We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Quality Inn Tanglewood

Hotel website
Hotel deals
3816 Franklin Rd. SW, Roanoke, VA 24014
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Quality Inn Tanglewood
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #31 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Rate this Hotel

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    11
    18
    22
See reviews for
13
26
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (63)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Lynchburg, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Phone did not work, Housekeeping went in and picked up the towels only and did nothing else (probably to wash them?). Desk clerk promised to send someone to clean. They never came. Poor service and housekeeping.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel was a bargain. It was in good repair. The room was large and clean with amenities like free wifi, fridge and microwave. The bathroom was unusually large. Staff was friendly and helpful. Decent free breakfast included. Furnitire was good but a little dated. Modern door locks with no problems as had been mentioned in a review I read.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmva207, General Manager at Quality Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

Than You for your comments about you recent stay with us .We are pleased that you took the time to leave valuable feedback about your experience here.Our king rooms are very large in size compared to other standard king rooms ,which allow you enough space to relax after a long day.We look forward to seeing you again real soon. More 

Roanoke, West Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

I recently stayed at the Quality Inn right off of Franklin Rd after coming through a snow storm the previous night. Upon arrival I saw the desk clerk Leon shoveling the sidewalk. (Very impressed). When I walked inside I was greeted by his professional attitude. Since I stayed here before I knew where I was going. Good service at an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmva207, General Manager at Quality Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thank You for your comments about your stay with us .We are pleased that you posted comments about your stay with us.We thank you for the cooments about the great service you recieved, we appreciate your buisness and look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Oklahoma City, OK
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
33 hotel reviews
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

We got a good deal on a 4-night stay at this hotel. Nothing fancy but it was clean and offered the things we like: free wifi, breakfast, and a micro-fridge. Because of the great price, I was able to overlook some of the minor things about the hotel. I did like the location which was right next to 581 and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmva207, General Manager at Quality Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thank You for your buisness and your comments about you recent stay with us we look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Roanoke. More 

charlottesville
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

On the upside it is convenient. However, this property is desperately in need of a renovation and repairs. The tub has a hole in the middle of it, drawers are falling apart, grout in the tile is beyond dirty, front door lock is falling off, etc etc etc. There are better options for the money in the area before you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmva207, General Manager at Quality Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

Please accept our apology , we are not pleased that you had this experience please call us at 540-989-4000 and speak with us about your stay as we are concerned about your comments.We have checked all guest room doors and all door locks are secure, this is a matter that we take serious so we look forward to hearing fro... More 

Glen Rock, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

It looked so nice from the outside. $59.99 for a single King room was too good to be true and it was. The room smelled funny. There was mold along the wall between the bedroom and bathroom. There was only one waste can in the entire room and none in the bathroom. We should have asked to see the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmva207, General Manager at Quality Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

Please accept our apology on your stay with us we are concerned that you were not pleased with your stay.Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback, and recognizing the good service that you did receive and your comments about the room., please contact us at 540-989-4000 if you have any questions about your stay as we have... More 

Eustis, Florida
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
8 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

This is not the Ritz, but you should know that by the price. The area around the hotel isn't clean and nice, but our room was clean, big and cozy. No real complaints.....only thing is my wife didn't want to go to the car at night....sketchy area. If u want a good deal, decent room and a simple breakfast this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
gmva207, General Manager at Quality Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay here with us We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and found your room and service to be a good value. More 

Salina, Kansas
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

I chose this property primarily because of proximity to relatives, and cost. This hotel is a great value, very close to Tanglewood Mall. The room size is very large, with both a separate tub/shower and shower in a very large bathroom. The only drawback is that the room furniture and mattress covers are clearly showing their outdated age. Otherwise, especially... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
gmva207, General Manager at Quality Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thank You for you comments about your recent stay with us.We are happy to hear that you had a good experience.Our king rooms are very lagre and provide extra space that allows rooms to relax after a long day.Each of our king rooms have a tub and shower with a seprate shower as well.We look forward to seeing you again... More 

Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
58 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

We had reserved 3 rooms by phone..Our check in was ez & quick..My room was clean & cozy..everything (fridge/micowave/coffee maker works) nice plasma tv..room has plenty room & computer table..bath clean & plenty towels..breakfast was a good selection..parking lot nice & quiet..I like the way hotels set up on little hill...Theres a steak house next door & you get a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
gmva207, General Manager at Quality Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thank you for the comments regarding your recent stay here with us. We are pleased that all 3 of your rooms were not only clean but comfortable as well. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to leave your positive comments about your stay with us and we hope... More 

Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Not pleased with cleanliness or quality of our room. Even the front lobby doors were disgusting. A fresh coat of paint on doors and some real scrubbing in bathroom and carpets is in order. Hot breakfast items were limited, especially compared to other Choice Hotels where we stayed during the week cruising the Blue Ridge. Lots of noise (loud voices)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmva207, Manager at Quality Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your stay here with us.Please contact us at 540-989-4000 to discuus your stay as we have no information regarding this stay this will allow us to adress any complaint or issue you may have. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (34)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question