We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Days Inn & Suites South Boston

Hotel website
Hotel deals
1074 Bill Tuck Highway, Highway 58 East, South Boston, VA 24592 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express South Boston)
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Days Inn & Suites South Boston
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

68 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
149 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had no problems or issues during a four-night stay. Our room, far from the elevator, was quiet and clean. We enjoyed breakfast each day. Although South Boston is probably 70 miles from Martinsville, the hotel was crowded with people going to the Martinsville Speedway (nothing going on at the South Boston one), so be sure to check those race... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lalo_de_Mexico
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn & Suites South Boston, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are so happy to hear your stay was really enjoyable as so many of our guests experience. Our location close to Martinsville, South Boston Speedway, and VIR is always a favorite of our guests. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon! Best Regards, Guest Relations More 

Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in South Boston to pay respects to my wife's parents who are buried in a South Boston cemetery. We got what we expected. A place to lay our heads. No frills but we did have a fridge and microwave. Rooms need updating. Wifi worked fine. Decent spread for breakfast including eggs and a large variety of hot items.... More 

Helpful?
Thank KevanF
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn & Suites South Boston, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We understand your stay was enjoyable and are glad to see you chose to write about us during your personal visit. We will be here for your needs when visiting the area. Best Regards, Guest Relations More 

Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2015

We arrived here after a rainy, dark drive from Martinsville Speedway and were very happy to find a lovely hotel with most welcoming staff. The room was very nice and breakfast was good and being from Canada was really pleased to find biscuits and sausage gravy - my favorite when I go to the States. It was a rainy morning... More 

Helpful?
Thank harpellroad
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn & Suites South Boston, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Yay! Thank you of sharing your great experience at our hotel as so many experience, but few get a chance to share. Our team look forward to having you stay with us again very soon! :-) Best Regards, Guest Relations More 

Christiansburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2015 via mobile

This is by far the worst hotel and staff I've stayed in. And that's terrible to have to say when for the past 12 years I've stayed more than 300 nights a year at different hotels. But this one definitely gets the award. checked in on Sun Nov 8th -Friday Nov 12th. For the first three days, the sink and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ajshaw_80
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn & Suites South Boston, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Shaw, We understand your visit was impacted because of a discolored towel. Our staff have investigated thoroughly including testing the towel in question in regards to the cause of the stain. We were unable to find any identifiable source, which could indicated the towel is clean but was damaged prior to being placed in the laundry and cleaned.... More 

Travelers are raving about these South Boston hotels

Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2015

It was only a place to spend the night. I had reserved three rooms for three families. When we arrived, we found that one of the rooms had already been given to someone else, so one of my daughters and her family were required to stay elsewhere. That is total mismanagement with a lack of adequate controls. There was some... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Bob M
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn & Suites South Boston, responded to this review

Dear Bob M, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. It is truly regrettable that learn about what happened to your reservation and that the service you have received has let you down. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. Please be assured that your comments are duly noted. I am... More 

Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2015 via mobile

If you are looking for a clean, nice, pet-friendly place this is the place for you! The beds are very comfortable, the rooms are clean, staff is friendly, and the coffee is delicious. The location is roght off route 58. Its a wonderful place to stay if you are passing through or visiting in the South Boston area.

Helpful?
Thank k2mgurl
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn & Suites South Boston, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Yay! Thank you for sharing your great experience at our hotel. Our team look forward to having you stay with us again soon! Best Regards, Guest Relations More 

Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2015

No smoking room reeked of cigarettes. Talked to front desk and was offered a bottle of Febreeze to spray my room. The toilets are very low, appears shabby and in need of a refresh overall. The carpets in my room looked relatively new but the rest looked dated. Very poor wifi. Barely sufficient to check email. Could be the date... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mary B
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn & Suites South Boston, responded to this review

Dear Mary B, Thank you for writing a review on our hotel. Our goal is to deliver exceptional accommodation to all of our guests and we appreciate your sharing your experience with us. It is nice to see your high rating on the location of the property and noticed the newly installed carpets. However, it is regrettable if the room... More 

Farmingdale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2015 via mobile

Hotel ok, good breakfast, nice beds with lots of pillows, the only problem was the bathroom was moldy and the toilet too low. Also on the second day the room was not properly cleaned. Old coffee cups still in room and coffee pot not cleaned. I would stay there again only because it's convenient

Helpful?
Thank Judy K
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn & Suites South Boston, responded to this review

Dear Judy K, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are glad that you found our beds to be nice and our breakfast selection to be good. However, we would like to apologize for falling short of your expectations regarding our bathrooms and cleaning staff. We give the utmost importance to... More 

Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2015

The best thing about this hotel is the exterior landscaping, which is good enough to make you think this place is OK. It is not. Filthy carpeting in rooms and halls, room locks that won't unlock, desk staff that friendly but relatively clueless, the 'business center' can't print documents or even have a mouse that works, impossibly slow to non-existent... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank KurtS84
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn & Suites South Boston, responded to this review

Dear KurtS84, Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I certainly appreciate you taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention. We are always happy to provide a consistently clean, comfortable and courteous place for our guests. However, please accept our sincerest apologies if your stay was negatively affected due to the condition... More 

Macungie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2015 via mobile

Mixed reviews of this place from me. Started with a fairly unfriendly staff person. We broke her down with humor and she started to warm up a little. The hallway, and stairs were not airconditioned. They had a very unpleasant smell also. Entering the room, it was warm and humid. Decor was decent. The bathroom was very dirty, yet it... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Krista H
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn & Suites South Boston, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your good experience at our hotel. We are happy to hear your stay was clean and comfortable except for a housekeeping issue in the bathroom. We have already spoken to our housekeeping department about your feedback. We look forward to having you stay again soon for an even more enjoyable stay very soon! Best... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Boston
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites
Fairfield Inn & Suites
#1 of 7 in South Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 72 reviews
1.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - South Boston
2.8 mi away
Berry Hill Resort & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Roxboro
Hampton Inn Roxboro
#1 of 3 in Roxboro
4.5 of 5 stars 120 reviews
19.3 mi away
Magnuson Hotel on the Lake
Magnuson Hotel on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Clarksville
3.0 of 5 stars 16 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 South Boston
Super 8 South Boston
#3 of 7 in South Boston
3.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay