We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 South Hill hotels

Americas Best Value Inn South Hill

2.0 of 5 Motel   |   623 E. Atlantic Street, South Hill, VA 23970
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn South Hill to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn South Hill
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
30%
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in South Hill
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    2
    1
    13
See reviews for
9
2
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belcamp, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This hotel is not fancy but was adequate for our needs. They honored the price in the discount booklet and provided free wi-fi. The room was worn but had a refrigerator and microwave. It was difficult to get the air conditioning to maintain a steady temperature and it was noisy. They offered a continental breakfast of cereal, pastries and fruit.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
abvisouthhill, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn South Hill, responded to this review

Dear Joan1221, I appreciate the fact that you took time to share your experience with us. I am thrilled that we were able to meet your needs. If you ever return to the area, we would love to have you stay here with us again! Regards, Manish-Manager Americas Best Value Inn-South Hill, VA More

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

l will never stay here again they couldn't give me a room for FREE this location looks nothing like the pictures posted the only thing that matched the pictures were the bedspreads needs to be shut down some rooms had the windows busted out HORRIBLE I checked out early

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
abvisouthhill, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn South Hill, responded to this review

Dear punabear, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am sorry to hear that you did not have a memorable experience with us. I apologize for the issues with the storage room window. There was some vandalism on the property. However, we fixed the issues as soon as we could. I hope that you give us another opportunity... More

Travelers are raving about these South Hill hotels

Suffern, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This is a low budget hotel. Which was known on the onset. In addition to the bathroom ceiling having a whole and the ceiling in the main part of the room having some popcorn some flat surface and the the front desk calling you before 9 AM while your on vacation to ask if you would like housekeeping services there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
abvisouthhill, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn South Hill, responded to this review

Dear vseward, On behalf of the management of Americas Best Value Inn, I would like to personally address the issues you mentioned regarding your stay. At this time, we no longer accept pets. However, at the time of your stay, we did require a pet fee. This is to cover the cost of servicing the room upon departure. We reserve... More

Rome City, Indiana, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I stayed here for a single night when my business brought me to the area. I called around on my way out and discovered that this motel had the lowest rates in the area and my total bill came to just under $50. I stayed in a room just a few doors down from the lobby and it was clean,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
abvisouthhill, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn South Hill, responded to this review

Dear Rick D, Thank you for sharing your experience with us regarding your stay in November 2013. Sorry for taking so long to respond. I am pleased that you enjoyed our clean and comfortable rooms at affordable prices. We hope that you visit us again in the future. Regards, Manish-Manager Americas Best Value Inn-South Hill, VA More

Northampton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This inn is absolutely disgusting and should 100% be shut down. Our room was so disgusting, the beds were not even made, let alone clean. We demanded our money back and went to Best Western Plus down the road (MUCH BETTER!). Americas Best Value was sketchy, dirty, not safe, and the service was horrendous. DO NOT STAY HERE!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
abvisouthhill, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn South Hill, responded to this review

Dear Leslie S, On behalf of the staff and management, I would like to personally apologize for the housekeeping issues you encountered during your stay. We have recently hired and trained new housekeeping. We hope that these improvements will enhance the experience for our future guests. Regards, Manish-GM Americas Best Value Inn-South Hill VA More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

This motel should be closed down. It seems that they are either in the process of renovating or fumigating. I wasn't sure, but was advised that all of the furniture was stacked up outside because the furniture was being replaced. Good news, but there is no excuse for a dirty room. The sheets and pillowcases were yellow and did not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
abvisouthhill, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn South Hill, responded to this review

Dear Set1234, Thank you for sharing a traveler opinion with us. As you had mentioned, we did recently renovate our facilities including new mattresses, dressers, desks, chairs, lounge chairs, luggage boxes, ottomans, headboards, pictures, night stands. I apologize for the mess during these renovations-this was a 2 week project. I apologize for the inconvenience you encountered during this time. Regards,... More

Clover, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was good for a one night stay. It is a one star place with just bananas,coffee and one kind of donut for breakfast. Luckily McDonalds was across the street. Room was large and we had a choice of beds. Had refrigerator and microwave.

Was this review helpful? Yes
abvisouthhill, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn South Hill, responded to this review

Dear patc312, I appreciate the fact that you took the time to share a review with us. I am glad that you enjoyed our large rooms and microfridges. We are planning on increasing the size of our lobby in the future to include a larger breakfast area. We hope that these improvements will allow us to increase our breakfast selections.... More

Baltimore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a night as a stopover while driving to Atlanta. It perfectly met our needs, and we felt comfortable. The room was immaculately clean, the most important trait we are looking for. It was fully equipped with a fridge, microwave, and all the amenities we needed. There were a few minor defects, such as chipped paint in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
abvisouthhill, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn South Hill, responded to this review

Dear colorknit, Thank you for sharing a review with us. I am proud that you chose Americas Best Value Inn for your lodging needs. I am also pleased that you enjoyed our clean rooms and microfridges. We hope that you stay with us again in the future. Regards, Manish-GM Americas Best Value Inn-South Hill VA More

Houston, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Clean and updated, nothing fancy but everything you need. The bed was comfortable. TV worked fine. Bath and shower were nice. Linens were new and clean. Generally it was a nice place anthough I only spent a night there. Convienient to the interstate and breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
abvisouthhill, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn South Hill, responded to this review

Dear Gert_Frobe_007, Thank you for sharing an honest review with us. I am glad that you enjoyed our comfortable beds and clean linens. We have also recently renovated with new furniture such as dressers, night stands, desks, chairs. We hope that you visit us again and see the new changes! Regards, Manish-GM Americas Best Value Inn-South Hill VA More

pensacola
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

we stayed two days paid in advance.non smoking room first stronge smell of bleach when we checked in when that left strange order of who knows what.took shower it has the smallest tub it was hard to move around railing sticking out of side to make it smaller.tv has 11 channels. we were told cable went out and only so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
abvisouthhill, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn South Hill, responded to this review

Dear rebapensacola, On behalf of the management team of Americas Best Value Inn, I would like to apologize for the negative experience you encountered in 2012. I am sorry for taking so long to respond. Please know that we have made many improvements such as hiring and training new housekeepers, renovations including new night stands, dressers, desks, chairs, lounge chairs,... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn South Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Americas Best Value Inn South Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn South Hill

Address: 623 E. Atlantic Street, South Hill, VA 23970
Location: United States > Virginia > Mecklenburg County > South Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn South Hill 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookIt.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn South Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in South Hill with
any amenities