We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Staunton accommodations

Staunton / Walnut Hills KOA

Save Saved
You added Staunton / Walnut Hills KOA to your Saves list
484 Walnut Hills Road, Staunton, VA 24401-6936 (Formerly Walnut Hills Campground and RV Resort)
Hotel amenities
Staunton / Walnut Hills KOA
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Staunton
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    16
    6
    3
    5
See reviews for
20
13
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (46)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
42 hotel reviews
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had planned to stay in Shenandoah National park on a fall weekend, but didn't realize the walk up for park campsites was so crazy. So luckily the KOA had room for us. Its at the very southern end of the park, convenient to that entrance. Our campsite was right on the lil lake they had, and was a good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

we were looking for campsite for travel trailer rather than staying at a motel. something pet friendly needed. happened upon this site. being it was leaf peeper season, we had to take what was available. missed our short cut and rode the whole route around . signage references did not make sense, but after walking around an intersection we found... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Virginia Beach, VA
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed a Saturday night while passing through to another state. What we liked: 1. Very friendly front service person. Smiling and helpful. Because the registration clerk is the first person you speak with, that person sets the tone for your stay. Good job, KOA. 2. We spent a quiet evening at the park and never felt unsafe. 3. Dogs are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed one night at a tent site that was extremely rocky and uneven, and I should have asked to move to another site, but we didn't bother. And our neighbors were the loudest, most annoying rednecks who made a racket until about 11pm, and then their dog woke us up at 1am. Other than that, I found the campground... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erika Z, Manager at Staunton / Walnut Hills KOA, responded to this review

dspenard, I am so sorry to hear your neighbors were not considerate and kept your family awake - we recommend that if a camper is having a problem after hours, they call our main number for assistance, as this goes directly to the manager's house, and someone will be happy to come out and help. Additionally, in the future, we... More

Van Alstyne, Texas, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

We made reservations during May 2014 stay at Staunton/Walnut Hills KOA for an arrival date in Sept 2014. Our travel trailer had to be placed in a repair shop in July 2014 which caused our remaining vacation schedule to cancelled. I notified all the campgrounds that we had reservations in about the unfortunate repairs. All agreed to refund our deposits... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Erika Z, Manager at Staunton / Walnut Hills KOA, responded to this review

Calvin, while we (yes, even including me) do in fact care about the circumstances that led you to lose your deposit and are very sorry to hear about the problems with your trailer, the deposit for an extended-stay site was and always has been non-refundable. During the two months that you had the site reserved, we turned away a large... More

Bristol, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

The layout of this campground is very nice. There's a nice man-made lake along with a dog park, playground, open fields as well as some woods. I would have two complaints : 1.) The spots were small. 2.) I asked to leave the camper for two hours past checkout (which is 12:00) due to a commitment we had in Staunton.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bryan, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

My wife and I stopped here for 3 nights to visit some historical sights and ride our motorcycles. We called ahead and let them know the size of our motor home, we needed 50 amps and that we had a full size pickup pulling an enclosed trailer in addition. We reserved a "pull through" site and knew that our trailer... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Although we live locally (within 10 miles of the campground), we usually camp here at least twice a year...always for our first trip of the season (close to home in case we have any problems). This year we brought along our 3 year old grand daughter--her first camping experience. She had a wonderful time! She especially enjoyed the ducks and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I picked this KOA as our weekend getaway place. The VIK sites at the top of the campground have beautiful views of the park, lake and surrounding mountains. The bathrooms are cleaned regularly and have always been fine for us. The surrounding area has lots of things to do, history, wineries and breweries just to name a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This was our 3rd stay at Walnut Hills and it was as expected, wonderful! The campground is well maintained, the sites for the most part are large and level. If you're traveling with kids there are things for them to do. A big plus for us is the large, fenced in dog run. Our 2 Beagles love being able to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Staunton / Walnut Hills KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staunton / Walnut Hills KOA

Address: 484 Walnut Hills Road, Staunton, VA 24401-6936 (Formerly Walnut Hills Campground and RV Resort)
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 150

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay