
central VA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

A comfortable hotel in downtown Staunton that provides an excellent location for exploring the town on foot. The American Shakespeare Center is only steps away, and many shops, a farmer's market, and Mary Baldwin College are all within a few blocks. Staff were helpful (and friendly and apologetic when they couldn't immediately help with minor issues).

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel is next door to the American Shakespeare Center, and a very easy walk to a number of good restaurants. Zynodoa is my fave, but that is a different review. This is an old historic hotel that has been renovated and is well kept. The rooms tend to be on the small side, though they are comfortable and clean.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Damon S, General Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

You are certainly right about all of the wonderful dining options available within walking distance of the hotel. I can't think of a better weekend than dinner on the town, a show at the Blackfriars theatre, an overnight stay at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel finished with a wonderful breakfast in the morning! Thank you for joining us and please continue... More

Surfside Beach, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent location to walk in downtown and the breakfast is a must! The staff was very courteous to my fiance and I. Overall experience was very pleasant. I would love to visit this beautiful town for more than just overnight.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Damon S, General Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words about your recent experience at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel. I am delighted that both you and your fiance enjoyed your brief time with us and we all look forward to having you back as our guests very soon! More

Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff was awesome! Anna at the font desk made me feel extremely welcomed prior to my arrival with answers to my question and her bubbly personality was even more exceptional when I checked into the hotel. Michael Killen works in the bar and is very knowledgeable of the local wines as well as mixed drinks that fit your personality.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Damon S, General Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel and for recognizing Anna and Michael. They are two fantastic employees that truly care about the guest experience and go out of their way to ensure guests feel at home. I will be certain to pass along the kind words and hope that you have an opportunity to join... More

Roanoke, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stonewall Jackson is not only a beautiful historic hotel but is staffed with competent people. Laura who manages the night shift is prompt to anticipate needs. I had to check out and check back in the next night unplanned, which meant Laura had to find me a room with short notice. I left my phone charger in the room that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Damon S, General Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the thoughtful review of the hotel and kind words about Laura at the Front Desk and Mike in Sorrel's. They are both outstanding hospitality professionals who put a great deal of effort into exceeding guest expectation on a consistent basis. I will be certain to pass along your sentiment to these individuals. Thank you for... More

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
71 hotel reviews
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The good news: The beds now have washable duvet covers instead of those awful (and probably uncleanable) bedspreads. Also, the hotel is still next to the Blackfriars Theatre. The bad news (though it's really not news): The lobby is looking very tired. Those lumpy sofas are sad and need to go! The bar is a classic example of wasted potential.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Damon S, General Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback regarding a recent stay you had with us at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel. I appreciate the guest insight pertaining to these areas as it allows us to focus on what is important to the overall experience. I will take your comments into consideration and use them for positive adjustments if necessary. More

FKL
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great place to stay very convenient to downtown.Rooms small by very nice and charming.if there was any complaints it would be no bellman and having to drag bags from parking garage up 2 elevators to room.Nice for business traveler.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Damon S, General Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for joining us during a recent trip to Staunton, VA. I appreciate the kind words about the hotel along with the feedback you provided regarding bellman service. While we do not have someone specifically desginated as a bellman, we always have willing and able employees to assist with any guest request including bell service. Simply let someone know... More

West Milton, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We always stay in the old part because the rooms are more unique. I don't like to pay for parking. That was the only drawback. For us it is the half way point to the Outer Banks. We plan to stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Damon S, General Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

It is wonderful to know that you have found a great place to stay half way to the Outer Banks. I understand about the parking, but unfortunately it is a city owned garage which we have no control over the charges. I am glad you enjoy the history of the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back! More

Belleville, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed staying at this hotel while at a conference. The public rooms were beautiful, as was our private bedroom. The neighbourhood is excellent, right next door to the Shakespearean theatre, and a short walk away from the downtown, with its wide variety of restaurants and quaint shops.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Damon S, General Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel and for discovering all the wonderful things to do in Staunton, VA. Please join us again anytime your travels bring you to the area. More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is beautiful, right in the center of town and close to good restaurants and bars. We will stay at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel on our next trip. Staunton is a cool town!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Damon S, General Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Staunton is indeed a cool place and has received much recognition lately like being named one of the “Best Small Towns in America” by Smithsonian Magazine along with “#18 of America’s Favorite Mountain Towns” by Travel + Leisure Magazine. I appreciate you joining us here at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel right in the heart of all the coolness! More

Do you own or manage Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 24 S Market Street, Staunton, VA 24401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, TravelClick, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonewall Jackson Hotel Staunton
Hotel Stonewall Jackson

113 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (103)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center

Enlarge Map