We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Quality Inn Tanglewood

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
3816 Franklin Rd. SW, Roanoke, VA 24014
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Quality Inn Tanglewood
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ranked #32 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Add Photo Write a Review

69 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    4
    9
    12
    19
    25
See reviews for
14
28
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (69)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

For the cheap price tag, I felt clean and safe. This is not a luxury hotel, but I have no complaints! (Except don't trust the 10% off coupon on the hotel keycard for the restaurant next door - details below) Our room smelled clean and fresh, and the beds were decently comfortable! The towels smell clean, and the bathroom area... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmva207, General Manager at Quality Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thank You for your comments about your recent stay we are pleased that you chose to stay with us and we are happy to hear that we met your needs. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

We had no reservations, arrived in the area off the Blue Ridge Parkway. Ate at the Steak House next door. While there we looked on TripAdvisor for a place to stay overnight. Saw the reviews on this place. Called four or five other places, found they were all booked. Apparently the Virginia Methodists were meeting in town and all the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gmva207, General Manager at Quality Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thank You for your comments about your recent stay we look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Rome, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

This room was filthy, with drink rings on tables, a filthy bathroom with a plumbing leak and falling-down shower curtain rod..paint peeling on the bathroom ceiling..and I paid $147 for ONE NIGHT...there wasn't even an alarm clock in the room..I didn't need it, as the people upstairs woke at 5 AM and proceded to stomp around and take showers...this room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gmva207, Manager at Quality Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

Please accept our apologies for any problems that you may have had in the future if you will let us know there is an issue we can take care of it , please contact us if you have any questions or if we can assist you further. need further. More 

Lemont Furnace, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

Booked in advance. Arrived late in evening. Too tired to argue. Although the sign on the door indicated it was non smoking as we requested, the first thing to hit you when you open the door was the combined smell of stale cigarettes and booze. Even the supposedly clean towels smelled of smoke. Felt like I was sleeping in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gmva207, Manager at Quality Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

Please contact us at 540-989-4000 as there is NO RECORD of your stay we have contacted TRIP ADVISOR and notified them as we believe these comments are for another property, as we do not have courtyard or swimming pool.We never heard back from TRIP ADVISOR as their website states WE DONT FACT CHECK, well maybe they should as this is... More 

Tunica, Mississippi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

This hotel is in need of some major upgrades... New sink....New carpet...fix the Broken Lamp....New mattress.. more lighting out back. If you have the bad luck of getting a room on the ground floor you will surly hear the guest in the room above you walking...and walking and walking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmva207, Manager at Quality Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

Please accept our apology we are not pleased that you had this experience please contact us at 540-989-4000 if we can help you further. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015 via mobile

The place is an absolute disgrace. A/C doesn't work. Plumbing drainage is very slow. Housekeeping? Both the owners and Choice Hotels could care less about the condition of the unit and losing customers. When construction workers leave disappointed, it's pretty sad. Proprietor and Choice™ must have already made all the money that they'll ever need.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gmva207, Manager at Quality Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

We are concerned that you will not stay here with us however we did offer to move you to another room when your AC unit went out and you refused to move, we tried to have you change rooms as a remedy to this situation, and you also refused housekeeping service as you verbally requested no service or had DND... More 

Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

Phone did not work, Housekeeping went in and picked up the towels only and did nothing else (probably to wash them?). Desk clerk promised to send someone to clean. They never came. Poor service and housekeeping.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gmva207, managment at Quality Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

Please accept our apology and contact us if you have any questions , problems or concerns about your stay, we hope you will give us another chance when you are in the area again. More 

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

This hotel was a bargain. It was in good repair. The room was large and clean with amenities like free wifi, fridge and microwave. The bathroom was unusually large. Staff was friendly and helpful. Decent free breakfast included. Furnitire was good but a little dated. Modern door locks with no problems as had been mentioned in a review I read.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
gmva207, General Manager at Quality Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

Than You for your comments about you recent stay with us .We are pleased that you took the time to leave valuable feedback about your experience here.Our king rooms are very large in size compared to other standard king rooms ,which allow you enough space to relax after a long day.We look forward to seeing you again real soon. More 

Roanoke, West Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

I recently stayed at the Quality Inn right off of Franklin Rd after coming through a snow storm the previous night. Upon arrival I saw the desk clerk Leon shoveling the sidewalk. (Very impressed). When I walked inside I was greeted by his professional attitude. Since I stayed here before I knew where I was going. Good service at an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
gmva207, General Manager at Quality Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thank You for your comments about your stay with us .We are pleased that you posted comments about your stay with us.We thank you for the cooments about the great service you recieved, we appreciate your buisness and look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Oklahoma City, OK
Level Contributor
249 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

We got a good deal on a 4-night stay at this hotel. Nothing fancy but it was clean and offered the things we like: free wifi, breakfast, and a micro-fridge. Because of the great price, I was able to overlook some of the minor things about the hotel. I did like the location which was right next to 581 and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gmva207, General Manager at Quality Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thank You for your buisness and your comments about you recent stay with us we look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Roanoke. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn Tanglewood
Sleep Inn Tanglewood
#24 of 39 in Roanoke
3.0 of 5 stars 73 reviews
6.8 mi away
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Motel 6 Roanoke
Motel 6 Roanoke
#16 of 39 in Roanoke
4.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cambria Suites Roanoke
Cambria Suites Roanoke
#2 of 39 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 stars 533 reviews
0.3 mi away
Colony House Motor Lodge
Colony House Motor Lodge
#21 of 39 in Roanoke
3.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay