We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Rocky Mount hotels

Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1730 N Main St., Rocky Mount, VA 24151
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rocky Mount
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
cthomas102060 Oxford, Florida
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    11
    6
    4
See reviews for
9
9
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (32)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Oxford, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Well, I had to take a quick flight out and made some last minute reservations. When I arrived, the front desk was extremely friendly. I had requested a non smoking room and was granted a room by the side door on the first floor (room 116). The room was a large room that was nice and clean. The free breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jerry R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to provide us feedback about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your comments and share them with our staff. Your input allows us to pinpoint areas to improve and areas where we're already performing well. We hope to see you back again in the near future. More

Moon Township, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Be advices this is a smoking hotel, just about everywhere on the grounds. Got this last minute, last room, smoking room is all they had, almost choked as we entered the hallway. Room needs a lot of work. Bathroom clean , bed clean, but that's were it ends, tv had large scratches on screen and didn't work anyway, hole in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jerry R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for providing us feedback about your recent stay with us. We apologize that we didn't meet your expectations and you had to settle for a smoking room. Our property will be going through a rooms refresh early 2015 and we expect to either go completely non-smoking or only one hallway will be designated smoking. Again, my apologies and... More

Travelers are raving about these Rocky Mount hotels

Ft. Myers FL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I requested a non smoking room and received a non smoking room. However, during certain times of the year they allow smokers to smoke in non smoking rooms. When I inquired about the problem the front desk person ho-hummed the problem with the excuse that the racing patrons usually fill up the place and smoke, and that's the way it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jerry R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for providing us feedback about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your comments and use them to improve services to all our guests. We are still a smoking facility and that can be significant at times, but we're renovating and we plan to either go non-smoking or to limit smoking to one of the upstairs hallways, which... More

Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We came in town for our family reunion and stayed here. The front desk clerk wasn't so pleasant. But I guess you pay for what you get. The room needs an update bad. Breakfast was ok. Beds are small there's a musty old smell in hallways and rooms! Our housekeeper Jaime was AWESOME, thank you so much young lady for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jerry R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your candid comments and we take them very seriously. We also use your comments to improve services to our guests. The hotel will be completing a renovation in 2015 and we look forward to providing better accommodations to our customers. We look forward to seeing... More

Henderson, North Carolina
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
34 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Front desk staff was helpful in finding places in town. Room was nice and pretty clean. Noise level was a little annoying from next door and upstairs (thin walls). Only problem I had was room was at the back of building. When I came in late there was no parking at back and the door didn't have good lighting, tree... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jerry R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for providing us feedback about your recent stay with us. Your comments about poor lighting and an entrance door not working properly have been resolved. The back parking lot lights have been replaced with new fixtures and all our exit doors have been repaired. In early 2015 we expect to finish our complete renovation of the entire property.... More

Sevierville, TN
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We checked into this hotel and got the last room available which was a smoking room. When we got to the room the smell was terrible, the furniture was old along with the bed, which looked like it was not clean at all. The window was full of finger prints and the whole place smelled. The elevator also had a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jerry R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to provide us feedback about your recent stay with us. We apologize for not meeting your expectations. If our hotel fills, and you're looking for a last minute room, smoking rooms usually are all that are left. We are expecting our rooms to be renovated in early 2015, and we expect to either become a... More

Ridgeway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Everyone we came in contact associated with during our stay was very helpful, polite and friendly. We were able to check in after we attended a function locally and the young lady at the desk was very helpful. Housekeeping was "on time" with fresh clean towels and linens.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jerry R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake, responded to this review

On behalf of all our staff, we would like to thank you for taking time to provide us feedback about your recent stay. Our goal is to insure each guest has a clean room, comfortable stay, and hearty breakfast, and is met by smiling faces and friendly personnel. We hope you will choose us again on your next visit to... More

Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
39 hotel reviews
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

This did prove that pet friendly and nice, clean, and comfortable are not mutually exclusive. It did not smell at all and the room was very clean. The breakfast offering is included, but was fairly basic, still, a nice amenity when there isn't a lot in the nearby area. The only other issue we had was that the facial tissue... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jerry R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking time to provide us feedback about your recent stay. We're sorry to hear your wife had injured a finger while here. But, we're glad you chose us and would return again. We pride ourselves on friendly knowledgeable service, clean rooms, and a great breakfast. Again, thank you for your comments. More

Sloop Point, NC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Very nice staff who were very polite and accommodating. We tried to check in in the afternoon but were turned away as "the rooms hadn't been cleaned." We had an event to attend and were not able to check in until about 10 pm. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean but the place is long overdue for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jerry R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to provide us feedback concerning your recent stay with us. Your comments are very important to us and we use them to improve our service to all our guests. As you may know, we are in the middle of a renovation and will complete our guest rooms renovation this summer. We look forward to better... More

Canal Winchester, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We have stayed at this location for 8 years during Martinsville race weekend.Staff are always pleasant and always enjoy stay. Upgrades are being made to this property. Rooms are clean, but are on the list for upgrades. Disappointed they would not make a reservations for next year. Said they do not know the date or room rate for next year.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jerry R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback. The reason for not making immediate reservations for our guests of the Martinsville Spring NASCAR race is that the date seems to change each year, and if we make it for the wrong weekend, we just can't be sure that... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake

Address: 1730 N Main St., Rocky Mount, VA 24151
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Rocky Mount
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake Hotel Rocky Mount
Comfort Inn Rocky Mount
Rocky Mount Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake Rocky Mount, Virginia

6 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay