We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Quality Inn Tanglewood

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
3816 Franklin Rd. SW, Roanoke, VA 24014
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Quality Inn Tanglewood
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

72 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    4
    10
    12
    21
    25
See reviews for
16
29
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (72)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is a BAD PLACE to stay in Roanoke. I get to Roanoke about once a month to visit with family. I usually stay at the Sleep Inn down the street from this dump and will be returning there in the future. I found a rate $5 cheaper on the Internet. Sigh. I arrived about 3 pm Friday August 14.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bluefield, West Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Gave me great hospital rate, had laundry room for me to do my mother's laundry during her extended hospital stay. Love the King rooms with fridge/freezer, microwave, vanity, then another vanity in the bath area along with the toilet and a separate stand up shower. This is not your Hilton luxury hotel, but I'm not here to lounge in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed overnight on our way North. The room needs work. The bed spread blanket had a cigarette burn through it. The paint in the bathroom is peeling. The ice machine was broken so I had to go to the desk clerk. He was friendly and accommodating and got me ice. Also, picture above tv was missing. Loved the view of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Roanoke hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015

For the cheap price tag, I felt clean and safe. This is not a luxury hotel, but I have no complaints! (Except don't trust the 10% off coupon on the hotel keycard for the restaurant next door - details below) Our room smelled clean and fresh, and the beds were decently comfortable! The towels smell clean, and the bathroom area... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmva207, General Manager at Quality Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thank You for your comments about your recent stay we are pleased that you chose to stay with us and we are happy to hear that we met your needs. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

We had no reservations, arrived in the area off the Blue Ridge Parkway. Ate at the Steak House next door. While there we looked on TripAdvisor for a place to stay overnight. Saw the reviews on this place. Called four or five other places, found they were all booked. Apparently the Virginia Methodists were meeting in town and all the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gmva207, General Manager at Quality Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thank You for your comments about your recent stay we look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Rome, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

This room was filthy, with drink rings on tables, a filthy bathroom with a plumbing leak and falling-down shower curtain rod..paint peeling on the bathroom ceiling..and I paid $147 for ONE NIGHT...there wasn't even an alarm clock in the room..I didn't need it, as the people upstairs woke at 5 AM and proceded to stomp around and take showers...this room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gmva207, Manager at Quality Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

Please accept our apologies for any problems that you may have had in the future if you will let us know there is an issue we can take care of it , please contact us if you have any questions or if we can assist you further. need further. More 

Lemont Furnace, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

Booked in advance. Arrived late in evening. Too tired to argue. Although the sign on the door indicated it was non smoking as we requested, the first thing to hit you when you open the door was the combined smell of stale cigarettes and booze. Even the supposedly clean towels smelled of smoke. Felt like I was sleeping in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gmva207, Manager at Quality Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

Please contact us at 540-989-4000 as there is NO RECORD of your stay we have contacted TRIP ADVISOR and notified them as we believe these comments are for another property, as we do not have courtyard or swimming pool.We never heard back from TRIP ADVISOR as their website states WE DONT FACT CHECK, well maybe they should as this is... More 

Tunica, Mississippi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

This hotel is in need of some major upgrades... New sink....New carpet...fix the Broken Lamp....New mattress.. more lighting out back. If you have the bad luck of getting a room on the ground floor you will surly hear the guest in the room above you walking...and walking and walking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmva207, Manager at Quality Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

Please accept our apology we are not pleased that you had this experience please contact us at 540-989-4000 if we can help you further. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015 via mobile

The place is an absolute disgrace. A/C doesn't work. Plumbing drainage is very slow. Housekeeping? Both the owners and Choice Hotels could care less about the condition of the unit and losing customers. When construction workers leave disappointed, it's pretty sad. Proprietor and Choice™ must have already made all the money that they'll ever need.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gmva207, Manager at Quality Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

We are concerned that you will not stay here with us however we did offer to move you to another room when your AC unit went out and you refused to move, we tried to have you change rooms as a remedy to this situation, and you also refused housekeeping service as you verbally requested no service or had DND... More 

Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

Phone did not work, Housekeeping went in and picked up the towels only and did nothing else (probably to wash them?). Desk clerk promised to send someone to clean. They never came. Poor service and housekeeping.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gmva207, managment at Quality Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

Please accept our apology and contact us if you have any questions , problems or concerns about your stay, we hope you will give us another chance when you are in the area again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn Tanglewood
Sleep Inn Tanglewood
#24 of 39 in Roanoke
3.0 of 5 stars 74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Colony House Motor Lodge
Colony House Motor Lodge
#22 of 39 in Roanoke
3.5 of 5 stars 76 reviews
6.8 mi away
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
6.8 mi away
Motel 6 Roanoke
Motel 6 Roanoke
#13 of 39 in Roanoke
4.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
4.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Civic Center
Rodeway Inn Civic Center
#26 of 39 in Roanoke
3.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay