We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Inn Roanoke/Airport

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
6520 Thirlane Road, I-81 Exit 143/I-581 Exit 2S, Roanoke, VA 24019
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Inn Roanoke\/Airport
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

316 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were very disappointed with Howard Johnson, the room was quite musty and old inside. I did not feel safe at this location. The only reason I didn't give it terrible was because it was at least clean.

Helpful?
Thank Dorothy M
Darren G, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Roanoke/Airport, responded to this review

Hello i am with the Howard Johnson Inn and i would like to first thank you for your business and for the review you have given us! Secondly i would like to inform you that we are working to get the issues fixed and create a better stay for our guests! Again we at the Howard Johnson would like to... More 

Roanoke, Virginia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Older hotel needing some repairs n updating Fine for overnight travelers passing thru looking for less inexpensive rooms I have been living here since 3/15 to be near my sister at a nearby Rehab center. Weekly rates great! Staff very helpful to meet my needs.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank peggyh830
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015

I was extremely disappointed when I walked into my room. I guess this truly is a case of "You get what you pay for". The room was run down, towels had holes in them! The bathtub needed a good cleaning, TV must've been from the 90's & needs to be replaced. The picture quality was awful, with a line running... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank giselle829
CARLISLE
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2015

This stay has made us sure we will not stay at a Howard Johnson ever again. I have been a Wyndham Rewards member since the early 90:s and was ashamed that they had recommended a stay here. The sheets had rips in them, holes in the wall, tub and shower unusable, smell of animal urine and smoke. I do not... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Linda M
Darren G, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Roanoke/Airport, responded to this review

Hello i am from the Howard Johnson and i would first like to thank you for your business and for the review that you have given us. Secondly i would like to inform you that we take your reviews very seriously and have been working to fix the problems you stated to create a better stay for our guests! Again... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2015

First of all the motel has not been renovated in years. The room carpet was FILTY!!!!! There was a break between the bathroom doorway and the room floor the furniture was outdated including the tv. The tub in the bathroom needed work and there was no hot water. The bed was not bad for sleeping except for the bedspread had... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank 700francesn
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2015

Not sure why, but when you have to go, you just have to go...to poop! Discovering the toilet wouldn't flush caused me to go use the managers toilet...so embarsing...carpet also stank! Bed was nice, fridge froze my food...room 133 roanoke....no Internet in my room....good bed and pillows clean....

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank W4781EWjamess
Darren G, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Roanoke/Airport, responded to this review

Hello I am from the Howard Johnson and first i would like to thank you for your business and for the review. Secondly i would like to inform you that we care about our guests and have been working very hard to update the rooms and fix problems for our guests to have a better stay! Again we at the... More 

Roanoke
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2015

There were burnt incense in the bathroom, burnt marks from cigarettes in bathtub. My skin was itchy laying on the bed, I'm not sure if they were bed bugs or not. I saw atleast two bugs crawling around.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank lachaz
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2015

Rooms are older and a bit worn. First room they gave us , a non-smoking room, smelled of cigarettes and marijuana. Second room was ok.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank 908hanss
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2015

The breakfast is terrible, no protein. Rooms are run down. Exterior of buildings is neglected. The staff are trying (relatively new ownership), but this place has been neglected for many years. Supposedly there is wi-fi, but it was always either extremely weak signal or none at all.

Helpful?
Thank SmartMama999
Darren G, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Roanoke/Airport, responded to this review

Hello I am from the Howard Johnson and i would like to first thank you for your business and for the review. Secondly I would like to say that we are working very hard to fix all of the problems and update all the rooms. Again we at the Howard Johnson would like to let you know that you are... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport
0.2 mi away
Motel 6 Roanoke
Motel 6 Roanoke
#17 of 39 in Roanoke
4.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
4.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn Civic Center
Rodeway Inn Civic Center
#27 of 39 in Roanoke
3.0 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View
1.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Roanoke - Airport
2.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Roanoke North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay