We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Milton House Bed and Breakfast Inn

113 W Main Street, Stanley, VA 22851
The Milton House Bed and Breakfast Inn
Review This Hotel

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    1
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (10)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (3)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We spent a weekend in the Woodland Cabin, the lower level cabin. It was an absolutely perfect weekend! The cabin was clean, cute, private, and just really nice. I have read these other reviews and can't understand some of them. The bathroom was not that small, niether was the shower. There was no rust, dust or cobwebs anywhere in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
North East, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Anita was wonderful. We didn't want for anything. The Inn is beautiful, and clean. I will be coming back again, and sending all my friends and family there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

The Milton House Bed and Breakfast Inn is a real treasure nestled near Skyline Drive. The drive from DC is not difficult and, for me, has always been relaxing knowing what full well what's at the destination. The town of Stanley is your typical "small town" and a great retreat from the hustle and bustle of "jet-set DC." There are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Washington, DC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

My Husband and I rented the lower level cabin in September 2010 for 2 nights for his birthday. It looked really cute from the website, but when we got there I could see it wasn't at all what we thought it would be. The bathroom is tiny with a rusty base board heater. The shower is like a tiny, dark... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

Anita --, the owner of this inn, is one of the most dishonest business owners I've ever dealt with. We were overcharged, taken advantage of, and verbal attacked. I will never stay at this Inn.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MiltonHouseInn, Innkeeper at The Milton House Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review

Milton House Inn Bed and Breakfast appreciates your taking the time to post a review. I understand your anger and I am sure it is more difficult because your reservation was not made in your presence. You have writtten that you are Family with Children. As stated on our website and on every confirmation and verbally if taken by phone... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

My husband booked the Milton House Bed and Breakfast Inn for a get-away for our third wedding anniversary. The previous two years we had gone somewhere more extravagant and a greater distance from home, but we decided to stay closer to DC this year and explore a new area. A beautiful, 2 1/2 hour drive from DC, we enjoyed the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DC Metro Area
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

We usually do extravagant things for our anniversary. Last year, we found ourselves with not enough time and not enough money to do our usual. Instead, we decided to get away for a long weekend in the mountains of western VA. I can't speak for the main house, but the Wooodland Cabin was a nice way to get away from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Frederick
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2008

This B&B was a very clean and quite place to stay. The inn keeper was extremely helpful. Breakfast was excellent and will accommodate vegetarians. The fireplace in our room was a very romantic touch. Convenient location in the town of Stanley, making it a short drive to Luray.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Pa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2007

My Husband and I went to the Milton House Inn for our 10th Anniversary. I had arranged via emails to have a vow renewal and surprise my husband and everything was fantastic, the flowers were pretty, the cake was extremely good and the pictures that Anita took were just perfect. Our first two nights were in the Woodland room on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chesapeake, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2007

My wife and I went to the Shenandoah Valley for our 15th Anniversary. We had a wonderful stay at the Milton House. Our room was in the Cabin and everything was as nice as the pictures on the Milton House website. I had arranged to have the Anniversary Package and everything, to include the massage, was fantastic. The food in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question