We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake

Hotel website
Hotel deals
1730 N Main St., Rocky Mount, VA 24151
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake
Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake
Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    13
    7
    4
See reviews for
11
9
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (35)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Morgantown, WV
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

I stayed at this hotel for one night returning home from vacation. I had originally intended to stay closer to Martinsville or Danville but closer rooms were sold out because of a NASCAR race. The staff at the hotel was friendly. While my room was clean, it was dated and worn out. I had to use the bathroom outlet to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jerry R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking time to provide us feedback about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your comments and use them to improve our services to our guests. We are being renovated in the next few months and look forward to providing even better service to our guests. During the renovation, the electrical outlet situation will be... More 

Durham, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Spent the night recently because of it was the same hotel that my child's sports team had blocked rooms. The room was clean and within the expectations of the price point. We had two double beds and a little crowded in one bed with two adults. We were with 35 college aged lacrosse boys and the staff was very friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jerry R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your comments and we use the collective of them to improve our services to our guests. In the spring of 2015, we will be renovating our guestrooms and offering a new product to our customers. We are looking forward to serving you again in the near future. More 

Hillsborough, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

The rooms were clean but the place smells of cigarette smoke. Rooms are cheaply furnished and service was less than satisfactory. Room heater was not working well and had to change rooms and desk acts they are doing you a favor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jerry R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to provide us feedback about your recent stay. We apologize for not meeting your expectations, but we are excited to announce some changes coming to the hotel soon. We will be getting a renovation to our guest rooms soon that will upgrade our case goods and make us smoke free. So, we hope you choose... More 

Travelers are raving about these Rocky Mount hotels

Oxford, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Well, I had to take a quick flight out and made some last minute reservations. When I arrived, the front desk was extremely friendly. I had requested a non smoking room and was granted a room by the side door on the first floor (room 116). The room was a large room that was nice and clean. The free breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jerry R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to provide us feedback about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your comments and share them with our staff. Your input allows us to pinpoint areas to improve and areas where we're already performing well. We hope to see you back again in the near future. More 

Moon Township, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

Be advices this is a smoking hotel, just about everywhere on the grounds. Got this last minute, last room, smoking room is all they had, almost choked as we entered the hallway. Room needs a lot of work. Bathroom clean , bed clean, but that's were it ends, tv had large scratches on screen and didn't work anyway, hole in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jerry R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for providing us feedback about your recent stay with us. We apologize that we didn't meet your expectations and you had to settle for a smoking room. Our property will be going through a rooms refresh early 2015 and we expect to either go completely non-smoking or only one hallway will be designated smoking. Again, my apologies and... More 

Ft. Myers FL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

I requested a non smoking room and received a non smoking room. However, during certain times of the year they allow smokers to smoke in non smoking rooms. When I inquired about the problem the front desk person ho-hummed the problem with the excuse that the racing patrons usually fill up the place and smoke, and that's the way it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jerry R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for providing us feedback about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your comments and use them to improve services to all our guests. We are still a smoking facility and that can be significant at times, but we're renovating and we plan to either go non-smoking or to limit smoking to one of the upstairs hallways, which... More 

Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We came in town for our family reunion and stayed here. The front desk clerk wasn't so pleasant. But I guess you pay for what you get. The room needs an update bad. Breakfast was ok. Beds are small there's a musty old smell in hallways and rooms! Our housekeeper Jaime was AWESOME, thank you so much young lady for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jerry R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your candid comments and we take them very seriously. We also use your comments to improve services to our guests. The hotel will be completing a renovation in 2015 and we look forward to providing better accommodations to our customers. We look forward to seeing... More 

Henderson, North Carolina
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Front desk staff was helpful in finding places in town. Room was nice and pretty clean. Noise level was a little annoying from next door and upstairs (thin walls). Only problem I had was room was at the back of building. When I came in late there was no parking at back and the door didn't have good lighting, tree... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jerry R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for providing us feedback about your recent stay with us. Your comments about poor lighting and an entrance door not working properly have been resolved. The back parking lot lights have been replaced with new fixtures and all our exit doors have been repaired. In early 2015 we expect to finish our complete renovation of the entire property.... More 

Sevierville, TN
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We checked into this hotel and got the last room available which was a smoking room. When we got to the room the smell was terrible, the furniture was old along with the bed, which looked like it was not clean at all. The window was full of finger prints and the whole place smelled. The elevator also had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jerry R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to provide us feedback about your recent stay with us. We apologize for not meeting your expectations. If our hotel fills, and you're looking for a last minute room, smoking rooms usually are all that are left. We are expecting our rooms to be renovated in early 2015, and we expect to either become a... More 

Ridgeway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Everyone we came in contact associated with during our stay was very helpful, polite and friendly. We were able to check in after we attended a function locally and the young lady at the desk was very helpful. Housekeeping was "on time" with fresh clean towels and linens.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jerry R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake, responded to this review

On behalf of all our staff, we would like to thank you for taking time to provide us feedback about your recent stay. Our goal is to insure each guest has a clean room, comfortable stay, and hearty breakfast, and is met by smiling faces and friendly personnel. We hope you will choose us again on your next visit to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay