We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Americas Best Value Inn South Hill

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
623 E. Atlantic Street, South Hill, VA 23970
Americas Best Value Inn South Hill
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Add Photo Write a Review

25 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    2
    6
    2
    1
    14
See reviews for
10
2
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (25)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (2)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
NEWBERRY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

Having left home at 4:10 that morning to avoid Memorial Weekend traffic, I arrived early, expecting to have to cruise the town for a few hours before claiming the reserved room. But I was allowed to wait while they cleaned it, and the manager (I think he was) even waived the early fee so I could go in and crash.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

This was one of the dirtiest hotels we have ever stayed at! Although this was a low budget hotel and we stayed there for only one night, it was one of the worst experiences we have had. The bed sheets were not clean and we found several hairs on the bedsheets. The blankets looked like they had not been washed!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers are raving about these South Hill hotels

Belcamp, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This hotel is not fancy but was adequate for our needs. They honored the price in the discount booklet and provided free wi-fi. The room was worn but had a refrigerator and microwave. It was difficult to get the air conditioning to maintain a steady temperature and it was noisy. They offered a continental breakfast of cereal, pastries and fruit.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
abvisouthhill, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn South Hill, responded to this review

Dear Joan1221, I appreciate the fact that you took time to share your experience with us. I am thrilled that we were able to meet your needs. If you ever return to the area, we would love to have you stay here with us again! Regards, Manish-Manager Americas Best Value Inn-South Hill, VA More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

l will never stay here again they couldn't give me a room for FREE this location looks nothing like the pictures posted the only thing that matched the pictures were the bedspreads needs to be shut down some rooms had the windows busted out HORRIBLE I checked out early

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
abvisouthhill, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn South Hill, responded to this review

Dear punabear, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am sorry to hear that you did not have a memorable experience with us. I apologize for the issues with the storage room window. There was some vandalism on the property. However, we fixed the issues as soon as we could. I hope that you give us another opportunity... More 

Suffern, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This is a low budget hotel. Which was known on the onset. In addition to the bathroom ceiling having a whole and the ceiling in the main part of the room having some popcorn some flat surface and the the front desk calling you before 9 AM while your on vacation to ask if you would like housekeeping services there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
abvisouthhill, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn South Hill, responded to this review

Dear vseward, On behalf of the management of Americas Best Value Inn, I would like to personally address the issues you mentioned regarding your stay. At this time, we no longer accept pets. However, at the time of your stay, we did require a pet fee. This is to cover the cost of servicing the room upon departure. We reserve... More 

Rome City, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I stayed here for a single night when my business brought me to the area. I called around on my way out and discovered that this motel had the lowest rates in the area and my total bill came to just under $50. I stayed in a room just a few doors down from the lobby and it was clean,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
abvisouthhill, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn South Hill, responded to this review

Dear Rick D, Thank you for sharing your experience with us regarding your stay in November 2013. Sorry for taking so long to respond. I am pleased that you enjoyed our clean and comfortable rooms at affordable prices. We hope that you visit us again in the future. Regards, Manish-Manager Americas Best Value Inn-South Hill, VA More 

Northampton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This inn is absolutely disgusting and should 100% be shut down. Our room was so disgusting, the beds were not even made, let alone clean. We demanded our money back and went to Best Western Plus down the road (MUCH BETTER!). Americas Best Value was sketchy, dirty, not safe, and the service was horrendous. DO NOT STAY HERE!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
abvisouthhill, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn South Hill, responded to this review

Dear Leslie S, On behalf of the staff and management, I would like to personally apologize for the housekeeping issues you encountered during your stay. We have recently hired and trained new housekeeping. We hope that these improvements will enhance the experience for our future guests. Regards, Manish-GM Americas Best Value Inn-South Hill VA More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This motel should be closed down. It seems that they are either in the process of renovating or fumigating. I wasn't sure, but was advised that all of the furniture was stacked up outside because the furniture was being replaced. Good news, but there is no excuse for a dirty room. The sheets and pillowcases were yellow and did not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
abvisouthhill, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn South Hill, responded to this review

Dear Set1234, Thank you for sharing a traveler opinion with us. As you had mentioned, we did recently renovate our facilities including new mattresses, dressers, desks, chairs, lounge chairs, luggage boxes, ottomans, headboards, pictures, night stands. I apologize for the mess during these renovations-this was a 2 week project. I apologize for the inconvenience you encountered during this time. Regards,... More 

Clover, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This hotel was good for a one night stay. It is a one star place with just bananas,coffee and one kind of donut for breakfast. Luckily McDonalds was across the street. Room was large and we had a choice of beds. Had refrigerator and microwave.

Was this review helpful? Yes
abvisouthhill, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn South Hill, responded to this review

Dear patc312, I appreciate the fact that you took the time to share a review with us. I am glad that you enjoyed our large rooms and microfridges. We are planning on increasing the size of our lobby in the future to include a larger breakfast area. We hope that these improvements will allow us to increase our breakfast selections.... More 

Baltimore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a night as a stopover while driving to Atlanta. It perfectly met our needs, and we felt comfortable. The room was immaculately clean, the most important trait we are looking for. It was fully equipped with a fridge, microwave, and all the amenities we needed. There were a few minor defects, such as chipped paint in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
abvisouthhill, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn South Hill, responded to this review

Dear colorknit, Thank you for sharing a review with us. I am proud that you chose Americas Best Value Inn for your lodging needs. I am also pleased that you enjoyed our clean rooms and microfridges. We hope that you stay with us again in the future. Regards, Manish-GM Americas Best Value Inn-South Hill VA More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Hill
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in South Hill
3.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS South Hill Inn
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn South Hill
Hampton Inn South Hill
#1 of 7 in South Hill
4.5 of 5 stars 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Hill
8.5 mi away
No photo provided
Days Inn Lake Gaston
#1 of 1 in Bracey
2.5 of 5 stars 5 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in South Hill
4.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Back to top
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay