We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Colony House Motor Lodge

Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
3560 Franklin Rd. SW (U.S. 220 Business), Roanoke, VA
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Colony House Motor Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Colony House Motor Lodge
Add Photo

68 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    15
    23
    14
    12
    4
See reviews for
13
20
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (68)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Clifford, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for a three day visit with family in Roanoke, June 3-6 2015. Good size rooms, nice staff and affordable price. The rooms are clean, quiet and were perfectly suited for our purposes. It is also within a great proximity to most everything in Roanoke. I wish they had a monthly rate, as we are relocating and it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Tosha, thanks for the recommendation! Nothing makes me happier than hearing that we hit the mark for you and that you had a comfortable stay while you were relocating. I wish you the best of luck in moving -- if you ever need anything or a place to stay, we're always here! Hope to see you again, Charles, Owner More 

Oriental
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

You can't beat it for the price!! The rooms have been upgraded. I would say they have done as much as possible without spending major money!! We stay here a lot during VT football season. This is prime business property. I hope no one buys them out!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Corbin, I'm so glad that you love the renovations! We're all gearing up for football season around here, so we're really excited to see you again soon for more great times. Cheers, Charles, Owner More 

Null
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This hotel is old but well maintained. The accommodation was clean and comfortabale. We were there for graduation and and happy to have found a place to stay during this busy season. Staff members were all friendly and helpful; basically this was a good place to spend a night or three while in the area. Not luxurious but as I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Linda, congratulations on being able to see your loved one graduate -- you must've been so proud! Comfort's our specialty, so I'm glad that you felt relaxed, especially during this busy time. If you're ever in town again, I hope that we get to see you all again. Warm wishes, Charles, Owner More 

New York City, New York
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The night clerk was very friendly and helpful (my daughter and I arrived after 9 pm). The bed was comfortable, and, there was more than one kind of pillow! I had recently stayed at another hotel that had only one kind of pillow, a hard, very uncomfortable one, so this was good news. We did not try the breakfast. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review

I'm so happy that you and your daughter felt comfortable and relaxed throughout your stay here. Thanks for the feedback about the vending machines -- I'll speak to my staff about what we can do to make water more readily available to all of our guests. The next time that you're in town, I hope that we get to see... More 

Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Clean room and bedding. Great price. We were just sleeping and showering here for graduation weekend and it was just right. Breakfast snacks but I didn't check them out, only the coffee. The staff was helpful and treated us like the paying customers we were.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review

First of all, congratulations on the graduation! I'm so glad that all of you had a great time, and that we could help make the weekend turn out just right. If you're ever in town again, we'd love to see you! Best, Charles, Owner More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

Comfortable and spacious if a little “tired” looking. Getting to and from it from route 81 added a good half hour to our long trip from Florida back to Montreal. The fan in the (1950’s pink) bathroom started when the light was switched on. The noise from the fan rivalled a Harley so it is a good idea to keep... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review

We always enjoy our Canadian neighbors on their way south and back north. As you stated, we are very convenient to the Blue Ridge Parkway, and many Canadians stay an extra night to visit the sites of the area. Our staff are proud of the region and are happy to assist with suggestions of the sites to see. Thank you... More 

Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

An older property, in serious need of interior room makeover and facade (exterior) makeover; my room had sufficient updates (fixtures and appliances) to make this property competitive but the traveller rating I found online was too generous; my brief encounter with staff was fast, friendly, and efficient; room/bath/tile/walls/carpet all were acceptably clean; bedding/sheets were just adequate; mild concern with only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Jimdandy55, thank you for your kind comments and high ratings on our value, cleanliness, location, and staff. Coming from Rochester, NY you are aware of the harsh winter we all have just suffered. With a 50+ year old property, maintenance is an ongoing process. Painting the interior is a continuous, rolling project. Although having recently painted the outside, replaced all... More 

Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

Desk clerk was obnoxious, tried to intimidate me not only at the office but when I saw him later on the outside. Room was dirty and did not receive housekeeping one day. I won't be going back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Despite our many attempts to satisfy your needs, including moving you to different rooms, I’m sad to learn we weren’t successful. Our desk clerks get high ratings for their service and hospitality, and our rooms are highly rated for cleanliness. Safe travels in the future. All my best, Charles, Owner More 

Ancram, New York, Usa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Staff were extremely welcoming and helpful. Unfortunately, this quaint motel needs new beds (lumpy), new heating (very noisy), and a new treadmill (shaky at best). It was very clean and must have been lovely a while back. It's tough to justify paying competitive pricing. Breakfast was outright stingy, watered down coffee and a couple of small danish (which we were... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind comments and high ratings for service and cleanliness. I’m disappointed you didn't enjoy the bed because our goal is to make sure that you stay as relaxed as possible. As for the coffee, it was tested and selected by our staff. It is a medium roast prepared per the vendor’s directions. If you prefer a bolder... More 

Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

You couldn't beat the price. A clean, spacious room, friendly desk, cold but fine breakfast. But there was a drippy faucet, the door key refused to work, and the television was at least 20 years old. These aren't really complaints, just facts. We still enjoyed what we got for the price.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review

We appreciate your nice comments about our clean rooms and continental breakfast, and it's wonderful to know that you were happy with the price you paid for your room. I’ll relay your kind compliments to our staff. However, I'm very concerned that door key didn't work. We've determined that our room key encoder is intermittently malfunctioning, and we've already ordered... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay