We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fountain Motel

7525 Wards Rd, Rustburg, VA 24588-4248
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rustburg
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Fountain Motel
View Map
Add a photo
Add Photo Write a Review

5 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    0
    0
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
1
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (5)
  • Mar-May only
    (1)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (2)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (1)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Calling it a Vintage hotel to hide behind a worn out, run down, filthy, smoke stained, bug infested nightmare is unacceptable!! Years of cigarette smoke stains everything in the room. Bathroom sink wouldn't drain. Chased cockroach out of bathtub in the morning to take a shower. Mismatched furniture from the 60's and 70's, looked as though it was pulled from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Fountain_Motel_Mgmt, Owner at Fountain Motel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant experience. We strive to provide an economical, clean place to stay for all our guests. Please let us know what room you stayed in and the date of your stay and we will try our best to rectify the situation. We take our reputation very seriously and hope... More 

Carrboro, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I like this place. It's just what I need when I head north for the Lake Placid Ironman. I can park my truck and cook my food by the door of my room. It is very basic, but only $52 for a night, and everything works. It's not scary at all. The people are very friendly, and they remember me,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Despite this motel's David Lynch like movie set look and feel, The Fountain Hotel is really not all that bad. If you're in real need of a shower and a bed, and it's late, and all the other hotel's in the area have been booked (which is what I experienced because the university kids were back in town for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fountain_Motel_Mgmt, Manager at Fountain Motel, responded to this review

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Fountain Motel. Although we are a vintage motel, we strive to keep our guests comfortable and our prices reasonable. Please keep us in mind the next time you are in the area. More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

This motel is scary. It is dirty and outdated. The bathtub wouldn't drain, the room smelled awful, everything in the room was stained somehow. There is not a single positive thing I can say about this place so I will leave it to this, stay away.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Fountain_Motel_Mgmt, Manager at Fountain Motel, responded to this review

I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Please let us know what room you were staying in so that we can fix the problems that you mentioned. We strive our best to provide a comfortable stay for our guests. More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 421 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

I've been curious about this place for years, and had a chance to try it out on my way south for a road trip. It's a fairly large one story building from the early '60s, in the classic roadside motel style. The outside is presentable (although the neon sign badly needs work), and the lady in the office was friendly.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Fountain_Motel_Mgmt, Manager at Fountain Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We recognize that we are vintage motel, but we work hard to keep our guests comfortable. If you do remember the room number, we will try our best to fix the problems that you mentioned. Since your visit, we have repaired the neon sign. In addition, we are glad that you found the check-in process... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

2 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rustburg
7.6 mi away
Days Inn Alta Vista
Days Inn Alta Vista
#1 of 2 in Altavista
3.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
6.9 mi away
Timberlake Motel Lynchburg
Timberlake Motel Lynchburg
#7 of 23 in Lynchburg
4.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities