We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Quality Inn Tanglewood

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
3816 Franklin Rd. SW, Roanoke, VA 24014
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Quality Inn Tanglewood
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #32 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    11
    19
    24
See reviews for
13
27
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (66)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Lemont Furnace, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Booked in advance. Arrived late in evening. Too tired to argue. Although the sign on the door indicated it was non smoking as we requested, the first thing to hit you when you open the door was the combined smell of stale cigarettes and booze. Even the supposedly clean towels smelled of smoke. Felt like I was sleeping in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tunica, Mississippi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is in need of some major upgrades... New sink....New carpet...fix the Broken Lamp....New mattress.. more lighting out back. If you have the bad luck of getting a room on the ground floor you will surly hear the guest in the room above you walking...and walking and walking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The place is an absolute disgrace. A/C doesn't work. Plumbing drainage is very slow. Housekeeping? Both the owners and Choice Hotels could care less about the condition of the unit and losing customers. When construction workers leave disappointed, it's pretty sad. Proprietor and Choice™ must have already made all the money that they'll ever need.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynchburg, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

Phone did not work, Housekeeping went in and picked up the towels only and did nothing else (probably to wash them?). Desk clerk promised to send someone to clean. They never came. Poor service and housekeeping.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

This hotel was a bargain. It was in good repair. The room was large and clean with amenities like free wifi, fridge and microwave. The bathroom was unusually large. Staff was friendly and helpful. Decent free breakfast included. Furnitire was good but a little dated. Modern door locks with no problems as had been mentioned in a review I read.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gmva207, General Manager at Quality Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

Than You for your comments about you recent stay with us .We are pleased that you took the time to leave valuable feedback about your experience here.Our king rooms are very large in size compared to other standard king rooms ,which allow you enough space to relax after a long day.We look forward to seeing you again real soon. More 

Roanoke, West Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

I recently stayed at the Quality Inn right off of Franklin Rd after coming through a snow storm the previous night. Upon arrival I saw the desk clerk Leon shoveling the sidewalk. (Very impressed). When I walked inside I was greeted by his professional attitude. Since I stayed here before I knew where I was going. Good service at an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gmva207, General Manager at Quality Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thank You for your comments about your stay with us .We are pleased that you posted comments about your stay with us.We thank you for the cooments about the great service you recieved, we appreciate your buisness and look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Oklahoma City, OK
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
34 hotel reviews
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

We got a good deal on a 4-night stay at this hotel. Nothing fancy but it was clean and offered the things we like: free wifi, breakfast, and a micro-fridge. Because of the great price, I was able to overlook some of the minor things about the hotel. I did like the location which was right next to 581 and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gmva207, General Manager at Quality Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thank You for your buisness and your comments about you recent stay with us we look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Roanoke. More 

charlottesville
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

On the upside it is convenient. However, this property is desperately in need of a renovation and repairs. The tub has a hole in the middle of it, drawers are falling apart, grout in the tile is beyond dirty, front door lock is falling off, etc etc etc. There are better options for the money in the area before you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmva207, General Manager at Quality Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

Please accept our apology , we are not pleased that you had this experience please call us at 540-989-4000 and speak with us about your stay as we are concerned about your comments.We have checked all guest room doors and all door locks are secure, this is a matter that we take serious so we look forward to hearing fro... More 

Glen Rock, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

It looked so nice from the outside. $59.99 for a single King room was too good to be true and it was. The room smelled funny. There was mold along the wall between the bedroom and bathroom. There was only one waste can in the entire room and none in the bathroom. We should have asked to see the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmva207, General Manager at Quality Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

Please accept our apology on your stay with us we are concerned that you were not pleased with your stay.Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback, and recognizing the good service that you did receive and your comments about the room., please contact us at 540-989-4000 if you have any questions about your stay as we have... More 

Eustis, Florida
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
8 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

This is not the Ritz, but you should know that by the price. The area around the hotel isn't clean and nice, but our room was clean, big and cozy. No real complaints.....only thing is my wife didn't want to go to the car at night....sketchy area. If u want a good deal, decent room and a simple breakfast this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
gmva207, General Manager at Quality Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay here with us We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and found your room and service to be a good value. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (34)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay