We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Colony House Motor Lodge

Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
3560 Franklin Rd. SW (U.S. 220 Business), Roanoke, VA
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Colony House Motor Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Colony House Motor Lodge
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    23
    12
    12
    3
See reviews for
10
20
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (62)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Comfortable and spacious if a little “tired” looking. Getting to and from it from route 81 added a good half hour to our long trip from Florida back to Montreal. The fan in the (1950’s pink) bathroom started when the light was switched on. The noise from the fan rivalled a Harley so it is a good idea to keep... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review

We always enjoy our Canadian neighbors on their way south and back north. As you stated, we are very convenient to the Blue Ridge Parkway, and many Canadians stay an extra night to visit the sites of the area. Our staff are proud of the region and are happy to assist with suggestions of the sites to see. Thank you... More 

Rochester, New York
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

An older property, in serious need of interior room makeover and facade (exterior) makeover; my room had sufficient updates (fixtures and appliances) to make this property competitive but the traveller rating I found online was too generous; my brief encounter with staff was fast, friendly, and efficient; room/bath/tile/walls/carpet all were acceptably clean; bedding/sheets were just adequate; mild concern with only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Jimdandy55, thank you for your kind comments and high ratings on our value, cleanliness, location, and staff. Coming from Rochester, NY you are aware of the harsh winter we all have just suffered. With a 50+ year old property, maintenance is an ongoing process. Painting the interior is a continuous, rolling project. Although having recently painted the outside, replaced all... More 

Lynchburg, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

Desk clerk was obnoxious, tried to intimidate me not only at the office but when I saw him later on the outside. Room was dirty and did not receive housekeeping one day. I won't be going back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Despite our many attempts to satisfy your needs, including moving you to different rooms, I’m sad to learn we weren’t successful. Our desk clerks get high ratings for their service and hospitality, and our rooms are highly rated for cleanliness. Safe travels in the future. All my best, Charles, Owner More 

Ancram, New York, Usa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Staff were extremely welcoming and helpful. Unfortunately, this quaint motel needs new beds (lumpy), new heating (very noisy), and a new treadmill (shaky at best). It was very clean and must have been lovely a while back. It's tough to justify paying competitive pricing. Breakfast was outright stingy, watered down coffee and a couple of small danish (which we were... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind comments and high ratings for service and cleanliness. I’m disappointed you didn't enjoy the bed because our goal is to make sure that you stay as relaxed as possible. As for the coffee, it was tested and selected by our staff. It is a medium roast prepared per the vendor’s directions. If you prefer a bolder... More 

Apex, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

You couldn't beat the price. A clean, spacious room, friendly desk, cold but fine breakfast. But there was a drippy faucet, the door key refused to work, and the television was at least 20 years old. These aren't really complaints, just facts. We still enjoyed what we got for the price.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review

We appreciate your nice comments about our clean rooms and continental breakfast, and it's wonderful to know that you were happy with the price you paid for your room. I’ll relay your kind compliments to our staff. However, I'm very concerned that door key didn't work. We've determined that our room key encoder is intermittently malfunctioning, and we've already ordered... More 

Princeton, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

The keys would not unlock door, light did not work over sink, commode would not flush completely and sink would not drain. I brought the issue of the key and light to their agent-on-duty the after we first checked in but nothing was done. He had to let us into our room with a master key.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Right away, I want to sincerely apologize about your experience as it is so out of character for us. That said, our rooms are inspected daily so I'm concerned to read about your visit. I'm also confused as to why our usually attentive and friendly team did not address your concerns on the spot. Overall, I hope you'll accept my... More 

Rock Hill, South Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

This hotel is only good for a relatively inexpensive short stopover. It looks good from the outside but the inside makes up for that. The A/C vent looked like it hadn't been cleaned in years. The directions on both the A/C unit and telephone were completely worn off so you had to guess which button to push. The carpet and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for reaching out! I truly appreciate your observations and will investigate them. Cleanliness is extremely important to us and garners us high ratings because of the hard work of our housekeeping staff. I personally dislike leaks as they can not only be irritating, but also waste water. Recently, we hired a prominent Roanoke commercial plumbing firm to go... More 

Middlesex, New Jersey
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
10 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

I like the idea of supporting local business even though I'd prefer to stay at the nicest place, money-wise that is not usually happening. I quickly put together a Martinsville Race weekend about 10 days beforehand. The reviews for here were pretty good though my options at this point were somewhat limited. Check-in should be done quicker, especially after over... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share this detailed review, Jeremy. I'm sorry to hear check-in was running slower than normal as I can only imagine that after 430 miles, sleep cannot come fast enough! That said, I'm happy the beds were surprisingly comfortable and you appreciated our proximity to tasty places to eat. Next time you're in Roanoke,... More 

Mount Joy, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

The job of finding a hotel when we travel always falls to me. It usually takes me a while to find that one place that is clean but doesn't break the wallet. I've never found a place as quickly as I did here. So many good reviews, and had to add my own! Very friendly check-in, despite the late hour.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review

What a heartwarming compliment! Thank you for taking the time to recommend us here on TripAdvisor, Deb. I look forward to sharing your kind words with the team almost as much as I look forward to welcoming you back. Our door's always open! Take care, Charles, Owner More 

Mechanicsville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

When I made my reservations (7 rooms for 20 people) I was a little stressed making them sight unseen. I didn't want to be responsible for the disappointment of all of those people! Every hotel I'd tried, up to this point, was booked so I took the plunge. Upon arriving, it's obvious the hotel is dated, but, to me, charming.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review

I sure do appreciate the encouragement, Kimberly. Thank you for taking the time to share this heartwarming account of your experience and I cannot wait to share it with the team. Is there anything we can do to make your next experience with us 5-stars? Just let me know! After all, your happiness is always a priority. Kind regards, Charles,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities