We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 37 Roanoke hotels

Colony House Motor Lodge

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3560 Franklin Rd. SW (U.S. 220 Business), Roanoke, VA
Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Colony House Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Colony House Motor Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Travelocity Priceline.com
and 2 more sites!
52%
Ranked #18 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
maigolf North Carolina
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    7
    4
    6
    2
See reviews for
2
7
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Needed a room near particular part of Roanoke after long day of helping with daughter's move. We saw the Colony House and were warmly greeted. Our room was very spacious and clean. There were two sinks which came as a nice surprise. We had plenty of towels, hot water and toiletries, and a coffee pot. While the TV was not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your enjoyable experience. Our staff works hard to offer personal touches and are dedicated to our guests' comfort. In fact we just celebrated the 30th anniversary of our head housekeeper at the Colony House Motor lodge. Having moved my children several times, I know you must have been exhausted and am pleased you found our property... More

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

My boyfriend and I took a weekend trip to Roanoke, and as we always enjoy supporting local businesses when possible, this was a perfect fit for our budget and our style. Still owned by the same family, let me tell you...the price is right! The rooms are large (built in the 50's), and quiet (rumor has it the owners also... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review

My sincerest thank you for taking the time to share such a detailed, thoughtful review of us, Laura. I couldn't be happier to hear just how much you and your boyfriend enjoyed staying with us and I'm truly appreciative of your support. I look forward to sharing your compliments with Ed and hopefully you'll have another getaway to Roanoke soon.... More

Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

My friends in Roanoke invited me and a friend down for Thanksgiving and told us there were good lodgings very close by their central city location. When I saw the impressive 1960s style architecture on the Web, and spoke to a very kind booking agent, I made a 3 day holiday weekend reservation. The main desk worker was smiling and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Tommy, thank you for complimenting our appealing retro look, value pricing, excellent location, and our friendly staff that worked to accommodate you during your stay. I’m sorry the low temperatures (almost record lows while you were here!) presented some challenges in keeping your room as warm as you wished. The HVAC units are regularly maintained and replaced as needed. Thank... More

Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I have had an issue with this place with charging my card twice and they will not refund me my money. I even carried my statement to them to show where it was charged twice and plus did a conference call with my bank on the line. They still will not refund my money. Every time I go up there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for reaching out to us here on TripAdvisor, Tierra. I’m happy to report we solved the mystery of the two charges but we were not able to reach you on the phone number you left. The problem arose because you had two reservations with us. The first was booked through an online travel agent. Since you never showed... More

Exeter,UK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We generally try to stay in privately owned establishments as we tend to find the accommodation less bland and the staff more attentive and interested than in the chains. This could never be more so than our experience of Colony House. We had a very enjoyable one night stay and wish we could have stayed longer. Nothing was too much... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review

My sincerest thank you for your support. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to sharing your kind words with the rest of the team. Next time you're in Roanoke, I hope you'll stay with us again! Warm regards, Charles, Owner More

Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Staff was very friendly and helpful, but between the stained comforter, the dead bug in the sleeping area and the live one in the bathroom, we would have to be desparate to stay here again. Also, shower head would be perfect for someone 4' or shorter, for those of us that are 6', it was a challenge. Our friends were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words for our staff. I'm happy you found them friendly and helpful. In fact I'm sure they would have changed rooms for you if you explained you weren't happy with their assignment. I hope you notified them about the comforter so that we could address the issue and change it out. However, I'm sure our... More

Pilot
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband & I are from Pilot, VA. Last week we had traveled to Floyd to watch some races & w/out our GPS got turned around & ended up at the bottom of a mountain in Roanoke, completely the opposite direction we needed to go. We drove & happened upon a Waffle House for breakfast & were told the hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review

So sorry you were lost and so far out of your way. That is such an upsetting situation especially at night. Thank you for finding Colony House and all your compliments. We are proud of all our people and will pass on your kind comments. As a family owned business, we try to treat our guests as family and I'm... More

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Well im sure i could have stayed here in 1983 and it would have been nice but the rooms have taken abuse in 30 years of service with no updates. Tv picture quality was terrible and a vcr in the room, i mean really a vcr? Time for some flat screens i mean im surprised they even have cable. Good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review

As our website states we are a “Quaint step back in time with modern conveniences.” The VCRs are just a fun item. Truthfully, DVDs are becoming passé and that is why we provide free WIFI for streaming video. Thank you for the compliments about our location and friendly staff but you forgot to mention the room’s large attractive armoire complete... More

North Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We were here for two weeks for a visit and the staff could not have been nicer to us or more helpful. Our room was more than comfortable. Although the hotel has some age the room was exceptionally clean and everything worked wonderfully. The location is exceptional and is about in the center of everything. Easy for us to get... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for all your wonderful compliments. I will pass them along to the staff. The Roanoke Valley has many wonderful attractions and I'm glad you found them easily accessible from our location in beautiful South Roanoke. More

Bent mountain, VA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I prefer independent motels. But it turns out that this hotel is associated with Hampton Inns. Room 437 is shabby. The tub barely drains. The mirror has chips in it. The AC unit is incredibly loud and blows the drape way out into the room. The TV picture quality is so bad, it wasn't worth it to turn on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Colony House Motor Lodge is independent and not associated with any other hotels or motels which helps us maintain our very reasonable rate structure. Management appreciates feedback on our facilities and follows up on all complaints. Thank you for highlighting our excellent location which affords easy access to many attraction in the Roanoke Valley. More

Been to Colony House Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony House Motor Lodge

Also Known As:
Colony House Motor Hotel Roanoke
Colony House Motor Hotel
Colony Hotel Roanoke
Address: 3560 Franklin Rd. SW (U.S. 220 Business), Roanoke, VA
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Colony House Motor Lodge 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colony House Motor Lodge is South Roanoke’s guest bedroom. A quaint step back in time with modern conveniences, Colony House Motor Lodge is situated in beautiful and fashionable South Roanoke. Located 2 miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway near the junction of Route 220 and I-581 on Franklin Road, we are conveniently near and accessible to the many Roanoke Valley attractions and facilities. Family owned with family pride since 1957, our dedicated and friendly staff looks forward to welcoming you.Our goal is to provide a quality experience at an affordable price. Toward this goal our amenities include a free continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, exercise room, guest laundry, business center and an outdoor pool in season. Additionally each room has a coffee maker, small refrigerator, microwave, two bathroom sinks in most and free HBO. For those needing more room or a kitchen, we have two spacious suites. Weekly stays are also available, making Colony House a great option for business travelers.Adjoining large and small conferences rooms suitable for meetings or exhibitions are available separately or together at a reasonable price. To assist with catering, a prep area is adjacent to the large conference room. Each conference room has its own private bathroom.Carilion Memorial, Carilion Community, and Lewis Gale hospitals are just minutes away, and we proudly provide a discount for inpatients' families. Other nearby destinations include Mill Mountain Zoo, Virginia Museum of Transportation, The Taubman Museum of Art, Roanoke Civic Center, Center in the Square, Roanoke Farmer’s Market and The Jefferson Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your Colony House Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colony House Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.