We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield

Hotel website
Hotel deals
6401 Brandon Ave., Springfield, VA 22150
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield
Add Photo

163 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    55
    57
    19
    24
    8
See reviews for
48
30
16
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (163)
  • Mar-May only
    (47)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (50)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (47)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was clean however the air conditioner did not work properly and the drain stopper was broken and we were unable to take a bath. We called the front desk and they sent someone up and he was unable to fix the drain stopper that night so when we took a shower the water did not drain . We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tanja H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. More 

Wintersville, Ohio, Usa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The check in went quickly and the desk person was friendly and courteous. The lobby area was clean as was the entrance and parking area. Our room was clean and the furnishings in good shape. This must be an older facility since the bathroom was so small, but the important thing was that it was clean. The breakfast had the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tanja H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this review

Dear Valuable Guest! Thank you so much for your kind feedback. While we are unable change the configurations of our structure, room size, etc., we are so glad that you enjoyed our newly renovated guest room and amenities. Please come back again soon! More 

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

We stayed here on our visit to DC. The staff was friendly and helpful. The shuttle to the metro was very convenient and was ready to go whenever we called. Clean rooms are a must wherever I stay and Holiday Inn Express has never let me down. My husband also enjoyed the hot breakfast. We would definitely stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tanja H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this review

Dear AngieT522! Thank you for staying with us! We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful experience! Our complimentary local shuttle service is quite popular among all of our guests and we are glad you enjoyed it as well! See you again soon! More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

I am only giving one star rating because in my opinion this hotel only meets one of the 5 critical areas I look for when staying in a hotel. 1.) Cleanliness. This is the only area this hotel excels at. The housekeeping staff deserve recognition because this is one of the cleanest hotel rooms I've ever stayed in. 2.) Comfort.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tanja H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, we sincerely apologize for having failed all of your expectations, with the exception of housekeeping, it seems. As guest satisfaction is our highest priority, we appreciate your feedback and allowing us the opportunity to address our weak areas. We hope that, after all, you will allow us a second chance sometime in the future. The service experienced... More 

Fulton, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

Stayed here on our way to Myrtle Beach SC. Clean hotel with newer updates. great breakfast with bacon. We love bacon so my son was very happy. We had a double room but it was very awkward. I guess there was supposed to be a closet that they never finished. The room had chairs from the banquet room in it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tanja H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this review

Hello Bard J! Thank you so much for staying with us! Our sincerely apologies for the oversight of the banquet chairs that were left in the room by accident. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay otherwise! The complimentary hot breakfast buffet is quite a popular item among our guests and offers many choices, including turkey sausage... More 

Denton, Texas
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
35 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

Really had no intention of stopping anywhere in the District, however as a huge snow storm hit while travelling north on I-95. Stopped at a rest area, pulled up the IHG app on my droid and found the closest Holiday Inn Express, booked a room and drove right there. With 65 mph gust of wind blowing the snow everywhere I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Barnegat, New Jersey
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

Nice hotel and excellent location close to the interstate. Great chocolate chip cookies in the late afternoon, fresh and hot!! Room was ready, bathroom needed a little TLC, but overall comfortable and clean. Breakfast was excellent and fresh...needs some fresh fruit though.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Tanja H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest! Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some valuable feed back. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our full hot breakfast that is including in our guest room rates and had an overall pleasant stay. Keeping a fresh product remains our priority. More 

Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

I'm a local writer-journalist and sometimes I need office space away from home. I will sometimes hole up here to meet pressing deadlines. I've discovered great prices for this property on Hotwire, and then a friendly Holiday Inn front desk (thanks Carla) has met the price when I later ask to extend the reservation. Rooms are large and clean; beds... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tanja H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest! Thank you for allowing us to be your second home away from home! See you again next time! More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

Stayed there two of the past three nights, 1/19/2015 and 1/21/2015, due to renovations of my home. First night, they bill my card $110.88 x 3, the rate being $110.88 per night, saying that the card is not being accepted, yet the card was accepted all three times, and naturally the desk clerk didn't have authorization to fix the error,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tanja H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest! We sincerely apologize for having failed your expectations and promise to share your comments with all team members in order to strengthen our weak points. Thankfully, the service experienced does not reflect the one of the majority of our guests and we hope that, sometime in the near future, we will have an opportunity win you over. More 

Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

After two nights in this hotel we checked out and moved to a Hilton. This was mostly because of difficulty sleeping. The bed was soft and gave me a backache. And the room did not darken because the door did not fill out the jamb, allowing light to flood in. The final straw was that there was a shortage of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tanja H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest! We sincerely apologize for having failed your expectations. Even though our rating with AAA has just been updated to a three-star level, we continue to work on final touches to take our hotel to the next level. Hope to see you again sometime in the future for a second chance! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay