We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Colony House Motor Lodge

2.0 of 5 3560 Franklin Rd. SW (U.S. 220 Business), Roanoke, VA
Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Colony House Motor Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Colony House Motor Lodge
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    23
    10
    11
    3
See reviews for
9
19
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (59)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Ancram, New York, Usa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Staff were extremely welcoming and helpful. Unfortunately, this quaint motel needs new beds (lumpy), new heating (very noisy), and a new treadmill (shaky at best). It was very clean and must have been lovely a while back. It's tough to justify paying competitive pricing. Breakfast was outright stingy, watered down coffee and a couple of small danish (which we were... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind comments and high ratings for service and cleanliness. I’m disappointed you didn't enjoy the bed because our goal is to make sure that you stay as relaxed as possible. As for the coffee, it was tested and selected by our staff. It is a medium roast prepared per the vendor’s directions. If you prefer a bolder... More 

Apex, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

You couldn't beat the price. A clean, spacious room, friendly desk, cold but fine breakfast. But there was a drippy faucet, the door key refused to work, and the television was at least 20 years old. These aren't really complaints, just facts. We still enjoyed what we got for the price.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review

We appreciate your nice comments about our clean rooms and continental breakfast, and it's wonderful to know that you were happy with the price you paid for your room. I’ll relay your kind compliments to our staff. However, I'm very concerned that door key didn't work. We've determined that our room key encoder is intermittently malfunctioning, and we've already ordered... More 

Princeton, West Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

The keys would not unlock door, light did not work over sink, commode would not flush completely and sink would not drain. I brought the issue of the key and light to their agent-on-duty the after we first checked in but nothing was done. He had to let us into our room with a master key.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Right away, I want to sincerely apologize about your experience as it is so out of character for us. That said, our rooms are inspected daily so I'm concerned to read about your visit. I'm also confused as to why our usually attentive and friendly team did not address your concerns on the spot. Overall, I hope you'll accept my... More 

Rock Hill, South Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

This hotel is only good for a relatively inexpensive short stopover. It looks good from the outside but the inside makes up for that. The A/C vent looked like it hadn't been cleaned in years. The directions on both the A/C unit and telephone were completely worn off so you had to guess which button to push. The carpet and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for reaching out! I truly appreciate your observations and will investigate them. Cleanliness is extremely important to us and garners us high ratings because of the hard work of our housekeeping staff. I personally dislike leaks as they can not only be irritating, but also waste water. Recently, we hired a prominent Roanoke commercial plumbing firm to go... More 

Middlesex, New Jersey
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
9 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

I like the idea of supporting local business even though I'd prefer to stay at the nicest place, money-wise that is not usually happening. I quickly put together a Martinsville Race weekend about 10 days beforehand. The reviews for here were pretty good though my options at this point were somewhat limited. Check-in should be done quicker, especially after over... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share this detailed review, Jeremy. I'm sorry to hear check-in was running slower than normal as I can only imagine that after 430 miles, sleep cannot come fast enough! That said, I'm happy the beds were surprisingly comfortable and you appreciated our proximity to tasty places to eat. Next time you're in Roanoke,... More 

Mount Joy, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

The job of finding a hotel when we travel always falls to me. It usually takes me a while to find that one place that is clean but doesn't break the wallet. I've never found a place as quickly as I did here. So many good reviews, and had to add my own! Very friendly check-in, despite the late hour.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review

What a heartwarming compliment! Thank you for taking the time to recommend us here on TripAdvisor, Deb. I look forward to sharing your kind words with the team almost as much as I look forward to welcoming you back. Our door's always open! Take care, Charles, Owner More 

Mechanicsville, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

When I made my reservations (7 rooms for 20 people) I was a little stressed making them sight unseen. I didn't want to be responsible for the disappointment of all of those people! Every hotel I'd tried, up to this point, was booked so I took the plunge. Upon arriving, it's obvious the hotel is dated, but, to me, charming.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review

I sure do appreciate the encouragement, Kimberly. Thank you for taking the time to share this heartwarming account of your experience and I cannot wait to share it with the team. Is there anything we can do to make your next experience with us 5-stars? Just let me know! After all, your happiness is always a priority. Kind regards, Charles,... More 

Riverdale, Maryland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

My friend and I stayed at the Colony House Motor Lodge while we were attending a conference in Roanoke. The room, the beds and the hallway had a musty smell. The room had definitely not been cleaned. The wall of the shower had a clump of black hair stuck to it. The a/c heating unit had enormous amounts of dust... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to reach out, as it presents us with the opportunity to address your concerns. You stayed during a very important women’s conference in Roanoke, which is a busy time for us, and a time where we do our best to impress. It's apparent that we did not meet the mark with you, and for... More 

VA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here. The rooms were clean and the beds were clean and comfortable. The parking lot was well-lit. The check-in staff was very friendly and helpful. The room had TV, microwave, coffee maker (with coffee and cups), and a mini fridge. Enjoyed my overnight stay here. Price was very affordable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review

If you're happy, I'm happy! My sincerest thank you for taking the time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor, Mrs. Pen. From the comfortable beds to our friendly team, your many compliments sure do mean a lot! f there's anything we can do on your next visit to make your 4-star experience a 5-star, please let me know. I'm... More 

Basildon UK
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

Old Style 50's motel. Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff at reception. Clean Rooms and clean beds. Not such a good breakfast. No hot food just cereal and a pastry but to be honest that is the one negative about the facility itself. One other negative and it can only be put down as an error, is that after cleaning, our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review

I sure do appreciate the vote of confidence! Thank you for taking the time to recommend us here on TripAdvisor. That said, I sincerely apologize that your room was left unlocked all day. That's unacceptable and I will certainly follow-up with my team. Please let me assure you that is very out of character for us. To go from our... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Colony House Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony House Motor Lodge

Address: 3560 Franklin Rd. SW (U.S. 220 Business), Roanoke, VA
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Colony House Motor Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Colony House Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony House Motor Hotel Roanoke
Colony Hotel Roanoke
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Roanoke

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay