We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 14 Salem hotels

Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   450 Litchell Rd, Salem, VA 24153
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
58%
Ranked #8 of 14 hotels in Salem
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
karina2u2 Basking Ridge, New Jersey
  • Overview
  • Reviews (65)
  • Photos (36)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (7)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    20
    12
    7
    8
See reviews for
19
15
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stopped here without a reservation late at night on my way home North from Atlanta. The two ladies at the front desk were so courteous and accommodating. The room was spotless clean and very inviting . The bed was comfortable and linens were clean. Every hotel employee was kind and helpful. I will certainly stay here again and make this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
`����ˆ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Non smoking room smelled of old stale cigarette smoke. Coffee maker left with stale coffee and old grounds. Desk chair uncomfortable and dirty. Rugs worn and spotted. Need I continue. Highly recommend staying elsewhere. The only positive thing I can say is the manager was polite and acknowledged our concerns

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke, responded to this review

Dear Skier982, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction. Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the... More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed there 6 days. The wifi was very slow! Glad we were on vacation and not trying to work while there!! The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was cleaned as we needed. The only issue we had was we are IHG platinum members and not once was that acknowledged ...normally we are offered extra points or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My family of 4 stayed here (including two children under 6) and thankfully I had family nearby because when we went downstairs for breakfast, we had to pay. Normally this wouldn't bother me, but when you have two little people who don't eat much, that can add up in a hurry. The buffet looked like one you could get for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke, responded to this review

Dear HBH2336, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the pricing structure of the hotel prevented you from fully enjoying your visit. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction. Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the... More

Gainesville,Ga.
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We were on our way to PA. and being we left Georgia late morning we decided to get a room at the half way point. We stopped here at the Holiday inn in Salem VA without a reservation. The reservation lady was very pleasant and greeted me with a smile. I asked if she had a room with 2 queens... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke, responded to this review

Dear Jeff S, Thank you for staying and taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted to know that we were able to meet your expectations when it comes to providing our guests with good value room accommodations. Although I appreciate you sharing your thoughts, it is truly regrettable that you were not able to fully enjoy our... More

Malta, Montana
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Where to start....we reserved a King room and upon walking in the first thing we noticed was the stained and dirty the floors. If only the floors were the worst part, we soon saw a good sized cockroach crawling on the wall. We told the front desk they moved us to another room but had no kings available so we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke, responded to this review

Dear JMFor, Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review of our property. I am sorry your stay was negatively affected by the room condition. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We take comments such as these very seriously and would like to follow up with you. I have sent you... More

Brownville, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We will not stay there again. Inconvenient location relative to places to eat. The room was small and the breakfast was less than average. Disappointed. In the future we will skip Salem and stay further down the road

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke, responded to this review

Dear William L, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re very sorry you were not satisfied with the location of the hotel. We were disappointed to read that when you visited the restaurant you did not find it to your... More

Underhill, Vermont
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I was a bit dissapointed with our stay, as the hotel was a bit dated and shabby. Unlike the Holiday Inn Express, you have to pay for breakfast along with juices. Our room was okay and we were not able to locate the pool. I will not stay at this establishment again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke, responded to this review

Dear mommavt, Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the property condition and breakfast experience. We will look into this concern. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the... More

Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I grew up going to Holiday Inn's and thinking they were the best hotels in the world. You know, because you're on vacation and everything is better on vacation. Last week, I wouldn't have considered staying at a Holiday Inn but we found ourselves needing a hotel in Salem, VA and the Holiday Inn was available. When we checked in,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amherst, MA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. I picked this hotel over the others in the area because it has an indoor pool and hot tub. The pool was still open when we got there (8:30 pm) which was great because after a long day of driving it was wonderful to be able to take the stress off. The pool water... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke, responded to this review

Dear AWTorrey, We want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am glad to read that you were pleased with the services we provide. One of the greatest rewards is receiving feedback such as yours. Our staff takes pride in creating a memorable, exceptional experience for our guests. Hearing that we have... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke

Address: 450 Litchell Rd, Salem, VA 24153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke Hotel Salem
Salem Holiday Inn

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (9)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Salem hotel is Salem, Virginia s exclusive full service hotel. Our brand new facility is conveniently located just off Interstate-81 at exit 137, in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains. We are minutes away from the following businesses and attractions: Roanoke College, Virginia Tech, Civic Center, Moyer Complex, and many more. Holiday Inn Salem will pleasantly surprise you with its gourmet Southern Seasons Restaurant, Sunny s Lounge with full menu service, free wireless high-speed Internet in public areas and guest rooms, Jacuzzi suites, fitness center, indoor pool and hot tub, on-site guest laundry facility, room service, fax/copy service, and 2400 square feet of meeting space. All of our guest rooms feature a refrigerator, microwave, iron/ironing board, hair dryer, and coffeemaker. The Holiday Inn Salem is the perfect choice for so many reasons. We cannot wait to welcome you to Holiday Inn Salem! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
89

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer