We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mansion on Main

36 Main Street, Smithfield, VA
Mansion on Main
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (5)
  • Mar-May only
    (0)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (1)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Smithfield, Virginia, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015 via mobile

My husband & stayed there to celebrate Valentines Day, It was always a dream of mine to stay there it is so beautiful. We so enjoyed our stay! The Mansion is equisite each room is tastefully decorated in true Victorian Style with period paintings and furniture. Dawn the mgr was very hospitable from the moment we arrived. Our Master Suite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The Mansion on Main is an exquisite example of a Victorian era mansion. The rich architecture, elegant period furnishings, and Southern style hospitality make for an enchanting stay! Smithfield, itself, offers a good one-day diversion of antique hunting and a leisurely strolls in the Saturday Evening Post atmosphere of a quaint home town. But it is also within a short... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Portsmouth, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

This is my response to the owners comments concerningbour stay at her b&b almost a year later. We did mention that the bed was uncomfortable but in all fairness, it was the following morning. As for being late for breakfast, that is an outright false statement and they know it. We were not late for breakfast. We requested 9am and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MansionOnMain, Owner at Mansion on Main, responded to this review

We would have responded sooner if we had seen your complaint. We are sorry it has come to this. We have NEVER had a complaint about the sleeping accommodations and the food has always been raved about. We can only wish your the best. This could be a case of the princess and the pea. More 

Portsmouth, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Let me start by saying that the Mansion is very beautiful and it's easy to imagine Scarlett O'Hara coming down the stairs in her sweeping gown. The hostess, Dawn, was equally gracious and helpful. Unfortunately, that is where the good ends. The bed in our room was very firm and uncomfortable. The website does not mention that the bed is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MansionOnMain, Owner at Mansion on Main, responded to this review

Since we have allowed plenty of time for this post to be amended for completeness, we need to provide more details of the story. Eventhough the couple refused the offer to prepare another entree and/or side dish since items had to be reheated, we still refunded the entire amount for both breakfasts. Their breakfast was prepared fresh that morning, but... More 

Powhatan, Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

This was only the second B&B we had stayed. We enjoyed the house greatly. Dawn was very gracious host. She knew all about the history of the house and the impact on the community this house made in the day. Breakfast was good even though the waffles were a little dry :~). I do have to mention the road outside... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities