We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 14 Salem hotels

Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   450 Litchell Rd, Salem, VA 24153
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke to your Saves list
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Salem
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014
sutton1626 Richmond, Virginia
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    21
    14
    8
    10
See reviews for
23
16
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (73)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Baltimore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

We stayed here while visiting Virginia Tech. We reserved a "non smoking" room. We were given a room on the 4th floor where there are both "non smoking" and "smoking" rooms. Our room was not labeled "non smoking" so I can only assume it was a "smoking" room. Either way the entire 4th floor reeks like a 1970's bar. Disgusting.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke, responded to this review

Dear skibumbaltimore, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith in our hotel and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional detail regarding... More

Denham Springs, Louisiana
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

Traveling through VA, was looking for a Holiday Inn (our preference) close to the interstate with an indoor pool for our kids to swim. There is a bar in the lobby and they allowed smoking at the bar. We went from the elevators around the corner to the indoor pool and then back to the elevators and the smoke smell... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke, responded to this review

Dear Catherine G, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It's great to hear that you chose our hotel as your accommodation preference and appreciate your positive remarks about the clean rooms. We are committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. It is regrettable that your stay was negatively affected because of... More

Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

Spent the night here, on our way to a Va Tech football game. Room was very clean (some pealing wallpaper, but not a big deal). Love the fact that you can open the windows for fresh mountain air. Small bar in lobby area. Did not eat in the restaurant. Everyone was VERY nice. Will return on our next visit to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
79 hotel reviews
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

The Inn is very close to the exit, but far enough away to be quiet. There is no free breakfast. There is a fairly good buffet breakfast if you are willing to pay for it. Two TV channels were not working, and the TV selection is minimal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke, responded to this review

Dear CherokeeMan, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. I truly apologize for the not up to par experience you had during you stay with us. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests. Once again, thank you for staying with us... More

Wilmington, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

I was traveling in the area with an associate. Both of us checked in very late, and the hotel staff was friendly, courteous, and got us in our rooms with a very quick turnaround. The rooms were of the highest quality and I slept great. I didn't have time to check internet before leaving, and the breakfast looked amazing...didn't eat... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

On a road trip to the South. This was our first hotel stay. Overall I have to say I was very happy with the hotel. Good value. We liked the room a lot. It was clean, neat, upgraded. We had an up to date bathroom. Room showed well. hotel staff was friendly. Plenty of parking. Undercover parking when pulling in,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

stayed at the hotel, a little disappointed: It's more like a HIE, there is a restaurant on-site, breakfast is not to the HI standard: ordered a bowl of oat meal, but the hotel does not carry raisin for it. Some recipient was very greetful, however, there are a few had their eyes "glued" at monitor even when there was other... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke, responded to this review

Dear James T, Thank you for sharing your experiences. Our goal is to provide superior service and accommodations to all of our guests. I am sorry to hear that you found the level of staff service and breakfast selection less than satisfactory. Please rest assured that your comments have been shared with team for necessary improvements. Again, thank you for... More

Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Call for King room after traveling for 12 or more hrs. At first was told at front desk they didn't have a King, then found one available. The room was a handicap room. That was okay but, the No Hot Water wasn't. We where very tired, just wanted a Hot Shower, and comfortable bed. Bed was fine . It took... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke, responded to this review

Dear Queenu, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We would like to apologize you were not able to fully enjoy your stay with us. It is regrettable that we fell below your expectations. Please be assured that your feedback have been documented and forwarded for review and to take actions accordingly. Thank you for staying and... More

Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stopped here without a reservation late at night on my way home North from Atlanta. The two ladies at the front desk were so courteous and accommodating. The room was spotless clean and very inviting . The bed was comfortable and linens were clean. Every hotel employee was kind and helpful. I will certainly stay here again and make this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
`����ˆ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Non smoking room smelled of old stale cigarette smoke. Coffee maker left with stale coffee and old grounds. Desk chair uncomfortable and dirty. Rugs worn and spotted. Need I continue. Highly recommend staying elsewhere. The only positive thing I can say is the manager was polite and acknowledged our concerns

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke, responded to this review

Dear Skier982, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction. Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke

Address: 450 Litchell Rd, Salem, VA 24153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke Hotel Salem
Salem Holiday Inn

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay